SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: bernie; 59 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: YOU MAKE THE CALL #5

Posted Discussion
April 14, 2009
Men's 60
106 posts
Bases loaded loaded and two outs. The 5th run is standing on 3rd base. The batter hits a single to the outfield and the umpire declares the 5th run scores. The batter runs halfway to first base and turns to go into their dugout. The defensive team takes the ball and tags 1st base. Does the 5th run score? This actually happened in a game.
April 14, 2009
Men's 55
394 posts
The team batting should know every runner in this situation must touch the next base so that the inning ending force out cannot be made. The force out at first negates the run scoring. Even worse, bottom of the final inning, if runner from third scores the tieing run and the runner from second scores the winning run but the third out (force out) is made at second or first, batting team loses the game!
April 14, 2009
328 posts
Umpire error, batter/runner is out.

I have heard of a double play situation like this. "Game winning" single, 1B runner comes to high 5 batter and neither of them is samrt enough to touch their bases.
April 14, 2009
Men's 55
108 posts
Do you have answers for the calls?
If the umpire has declared the run scored, inning over, umpire's booboo.
April 15, 2009
mad dog
Men's 65
4149 posts
i have won a game with this(kids ball).home team has 2 outs and guy on 3b,batter gets a hit to rf and thinks he has won the game,lo and behold i watch him not go to first,and lucky the inf ump was also watching.i calmly walk over to 1b and ask for the ball and got the last out.we go into extra inning and win.:):)
April 15, 2009
Men's 60
106 posts
Freddie....the umpire called the runner out at first on a play 7 - 6 - 3 - 1. Actually the batter was out for going into the dugout as well. Since the 3rd out was made on a force play at 1st, the 5th run did not count. The umpire reversed their original call of the 5th run scoring to end the inning and the team only recorded 4 runs for the inning. Great point by ShaneV. I have seen the same type of call when a batter hits a homerun with two outs and the runners do not advance to the next base.
April 15, 2009
1571 posts
No run should score. It's similar to a ground ball out at first. Since the umpire called "run scores" he made a dumb mistake. If it's a two man system the defensive team can ask for help. If it's a one man system the defensive team can summon the tourney or league director. The purpose is to get the call right. The ump that made that call should go to a clinic before he umps again.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook