https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Lindsey.Huston33, Sportyal; 15 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: legal catch

Posted Discussion
Feb. 7
retired2013
Men's 65
6 posts
Fielder has ground ball trapped against his body with his bare hand and touches the base for a force out: Is this an out or does the player have to remove the ball from his body and maintain control for it to be a legal catch.
Feb. 7
Donna McGuire

69 posts
The fielder must hold the ball securely in his hand or glove to record the out. (The ball cannot be trapped against his body.)
Feb. 8
DieselDan
Men's 75
606 posts
If a player holds a ball against there body Donna, they are probably using a standard grip. So by moving the ball an inch or two from their body, would the batter/base runner now be out?
Feb. 8
Webbie25
Men's 70
2416 posts
Diesel Dan, you have now made the first argument for slow motion cameras at every softball game to determine what a catch is and what control is. Football has gone 'stupid' over determining what a catch is for many years and wasted many hours of viewer time trying to decide whether a ball moved an inch or not. How many years until we have appeals of calls that take up to 10 minutes each and all the rules associated with that in Senior Softball. Sounds like a worst nightmare scenario.
Feb. 8
Turning2
Men's 70
204 posts
in the original post, an umpire uses the following sections of the SSUSA Rule book to decide the proper call when ball control dictates the umpires decision

1.10 CATCH
1.34 ILLEGAL CATCH
1.46 LEGAL TOUCH
1.63 TRAPPED BALL

the original post should be more specific because he asks, "does the player have to remove the ball from his body and maintain control for it to be a legal catch"

if the defensive player is "in control" of the ball with his BARE HAND against his body, this is an out He is not in control of the ball with any other body part

Another example of applying the above definitions from the rule book - A catch of a fly ball can be made in the crook of the arm, cradled against the stomach, or other body part so long as the player at some point controls the ball with bare hand or glove BEFORE the ball hits the ground.

Another example of applying the above definitions from the rule book - A player with the ball in his control via bare hand or glove can't bump into a runner with his elbow, shoulder, hip etc, he must tag the runner with the hand or glove containing the ball (under control)

You can never simply arbitrarily rule that (The ball cannot be trapped against his body.) If it is controlled by his bare hand against his body is the Key to making the correct call in the original post.

Webbie25 - i am in total agreement with you on all the replays in sports today, no wonder people complain about the length of games, basketball is getting just as bad as football and baseball













Feb. 8
DieselDan
Men's 75
606 posts
Well, there's a good chance the plate umpire would have a hard time seeing where the ball is and possibly the base umpire based on where they're positioned. If errors were counted at one time, one can only imagine how long discussions were between umpire(s) and player(s).
Feb. 8
B.J.

1112 posts
and here I thought Donna gave a great answer as to what and how a catch is determined
Feb. 8
Donna McGuire

69 posts
I thought so, too, B.J. Maybe I should have added this paragraph from the USA Rulebook: “If the ball is merely held in the fielder’s arm(s) or prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielder’s body, equipment or clothing, the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder’s hand(s) or glove/mitt.”
Feb. 8
B.J.

1112 posts
Donna, I brought that up years ago that I wished SSUSA would change the wording and add the USA version..

several years ago in our Villages Rec. league I actually had a Mgr. come out and argue that a 1st baseman made an "illegal catch" per the definition in the rule book because he caught a short hop throw from the SS that bounced up and stuck in his arm pit the 1B then grasped the ball with his hand and I called the runner out..

the mgr. quoted the illegal catch rule and stated that all movement of the thrown ball was stopped when it was wedged in his arm pit and that he did not use his hand or glove therefore I should rule it an illegal catch.. I told him that I didn't disagree with him but when he grasped the ball he completed the legal catch.. he said he disagreed and I said ok but I win because I have the clicker

I definitely think the rule should be re-worded


Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners