|Aug. 5, 2011|
WHAT CAN YOU DO, WHEN YOU PROTEST A CALL BY AN UMPIRE THAT GOES AGAINST THE RULE BOOK, AND THE UIC MAKES THE WRONG DECISION.
THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT OCCURRED.2 STRIKES ON THE BATTER, THE PITCHER PITCHES THE NEXT PITCH, THE BATTER SWINGS AND MISSES,STRIKE 3, RIGHT,NO,THE UMPIRE CALLS NO PITCH FOR EXCESSIVE SPEED.THE PROTEST IS MADE RIGHT THEN.THE UIC IS CALLED IN AND RULES THAT A PITCH WITH EXCESSIVE SPEED IS NO PITCH,A DO OVER.THE NEXT DAY THE UIC TELLS YOU HE MADE THE RIGHT DECISION, YOU BEING A BELIEVER IN HONESTY LEAVE IT AT THAT.YOU RETURN HOME FROM THE TOURNAMENT AND READ THE RULE BOOK COVER TO COVER.THE RULE FOR EXCESSIVE SPEED IS A WARNING TO THE PITCHER THAT IF HE DOES IT AGAIN HE WOULD BE REMOVED FROM PICHING,NOTHING ELSE. YOU TURN YOUR ATTENTION TO OUR BOARD.YOU CAN'T GO BACK AND REPLAY THE GAME, BUT BECAUSE OF THE ERROR THAT KEPT YOUR TEAM FROM WINNING A NATIONAL TOURNAMENT, MAYBE THE BOARD WOULD ALLOW YOU THE OPPORTUNITY TO PLAY IN THE T.O.C.THE BOARD BEGINS TO TELL YOU THAT THEY HAVE TO BACK THEIR OFFICIALS,THEN CHANGING WHAT THE PROTEST WAS ALL ABOUT.SAYING TIME WAS OUT,THE UMPIRE HAD HIS HAND UP, THAT THE BATTER WASN'T READY.I WAS THERE, THE PROTEST WAS FOR HIS CALL, AND HIS CALL ONLY FOR EXCESSIVE SPEED.NOW COMES THE BEST,YOU LOSE THE TOURNAMENT, PLAY IN ANOTHER REGIONAL TOURNAMENT THAT HAS ONLY ONE OTHER TEAM WITH THE SAME RATING AS YOU, PLAY OTHER RATED TEAMS HIGHER THAN YOU,GET SPOTTED SEVEN RUNS WIN 9-7,THEN WIN 20-16 WITH AGAIN SEVEN RUNS.PLAY THE OTHER TEAM WITH THE SAME RATING AS YOU, WIN 13-2,16-11 AND IN EXTRA INNINGS 13-12,TO WIN THE TOURNAMENT.THEN YOU GET AN E-MAIL THAT YOUR RATING IS GOING FROM AA TO AAA BECAUSE YOUR RUN DIFFERENCE AGAINST OTHER AA RATED TEAMS IS 5.9 AND YOU WON THE WINTER NATIONALS.THE TEAM THAT BEAT YOU IS STILL AA RATED.WE PLAYED 4 AA TEAMS THE RUNS AGAINST WERE AS FOLLOWS.TEAM1-(32-31) TEAM2( 42-25) TEAM3( 13-12) TEAM4( 47-11 )THE ONLY TEAM WE WERE SUPERIOR TO.WE ARE SUPPOSE TO BE GOVERNED FAIRLY.THIS IS NOT THE CASE,I GOT ANOTHER E-MAIL BACK APOLOGIZING OF THEIR MISTAKE OF US WINNING THE TOURNAMENT, BUT NOT RETURNING US TO AA.
|Aug. 5, 2011|
|i see where your going,and maybe you could have a protest.your are saying he applied the rule wrong as it being an illegal pitch(for excessive speed),right.no way there should have been a do over.i'm taking that your were on defense when this happen to your team.yes in that situation the rule is"illegal pitch,batter swings to bad play on,then warn the pitcher".there is no way the defense should of been punished for the batter swinging and missing,thats his fault.now with a lazy ump who didn't get out the illegal pitch call in time,maybe he was trying to make amends for it,which he shouldn't be doing either.|