Situation. Runners on 1st and 3rd, 1 out. Fly ball hit into the outfield and was caught, runner on first does not tag up, just takes off. Runner on 3rd tags up legally and crosses the plate before the force out is made at 1st base on throw from outfield. I've seen it called both ways, what's the correct call? Does the run count?
THE RUN COUNTS on this "timing play" you have described ... You have also exhibited a common misconception that the runner who started on 1st base was the target of a "force out" after the catch ... That's not possible because a "force out" only occurs when the runner is required to advance to the next base ... Being required to return to 1st base to tag up is not an advance, it's a retreat ... There is never a force out during a play when a fly ball is caught ...
Thanks for the details. I always thought if I didn't have to apply the tag, it was considered a force out. Thanks again for the answer.
That's logical, Vance, but just incorrect even though it makes some sense ... The better rule is: No force out ever on a play involving a caught fly ball ... Thanks for asking!