https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: Cyclone Doc, Mannjo, huya; 34 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussions in message board topic: Rules of the game

Discussion subjectRepliesLatestViews

1 and 1 count

» rock21: With time limits per game, how about speeding up games by batters ...
      »ffdonnie: Only if it comes with, no extra foul ball. That makes it worthless. I ...
      »B.J.: or how about having your pitcher throw more 1st pitch strikes...I ...
      »r4pitch: Please 1-1 count with a foul ...Anyone under65 played this the last ...
      »Crusher23: It would seem to me that more first pitch strikes would solve the ...
      »r4pitch: Not really ....1-1 count is used everywhere but senior ball why.....
      »marcster13: 1 n 1 no foul was used in 2017 40's as a one year trial. People ...
      »DaveDowell: marcster ... The "1-1/no waste foul" trial for the 40-Masters ...
      »titanhd: Played in Naples at winter worlds.I watched the 40's play. The 1-1 ...
      »Jawood: How can a 1-1 count NOT speed up the game? Wouldn't it be ...
      »r4pitch: 1-1 count does speed up the games trying to get more than 5 innings ...
      »titanhd: Not sure what the 40's "not using a foul" statement implied.Logically ...
      »stattad: Just played a non-SSUSA tournament with a 1-1 count. I was not a fan ...
      »DaveDowell: titanhd ... Not sure which tourney you observed without a 7-inning ...
      »Jawood: Limit the pitcher to one warm up pitch at the start of the inning. ...
      »HAT MAN: 1 and 1 should stay. We won it at winter worlds and played all 7 ...
      »marcster13: Dave- Sorry, I read "season 2017" as just the playing season of 2017 ...
      »DaveDowell: markster13 ... You read it right ... The Rules Committee meets after ...
      »OZ40: Every year we beat this dead horse. Speaking as an umpire and player ...
      »r4pitch: OZ40 completely untrue 1-1 speeds up play ...as a pitcher i never ...
      »NYGNYY: Looking at the posts it looks like if you're a pitcher---your all for ...
      »Jawood: OZ40, The things you speak of that slow the game down are true but ...
      »Crusher23: More observations on pace of play: I'm pretty sure that in general ...
      »bond_171513: Couldn't agree more with Crusher. At the least, the CR should not be ...
      »Jon44: Totally agree with crusher23 on the courtesy runner abuse. With that ...
      »garyheifner: PLEASE pass the 1-1. I am an outfielder. But, looks like I might be ...
      »OZ40: I have umpired U-Trip at the time they changed from a full count ...
      »genwa1: Missing from this discussion is any data collection. Numerous causes ...
      »DCPete: Come on now, it's simple math & numbers can't lie. With the 0 - 0 ...
28 Nov. 23, 2017 1155

75+ roster question

» Larry S: SPA rule allows : Players on Men’s 75+ Major Plus, Major, and AAA ...
      »SSUSA Staff: SSUSA Rules do NOT allow for out-of-region players for the 75+ age ...
1 Nov. 20, 2017 124

Looking for a simple answer to adding or substituting players

» Boro: Let's say your team shows up short 1 player. Where does this ...
      »Duke: In my leagues, the majority of teams/players do not care who you have ...
      »Turbobob: In our 60 plus league, we normally play with 11 players. Show up ...
      »Omar Khayyam: In our Saturday league, the focus is to have a fun competition. ...
3 Nov. 18, 2017 245

Rules question

» stattad: 2nd & 3rd, 1 out. Long fly ball to center. Both runners tag up and ...
      »Jeffery: The 2nd out is recorded on the catch of the fly ball and the 3rd out ...
      »B.J.: if the runner on 3rd scored before the ball was back into the infield ...
      »Vance+50: This runner leaving 2nd then becomes a force out. No runs should ...
      »B.J.: Vance... no this is not a force out.. it is considered a timing ...
      »SSUSA Staff: B.J. has the correct ruling ... Out #2 on the catch and out #3 on the ...
      »stattad: Then the umpire screwed it up. He didn't allow either run to score. ...
      »Duke: Hey Tad, Bill from your team came over to me yesterday to ask about ...
      »stattad: It was a tournament game!
      »mad dog: B.J. don't bother........like you have said it is a timing play....no ...
      »stick8: Stattad, if the appeal at second was completed before the runner at ...
      »Duke: OK Tad, I did not know it came up in a tournament too. The same issue ...
11 Nov. 17, 2017 401

bats on playing field

» grayhitter59: Question for staff. On deck batter is waiting to come to the ...
      »DaveDowell: grayhitter59 ... The on-deck-batter was also to blame here and ...
      »grayhitter59: ok,but you did not answer question. why an out?
      »B.J.: Dave can correct me if im wrong... as soon as the ball came into ...
      »grayhitter59: I always thought it was dead ball no advancement. I just don't ...
      »rlspls1974: Take a look at the SSUSA Rulebook 8.4(10)D Exception 1. If the ball ...
      »grayhitter59: Thank You for the ruling info on 8.4. as I was trying to explain, the ...
      »stick8: Grayhitter, This is why in USSSA, our former UIC Rick Roberson ...
7 Nov. 13, 2017 519

Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

» Steve in Tucson: I am the Head Umpire for our local association and was involved in a ...
      »B.J.: Steve... Im confused you say that the defensive player was in the ...
      »B.J.: Steve... also read 8.4(10) • WHEN RUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE... ...
      »stick8: Steve in Tucson, two obervations up front. 1)it's good the two umps ...
      »Steve in Tucson: Thank you all for your clarification. I did know that it should ...
      »Umpire35: Guys please remember obstruction does not mean the runner gets the ...
      »stick8: Situation: No one on, no one out. Player A (batter) gets a base hit. ...
      »B.J.: Stick.. 2 things.. no he is not out and 2nd the call would not be ...
      »stick8: BJ, you are correct, obstruction is the right call. And yes it is a ...
      »HAT MAN: I would also add the runner in both situations would initially be ...
      »stick8: Hat Man you are correct with regard to a runner must make an attempt ...
      »B.J.: HATMAN/Stick8.. in SSUSA a obstructed runner does not have to ...
      »jfsully: to add a wrinkle (happened today) .... runner in rundown between ...
      »B.J.: what is the But for? smart play by the runner B. A fielder who is ...
      »jfsully: In the umpire section it states: Base Running A runner must ...
      »B.J.: jfsully... you are taking the rule out of context.. the interference ...
      »B.J.: and to add to that, in your scenario the runner was obstructed when ...
      »stever: You might add that just because a runner runs into a fielder does not ...
      »B.J.: stever.. anytime that a runner runs into a fielder that is not in ...
      »stever: B.J. Agreed. I was trying to point out that this type of contact ...
19 Nov. 12, 2017 1164

Interference call on double play

» baseballbill: Runners on 1st and 3rd, none out, ground ball to short, goes to 2nd ...
      »Garocket: Not sure about Senior Softball but in all other associations if ...
      »Garocket: EFFECT Sec. 5. B. If the interference is not ruled intentional; the ...
      »stick8: In the scenario described the runner going to second is obviously out ...
      »B.J.: this has been discussed in the past and you wont find any EFFECT on ...
4 Nov. 6, 2017 269

effect of interference call by umpire

» umpire 14: As a SSUSA umpire for many years I still have a question about ...
      »coop3636: #1.. there ALWAYS has to be a throw to call interference. (you as an ...
      »B.J.: umpire 14...in the past senior softball did require a throw but that ...
      »SlowLearner: It is not interference, if the fielder starts to throw and then stops ...
      »coop3636: BJ If senior softball has changed the rule, the umpires don't know ...
      »Omar Khayyam: I have not experienced an umpire calling interference ONLY when it ...
      »B.J.: slow learner... interference can be called even if the act is ...
      »lb16: umpire 14, you are not giving a reason for interference. When a ...
      »lb16: Also forgot to add there doesn't have to be a throw if runner does ...
      »mad dog: one....there doesn't need to be a throw for interference......also if ...
      »stick8: All of which begs the question in the following scenario: Im the ...
      »lb16: stick8, you're scenario should not warrant an interference call. If ...
      »umpire 14: Well guys thanks for the input...but unfortunately I am more confused ...
      »doker: if the player interferes in the umpires judgement with the fielder on ...
      »B.J.: umpire 14... don't be confused, in your O/P this was your answer ( I ...
      »TexasTransplant: lb16, Glad to see you point out the runner's right to the base ...
      »curty: there are several rule declarations that state that a runner MUST ...
      »stick8: Had this play in a conference USSSA game I was impinge a couple years ...
      »lb16: Absolutely not interference never has been and never should be! My ...
      »B.J.: ok we've changed the original scenario... once the runner is called ...
      »stick8: Lb16 you are correct!! To answer your concern, the ball is live. In ...
      »B.J.: either umpire can make the call...the mechanics that I teach at my ...
      »TD. Tom: in all other associations you may have to throw the ball but in ssusa ...
      »stick8: BJ you are correct that either ump can call it. But believe it or not ...
      »B.J.: stick..lol... I do believe it, read my post above... I teach this ...
      »stick8: Very true BJ. If umps hustle and get in proper position you can only ...
      »Umpire35: Interference does not have to be intensional. It is always in the ...
26 Nov. 5, 2017 1100

Wind and Walks

» garyheifner: In a game in Ft. Meyers, (70s),we had a 30-35 MPH cross wind with ...
      »SSUSA Staff: gary ... This circumstance is covered in SSUSA Rulebook §6.16 • WIND ...
      »garyheifner: Thank you. I was not aware of this rule. I would have asked for the ...
      »Duke: Dave and Staff, Great job deleting those other 2 responses, and not ...
3 Nov. 4, 2017 888

Is there any limit to the number of walks per inning allowed?

» Turbobob: I looked at the 2017-18 rule book and did not see any reference to ...
      »DaveDowell: Turbobob .. SSUSA sanctioned play does NOT have a walk's limitation ...
      »B.J.: we have a rule you can walk a batter 1 time then after that there is ...
      »B.J.: sorry Turbo... I read your post wrong... I read it as walking the ...
3 Oct. 30, 2017 354

Ratings going into a new division

» ballplyer19: I am now eligible to play in the 50's division this 2018 season. My ...
      »HAT MAN: Just play and don't worry about bumps!! Lol
      »ballplyer19: Lol That's funny!! Are you guys playing in Phoenix?
      »HAT MAN: yes sir picked up a few guys as well
3 Oct. 25, 2017 245

1st basemens mitt

» 1jonsey: I recently watched a game with a runner on 1st and 2 outs. The ...
      »HAT MAN: until the 1st baseman is replaced with another player his designation ...
      »stick8: As I understand it there is no penalty. it happened to our team ...
      »1jonsey: HAT, yes that makes sense as long as there is not another 1st ...
      »stick8: 1jonsey I can't speak to why there isn't some form of a penalty. The ...
      »mad dog: softball we can use whatever glove/mitt we want at any ...
      »curveball: Not SSUSA yet Bob. Mitts only for 1st and catcher...
      »B.J.: jonsey... as HATMAN posted above legal play... as far as a penalty ...
      »grayhitter59: Never heard of a do over in softball, please check penalty. I ...
      »curveball: gray, do over is one option given the manager in the ASA rule book ...
      »curveball: ANY glove smaller than a garbage can lid SHOULD be OK for a pitcher! ...
      »marcster13: Never heard of a do over either. This would be fun to call though. I ...
      »B94: Seeing as it is mandated that the pitcher wear a mask he should be ...
      »curveball: B94 Agree in the name of safety. Someone needs to address at he ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The 2017 National Rules Committee Sessions will occur during the ...
14 Oct. 25, 2017 1253

Batter safe or out at 1st base ????????

» baseballbill: Batter hits a ground ball to the infield, Infielder does not make a ...
      »SSUSA Staff: SAFE ... Batter-runner must touch some portion of the orange/safety ...
1 Oct. 23, 2017 255

Infield fly interpretation

» Larry S: If field conditions are such that wind & sun are affecting pop ups to ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Nothing is an "..automatic infield fly rule.." ... Regardless of ...
      »Larry S: So in the umpires judgement that with the sun/wind condition the ball ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Yes
      »B.J.: you cant base it on just sun/wind... if the fielder gets to the ball ...
      »HAT MAN: I have to explain this rule a lot in league. It has to be reasonable ...
      »Nancy Allen: A lot of players also assume that it is a dead ball situation which ...
      »stick8: Have to share this play I had in umping an industrial (General ...
7 Sept. 29, 2017 593

Batter unable to complete his at-bat.

» Turbobob: I have looked over the 2017-18 rule book for this situation, but ...
      »Katzy63: 1) Yes, as substitute if available would inherit the pitch count at ...
      »stick8: 1) Yes a legal substitute would inherit the 1-2 count 2) If no legal ...
2 Sept. 22, 2017 300

Player who had a CR now becomes a CR

» Tommy00: Last night we had a batter (Player A) get a base hit, get to first ...
      »SSUSA Staff: In SSUSA sanctioned play, Player "A" should have been called out the ...
      »B.J.: Tommy00...Dave is correct... but if this is a local league game make ...
      »HAT MAN: to clarify what constitutes " the moment he entered the game as a ...
      »SSUSA Staff: This is all pretty straight forward ... Rulebook §8.5(5), also at ...
      »HAT MAN: so clear the ump got it wrong in our favor LOL
      »B.J.: Tommy00... PLAY RESUMING has nothing to do with it... a CR enters the ...
      »stick8: Once the courtesy runner touches the bag he is in the game. If said ...
7 Sept. 22, 2017 643

Home plate force play

» cheezhed1: What is the ruling on the catchers foot position when there is a ...
      »SSUSA Staff: In SSUSA sanctioned play, here's the rule (emphasis added): ...
1 Sept. 10, 2017 530

Vegas Rosters

» titanhd: I've noticed a lot of players "looking to play Vegas" and some "teams ...
      »BruceinGa: I believe there are exceptions. For instance, you might be able to ...
      »SSUSA Staff: For several years, the Roster Composition Rules regarding adding ...
2 Sept. 9, 2017 838

Adjoining State rule

» NYTX: I have a question I hope someone can respond to. I have heard ...
      »BruceinGa: In one or two associations major plus is allowed up to two players ...
      »SSUSA Staff: NYTX ... The SSUSA's "States and Bordering States" rules are ...
2 Sept. 4, 2017 688

Players with the same number on a team

» boombah721: This past weekend in the Northern Championship we played a team from ...
      »SSUSA Staff: No it's not allowed ... Here are the relevant sections from the ...
      »STL0: Boombah: Do you believe that it impacted the game? I totally get ...
      »DaveDowell: STL0 is spot on ... Notwithstanding what the letter of the rule is, ...
      »B.J.: Dave, great answer.... I've had this happen many times when umpiring ...
      »boombah721: My concern is the team was informed about the rule the first time we ...
      »boombah721: By having no real consequences for breaking the rule, the rule will ...
      »chico senior: Boombah - I'm curious as to why you think this team was "trying to ...
      »DaveDowell: boombah721 ... This rule set is about administrative compliance for ...
      »bond_171513: We played in San Clemente this past weekend and there were a few ...
      »boombah721: We didn't want anyone ejected just to abide by the rule no two ...
      »DaveDowell: OK, I guess it's maybe a good thing to have "The Great Uniform ...
      »chico senior: Boombah - Again, what's the big deal. Did the other team attempt to ...
      »stever: I agree that numbering helps in the CR situation. But I also doubt ...
      »neck10: we played the same team must have helped them they beat us my score ...
      »neck10: I was talking to Charlie Mitchel in lansing he told me a story about ...
      »B94: As long as players weren't trying to switch spots in the batting ...
      »paul0784: i don't see a problem with 05 and 5 as being different?
      »HAT MAN: Im with the majority that it wouldnt bother me either. But for ...
      »Benji4: Vinny I wouldn't hold your breath on waiting for Boombah to respond ...
      »DCPete: One year our Sunday morning touch football team all wore the same ...
      »boombah721: Yeah Beji4 you're such a mind reader, yes we do chart where players ...
      »Benji4: Not a mind reader at all. More like a realist. Unless the players ...
      »stick8: Boombah721, if you had the authority to imposea penalty for two ...
      »grayhitter59: LIFE WITHOUT PAROLE!!!!!! Lmao.
      »DaveDowell: stick8 ... I had that same question right on my fingertips as you ...
      »biggflyy1953: There were 3 players who had the same set of numbers, i.e. (7,7) ...
      »DaveDowell: OK, let's get away from this anonymous theory-thread and take a peek ...
      »biggflyy1953: The 2 teams involved: TMS (55AAA) and Windsor Chiefs (55AAA) Lake ...
      »SSUSA Staff: We have pulled and reviewed the game cards for the two games played ...
      »STL0: Do I hear crickets?
      »mad dog: here's what can happen using dup #'s.......person can run twice in an ...
      »DaveDowell: mad dog ... We concur, which is why the duplicate number rules are in ...
      »mad dog: personally i don't care about the prol that was had....i'm saying ...
      »stick8: In all the years Ive umpired and played I never paid much attention ...
34 Sept. 3, 2017 2617
» Previous 20 discussions here
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners