Online now: 2 members: AJC
, Uncle Mike
; 23 anonymous
Discussion: Out or no out after injury?
|June 7, 2011|
|Out or no out after injury?|
In the 65 AAA division in Reno there was a bad injury that sent a player to the hospital. The umpire forced that team to take an out when the departed player's spot in the lineup came up.
In the 60 AAA division in Reno, a LF dislocated a finger and came out of the game, and the umpire said they didn't have to take an out because of a recent rule change. Who was right?
|June 7, 2011|
|It's a bit uncertain to state the correct ruling(s) without more information, but here's an overview that may be applicable in both cases ...|
CASE #1 - There would be an out only the first time the departed player's position in the batting order came up, if the team had no substitute available (in other words, if they were batting the entire lineup) ... If they had a substitute available, and inserted him/her in the game in the departed player's batting order position, NO OUT(S) should be recorded.
CASE #2 - Same ruling as above applies ... NOTE: There has been no recent change in this rules provision, so that part of the umpire's 'commentary' is incorrect (at best)
|June 8, 2011|
|Thanks for that. I think in our game another player substituted, so there would be no out, but in the 65 AAA game they must have just reduced the batting order.|
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.