https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Gary Kearney; 65 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Interference or Obstruction or no call

Posted Discussion
Dec. 13, 2021
BillC48
14 posts
Interference or Obstruction or no call
This happened at a local rec league game and I need the assistance of a more seasoned umpire. Man on first with two outs. The batter hits a base hit to right field and runner from first continues to third and stops. The throw from the outfield eludes all the infielders and slowly rolls across the third base foul line and lands against the wall a few feet from third base. The pitcher who is chasing the ball is crossing the foul line to retrieve the ball. At the same time the runner at third wakes up and realizes that the ball is rolling away from the pitcher. He starts towards home and runs into the opposing pitcher who immediately shouts out interference. The runner continues home and scores. The umpires decide that the pitcher is correct and call the runner out. After the game a number of managers and umpires confer and I hear everything from interference to obstruction to no call. Our league also has a strict policy about runners avoiding contact with defensive players and we employ a run by rule. Please help.
Dec. 13, 2021
Turning2
Men's 70
154 posts
Tough one here to call without seeing the play unfold. I initially have a problem with the pitcher declaring “interference” as soon as the base runner and he collide. Almost sounds as if he wants or needs this collision, otherwise the runner scores???!!! Don’t know what is foremost in his mind.

The post says that the runner ran into the pitcher , but who caused the collision? Who ran into whom? Or, who blocked whom from their path to the scoring plate without the ball? The fielder can’t block the runners access to the bag without the ball and as every rule book states, the runner should make every attempt to avoid colliding with a defensive player making a play on the ball, either fielding or receiving a throw from another fielder.

Without seeing the play, and using best judgment with what has been described, I would probably make a no call, play on ruling as the pitcher could just as easily caused the collision or avoided the runner as he was not involved in either fielding the ball or receiving a throw from the initial play.

Tough one here without seeing it in person.
Dec. 14, 2021
B.J.
973 posts
BillC... hmmm did you happen to attend my umpire clinic in The Villages yesterday??

because I was asked this same question and I knew you didn't care for my answer .. LOL...

I agree with T2 that without seeing the actual play it's a tough call.. BUT.. as I stated yesterday whenever the defense is given the opportunity to make an out and BECAUSE of a bad throw the fielder is now chasing after a ball and the runner is in his running lane I would tend to lean more toward an OBS. call than INT. .. You stated the runner ran into the pitcher??? .. I would look at it that the pitcher ran into the runner

if you read the INT. rule below it states.. INT. is if the offensive player impedes or confuses a defensive player ATTEMPTING TO EXECUTE A PLAY .. the pitcher wasn't executing a play .. he was chasing after the errant throw

1.45 • INTERFERENCE
Interference is the act of an offensive player or team member that impedes or
confuses a defensive player attempting to execute a play. A base runner must
avoid a fielder making a play.

as to a no call.. ​I would definitely not have a no call on any collision
Dec. 14, 2021
BillC48
14 posts
HI BJ & Turning2- Thank you both for your responses. An no, I was not at your session in The Villages. I live in CA. and I appreciate your insight.
March 15, 2022
Saratoga2
19 posts
A question occurred relative to the interference rule in our senior league which doesn't seem to be explicitly covered and I am wondering if anyone has dealt with this question. The rule says if a offensive player confuses a defensive player attempting to execute a play. Does this apply to a batter who dances around, waves his hands when the pitcher is in the process of pitching, with the obvious intent of causing the pitcher to throw a ball. Is the batter interfering with the pitcher and if so what is the penalty?
March 15, 2022
B.J.
973 posts
Hmmm.. I thought you said this was a senior league and not a 10 and under... as long as the batter is in the batters box before the pitcher begins his delivery and doesn't actually interfere with the pitched ball I would have no call play on..
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners