https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: Rob64, dkrollw364, hammertyme; 92 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: What's the Call?

Posted Discussion
May 3, 2022
VegasBob
55 posts
What's the Call?
Popup to the catcher. He catches it with his back to the plate. Umpire calls time out, which precludes me from tagging up at first base. How long must the umpire wait to give me a chance to tag up before calling time?
May 3, 2022
DieselDan
Men's 70
502 posts
With no leads allowed, you were already tagged up on the catch. Next time, take off for 2nd and let your coach get after the ump for not taking a look at the runner(s). If the ump checks the runner(s) and there's no advancement, they can call time before the ball is thrown back to the pitcher.
May 4, 2022
B.J.
991 posts
diesel.. you are correct you may not leave the bag before the ball is hit but once contact is made the runner on base may leave the bag and start to advance before a first touch of the pop up... the umpire should never call time out until he has surveyed the whole field to make sure runners have stopped all movement
May 4, 2022
Turning2
Men's 70
163 posts
Diesel - BJ has your answer except substitute "after first touch of the pop up" not before. And a good umpire does exactly what BJ has described, he surveys the field to make sure all active play has stopped before he calls for time out.
May 5, 2022
B.J.
991 posts
T2 .. yes I understand what you meant .. what I was saying was that the runner can leave the bag after the ball is batted and before 1st touch
he can actually advance to the next base Ö itís up to the defense to appeal that he left before 1st touch
May 5, 2022
coop3636
470 posts
It is bad, but if the umpires calls TIME, whether it is right or wrong, time has been called and all plays stop.
The ump should not have called time that quickly, but he did and the time call stands.
It is no different than a bad strike/ball call. The ump calls it and it stands because it is a judgement call.
Brett
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners