http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: TOP DOG; 58 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussions in message board topic: Rules of the game

Discussion subjectRepliesLatestViews

Penalty for offensive intereference

» Steve in Tucson: I have a few interference situations to review: 1: Runner on first ...
      »B.J.: interference is a judgement call by the umpire... If he calls it the ...
      »stick8: 1) I'd have to see the play but from your description I have a dead ...
      »lb16: stick8 in my opinion your call was incorrect. You are rewarding ...
      »Duke: The rule B.J. quoted is self explanatory. Runners on 1B and 3B and ...
      »Steve in Tucson: I look forward to STAFF's help on this one. Umpire's judgments can ...
      »HAT MAN: Steve sounds to me that you are in charge. Or in this guys case THE ...
      »B94: I believe the only way the runner closest to the plate is ruled out ...
      »B.J.: usually when I cant find a ruling in the SSUSA book I refer to ASA ...
      »stick8: lb16 I stand corrected, you are correct. In the scenario the runner ...
      »Steve in Tucson: Thanks to all for your input and council. You all were a big help to ...
10 Jan. 27, 2017 571

Taping of bat handle.

» Jethro: At a recent Batting Practice, a prospective player had a unique tape ...
      »crusher: Jethro, in 1994 while playing in the Industrial "A" national ...
      »Fred S: I have a 2010 rule book but I don't think it has changed and it would ...
      »DieselDan: If Fred's rule book is still current in that particular rule, how is ...
      »B.J.: it's illegal ...below is the rule.... G. Shall ...
      »titanhd: It not illegal to have more than one wrap of tape. However,and I am ...
      »Jethro: well, I went to the rule book and read it very carefully and under G. ...
      »Downs: Sorry to say, I think you failed to read Section 3.4(4) of the ...
      »Jethro: Thank you everyone for your replies...
      »swing for the fences : Crap.. been swinging Altered for 6 years now... have to go by cones ...
      »softball4b: I guess I have been in violation for years. I suppose I will have to ...
      »swing for the fences : edit Buy not by LOL..
      »fennellwg: It's interesting that there are more than a few ways to illegally ...
      »k man: Good point Bill, I was wondering myself what the additional tape on ...
      »HAT MAN: I use the knob and oddly cant bat without it (headgames). I ...
      »fennellwg: Thanks I guess I'm wondering how paranoid SS USA is , or how ...
      »Tommy00: It actually comes down to how many players actually know that more ...
      »Q19: Hey "Swing for the fences", there goes your power. Hey "Downs", ...
      »?: So is overlapping the tape on each wrap around considered to be a ...
      »Jawood: I don't think anyone is worrying much about cone shaped tape or more ...
      »Grimmie: Jawood good point the bats we use are so hot now. My opinion is the ...
      »swing for the fences : Yep Q,,, I will have to replace my loaded tape with a loaded cone.. ...
      »swing for the fences : one not on.. lol
      »k man: Swing, now you tell me. I could have used one this past summer. Hit a ...
      »swing for the fences : K man, I wish you luck on that first one.... Run it out all the ...
      »k man: Didn't run it out because circumstances didn't dictate it. There were ...
      »16wood: Downs: You cite rule number 3.4(4) and insert the word 'handle' in ...
      »fennellwg: 3.4(4).ALTERED EQUIPMENT A bat or ball is considered altered when ...
27 Jan. 18, 2017 1824

2017 Significant Rule Changes - Penalty for non-compliance

» Steve in Tucson: 8.4(1) BATTER‐RUNNER REACHING FIRST BASE The last line ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Steve ... In response to your questions: [1] SAFE "If there is a ...
      »B.J.: Steve, I think Staff mis-read your question on the defensive player ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Yep, the mis-read allegation is correct! ... The defensive player can ...
      »B.J.: Staff....brb headed to the dictionary (analogous) lol
      »Q19: "Steve in Tucson" - I touched white in two separate plays last year ...
      »SSUSA Staff: That's funny B.J.! The rule is really pretty simple: The ...
      »Dbax: Wow Q! I thought you were much older. Banned in Arizona
7 Jan. 16, 2017 687
PRIORITY: 

SSUSA RULES COMMITTEE 2016 Annual Meeting Minutes

» SSUSA Staff: The link below redirects to the Official Minutes of the 2016 SSUSA ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The EXHIBIT A Technical Rule Book Provision Language Amendments ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The 2016-17 SSUSA National Rules Committee met in a telephone ...
2 Jan. 11, 2017 2444

New age eligibilty rules for 75s and 80s - Reactions?

» Sisavic: 73s and 74s can now play 75s, and 78s and 79s can now play 80s. What ...
      »cuda65: Hi Mike.. Chuck here...Yes this has had a very positive effect for me ...
      »Omar Khayyam: I have many friends who are on 75 and 80 teams. For the many on this ...
      »Fred S: The down side is a lot of older players will not have a team to play ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Fred S, you are absolutely right. As younger guys can join a team ...
      »taits: Fred and Omar, your both correct but do see the other side as Sisavic ...
      »cuda65: Taits,,,You were rambling. All the stuff you mentioned about 60 ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Don't over-think this one! ... We added back the underage exemptions ...
      »cuda65: SSUSA Staff... You got that completely right. Not to rehash my major ...
      »Player: Just a couple of points. In the Florida Half Century (FHC), the age ...
      »Fred S: Cuda65: There is one flaw in your thinking. There are not many 85 ...
      »cuda65: Fred S. I understand your concerns and have sympathy for your ...
      »DaveDowell: The two extremes have been well stated ... [1] SSUSA/SPA Roster ...
      »phantomf4j: I will turn 74 next month, which makes me eligible (now one of 7 ...
      »Sisavic: Dave Dowell. Please clarify your last post. It appears that SSUSA ...
      »DaveDowell: Mike ... My most recent post in this thread was only a personal ...
      »cyborg45: As a means of clarification, it looks as if teams in these age groups ...
      »k man: cyborg- not more than 3 73's
      »k man: And I would think not on the other. If I read the chart correctly, ...
      »Sisavic: Dave .... For the sake of discussion it seems to me that the ...
      »DaveDowell: Mike ... For the sake of theoretical discussion, again as simply one ...
20 Jan. 6, 2017 995

Umpire Hit by a Batted Ball

» SCUBA: SSUSA 2015-2016 Rulebook Section 9.1.X Dead Ball states "When a fair ...
      »BruceinGa: I agree with " live ball because the umpire was stationed beyond the ...
      »B94: I've always been of the understanding that the umpire is like dirt - ...
      »coop3636: It is a live ball since it was pass the infielders. Just a little ...
      »jl1919: What happens if a batted ball hits an umpire who is standing on the ...
      »rlspls1974: The real question is, if the ball carries over the fence off of the ...
      »DaveDowell: Nope ... But ONLY because it didn't clear the fence untouched ... ...
      »rlspls1974: Touche
      »rlspls1974: "Live ball" based on umpire's position in relation to feilders.
      »B.J.: Dave, would you count it as a HR if the batter was out of the box :)
      »coop3636: JL..it hit the pitchers glove so it is a live ball Dave Wrong ...
      »Garocket: Not sure about senior rules but all other rule book states that ball ...
      »DaveDowell: coop ... That was just a little joke between me and rlspls1974! ... ...
      »stick8: Unless SSUSA is different umpires are considered part of the field. ...
      »Garocket: Stick I think you are right in USSSA but in ASA, NSA,ISA if the ...
      »Garocket: Straight from the rule book SSUSA 9.2 THE BALL IS IN PLAY A. ...
      »Garocket: 9.1 X. When a fair ball strikes an umpire or base runner on fair ...
      »jl1919: Is the pitcher considered an infielder?
      »stick8: Garocket your right, I should have specified usssa. With the way ...
      »Garocket: The pitcher is not considered an infielder in this situation unless ...
      »B.J.: Stick....not so...I'm in front of the infielders all the ...
      »stick8: BJ I'm not certain it's safe to do that, besides I hate to be in any ...
      »OZ40: As a former umpire I always positioned myself somewhat behind the ...
      »azcard: Where does it say in the rule book that the runner is not out if hit ...
      »B.J.: 8.2 BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER C. When he bats a fair ball ...
24 Jan. 6, 2017 1452

SSUSA OFFICIAL 2017-18 RULEBOOK REVISION NOW AVAILABLE

» SSUSA Staff: The SSUSA Official Rulebook for 2017-18 has been released. It is ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The Summary of Significant 2017 Rulebook Changes has been posted and ...
1 Dec. 18, 2016 1330

Sun rule

» sslver400: Heard that the rule where a batter can request the pitcher move due ...
      »swing for the fences : I was in two of these games.... just a few thoughts.. I think it ...
      »Dbax: If the sun is in the batters eyes, it is only temporary. It's part of ...
      »NYGNYY: Dbax did you play in those games in Phoenix? If you did you would ...
      »Dbax: It's part of the game. Just like an outfielder having the sun in his ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Dbax, you're not thinking this through. I had just such a game at ...
      »Dbax: Ok Omar, you convinced me. My point is, again, that it is part of the ...
      »nickname36: Are you freaking serious, A SUN RULE!!!!!!! Learn to play the game ...
      »sslver400: Hitting up the middle is also part of the game....but you maybe one ...
      »Chief144: As a pitcher I can relate to the sun rule & the sometime benefit of ...
      »swing for the fences : Hey Turtle man.. can't agree with you more OMAR... Games like this ...
      »#19: Yes, Chief144, that is crying! Lots of alternatives for you. Sit on ...
      »DaveDowell: The SSUSA National Rules Committee has settled this issue. See the ...
      »Duke: The rule for the pitcher to move so the batter can see the pitch has ...
      »stick8: Maybe it's a different rule but the sun rule I'm familiar with is one ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The amendment made to the pitcher's sun rule last year, to expand ...
      »Sisavic: Rationale? I am very surprised - no, shocked - with SSUSA's reversal. ...
      »Chief144: #19 - What position do you play? If you don't pitch, may I suggest ...
      »DaveDowell: Sisavic ... I can only share my own observations and opinion on the ...
      »Bballer3: Hey Dave, This was the committee's best ruling in a long ...
      »Webbie25: I agree totally with SSUSA and Bballer3. We played twice with it in ...
      »#19: Yes, Chief144, I have pitched and I have been hit ... If you're a ...
      »NYGNYY: I will agree with the decision of the committee however I believe ...
      »HAT MAN: My Take, I have done both, pitched and batted with sun issues. I ...
      »DaveDowell: NYGNYY ... I attempt to avoid "sun fields" when we have the field ...
      »NYGNYY: Dave thanks for your feedback and once again no issues with what was ...
      »nickname36: YOU WANT SOME CHEESE WITH THAT WINE??...... Pitching and batting ...
      »Mulewhipper: Nickname...why so many CAPS? isn't HEAT part of the game as well?
      »Snot Nose Kid: nickname36 is so tough that he plays in the wind, rain, sleet, sn ...
      »Omar Khayyam: I admire nickname36 and his commitment to softball. However, in ...
      »Shut Up & Pitch: Word is he screams and yells at his team mates and the opposing tea ...
      »nickname36: Hey there OMAR THE CAMEL JOCKEY..... Never said anything about ...
      »bond_171513: nickname: Here are "some" of your direct quotes: "And your ...
      »DaveDowell: It could be a pretty dangerous place at the ball park if any of these ...
      »mad dog: hey nickname glad to see your a dumpster fan...as you sound like ...
      »?: If dumbname36 is as tough as he acts on this thread. Then why is ...
      »swing for the fences : Hey Dickname36 talk about growing a pair... Look at your post crying ...
      »DaveDowell: swing ... Is that the same 50-AAA division that played at BLD in the ...
      »boston: I cannot believe at our age people are still questioning our manhood ...
38 Dec. 15, 2016 2304

Scoring of Runs - Question concerning interpretation of Section 5.7

» BillC48: Runners on 2nd and 3rd with one out. Batter flies out to right field ...
      »SSUSA Staff: BillC48 ... We concur ... The RUN BY R2 IS SCORED ... This is not a ...
      »BillC48: Thanks for the quick response. I looked at some of the older rule ...
      »DaveDowell: I don't remember the year the Committee made that change, but do ...
      »paul0784: Isn't the lead runner safe also because he was awarded home on the ...
      »B94: Lead runner is out on the dead ball appeal so the run doesn't count.
      »stick8: It makes no sense that a runner from second be credited with scoring ...
      »paul0784: Again, it doesn't matter when the runner left the bag at third ...
      »paul0784: The catch was made causing second out and the throw went out of play. ...
      »B94: I may be wrong but I would think that because of the dead ball appeal ...
      »stick8: B94 a timing play is on a live ball. Example: Runners on first and ...
      »B.J.: runner is out... he must go back and tag up before advancing
      »umpire 14: sticks...you are correct about the timing play rule. But lets ...
      »stick8: BJ, you are correct!! Umpire 14 you are correct as well!! In USSSA ...
      »B.J.: STICK, its been a while since i've worked U-trip but I think they ...
      »stick8: BJ, you are correct!! Umpire 14 you are correct as well!! In USSSA ...
      »paul0784: Couple years back they changed the rule to be more consistant so it's ...
      »B.J.: Paul, if a runner leaves the bag to soon on a caught fly ball and was ...
      »BillC48: I started this conversation and came across a portion of the rules ...
      »B.J.: BillC.... if you are talking about this part of 5.7 NOTE: An appeal ...
19 Dec. 12, 2016 1102

Triple Play or Not? - Help with call

» HAT MAN: Here is one (i cant post new threads so had to piggy back) Bases ...
      »HAT MAN: B.J. REPLY: HAT MAN... ... if the umpire said he didn't see the ...
      »SSUSA Staff: HAT MAN ... We had no difficulty logging in under your ID and ...
      »HAT MAN: Thank you SSUSA. I have tried to start several new threads and it ...
      »stick8: If I was umpiring in that situation I have 2 outs (as described) but ...
      »B.J.: Stick...the only reason they thought they had 3 outs was because the ...
      »HAT MAN: Stick8 My thing is why would try for a 4th out. u,p says out out ...
      »stick8: BJ, understood. If that was me I would unfortunately have to stay ...
7 Dec. 8, 2016 668

substitution

» froggy11: Tournament game, tie game, extra inning, visiting team starts extra ...
      »k man: Froggy- Rule 5.4(2) Page 28 - No substitute or curtesy runner may ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The umpire (and k man) nailed it ... There is one limited exception, ...
      »froggy11: Thanks for the response, I see that now, page 28.
      »bond_171513: Just curious about the wording on the original question..there is a ...
      »Duke: bond_171513, Last batter that completed his turn at bat, not the last ...
      »froggy11: YOU ARE CORRECT ANDY, THAT IS EXACTLY HOW THE RULE READS.
6 Dec. 1, 2016 614

rules

» hurdler52: What is the ruling on a play where the first baseman steps on the ...
      »coop3636: This question needs more information to be answered correctly. If it ...
      »BruceinGa: Coop, you answered that just like you were a first baseman! ;)
      »SSUSA Staff: coop3636 did a good analysis ... Here are two simple general rules to ...
      »hurdler52: Thank you, now let me add a twist. The batter/base runner fails to ...
      »coop3636: Bruce, I am just a coach that likes to know the rules. It comes in ...
      »B.J.: hurdler...the B/R "IS" allowed to miss 1st base if he is avoiding a ...
      »coop3636: BJ I won't argue that the ump will make the safe call (I don't ...
      »B.J.: coop....I'm 100% sure...the defense can only appeal before the runner ...
      »Garocket: Coop better look that on up cause you are wrong. The runner his ...
      »Garocket: In the above the R! went to third Sorry
      »coop3636: BJ.. Rule 1.1 on page 19 says: " AN appeal play is a play on which ...
      »B.J.: coop, and for 99% of appeals that is correct...but with a B/R ...
      »coop3636: I disagree, but will wait until SSUSA puts in their opinion.
      »stick8: Hurdler in your scenario the umpire calls the runner safe. But if the ...
      »Mango: So what happens if the batter runner steps right in the middle of ...
      »B.J.: B/R is allowed the safety bag and only the safety bag...so if he ...
      »B.J.: Dave, can you answer the above question of coop and I...whether the ...
      »coop3636: BJ You are wrong, again..lol If the runner hits ANY part of the ...
      »DieselDan: Since cooper3636 typed the rules that stated the appeal has to be ...
      »B.J.: coop...if im wrong??? it certainly wont be the 1st time...in fact my ...
      »DaveDowell: Here's the current formula: 800-mile Road trip to Phoenix + 210-team ...
      »stick8: Mango, the way you word it in your scenario I have the runner ...
      »Mango: Stick, thank you. It was another great competitive tournament! And ...
      »k man: our local 60+ league says runner 'may only' touch orange bag in which ...
      »Davy: One more twist. it happened to me. Big first baseman comes off bag ...
      »SSUSA Staff: You're whatever the umpire called ... It's a JUDGMENT CALL not ...
      »stick8: Totally understand your point Mango. Maybe this has been tried or ...
      »DaveDowell: I think there will be somewhere around a 0.04% of softball facilities ...
      »stick8: Dave, a line would work too!!
      »mck71: Great idea Dave, like the line but that would add another element to ...
      »DieselDan: The line at first would have arguments like at home when there is ...
      »k man: I agree with Dan, in a 1 umpire system it would be a nightmare of ...
      »B.J.: Dave, I was wondering if you had time to research the appeal ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. and coop3636 ... Here's a bit of a diplomatic response, but you ...
      »B.J.: Dave.. your answer below on a DBA is confusing when you say an appeal ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. - NO ... The Dead Ball Appeal is available to the defense before ...
      »B.J.: Since the SSUSA rule book does not really cover specific appeals I ...
      »surf88: Dear Dave, I would like clarification on a play that occurred at ...
38 Dec. 1, 2016 1526

RULEING ON PLAY

» doyle: RUNNER STOPS AT THE LINE BETWEEN BETWEEN ,3RD AND HOME, PITCHER HAS ...
      »Fred S: First question would be at what point did he tag him. Before he step ...
      »taits: I'd say the line is considered same as is the batters box issue, on ...
      »doyle: HE STEPED OVER THE LINE AS THE PITCHER REACHED OVER TO TAG HIM,THEN ...
      »doyle: THE PITCHER THREW THE BALL TO THE CATCHER STANDING ON HOME PLATE
      »B.J.: once the runners foot is down on or across the line he cannot be ...
      »taits: If no touch line or plate, I'd say, out. as you wrote this ...
      »taits: BJ, good point.
      »Fred S: According to rule 13.8(3) B.J. is right if he was tagged after his ...
      »coop3636: BJ is correct..batter is safe, run scores And ball is live at that ...
      »titanhd: If I am correct. No matter when runners foot hit the ground. Runner ...
      »JohnBob: looks like runner would have to touch scoring plate to be safe. If he ...
      »titanhd: runner is automatically safe if tagged at home plate.
      »k man: Once runner touches commitment line or beyond and is then tagged ...
      »k man: taits, not gaits
      »stick8: I believe the intent of the rule is to make sure there is no obstacle ...
      »DieselDan: I am the runner who Doyle is referring too. I intentionally stopped ...
      »stick8: DieselDan by baiting the fielder to tag you that was quite the heads ...
      »DieselDan: I first saw that same play at Vegas in Sept. with a Scrap Iron team. ...
18 Nov. 21, 2016 768

BATTERS BOX

» 1jonsey: After hitting the ball, when is a runner considered to be out of the ...
      »HAT MAN: your question needs re wording I think. After hitting or making ...
      »SSUSA Staff: "..After hitting the ball..", we would presume he is out of the box ...
      »paul0784: It was happening whole tournament in Florida and not being called and ...
      »1jonsey: The batter is in the box but he tops the ball out in front of home ...
      »Garocket: If any part of his body (usually the foot)touches the ball while the ...
      »taits: Not having a current book and too lazy to read the inhere, i's guess? ...
      »1jonsey: Garocket, so are you saying that if he has 1 foot out of the box and ...
      »k man: We had a situation in FL where the batter hit a very slow roller ...
      »Garocket: If t he foot that touches the ball and the ball and foot is outside ...
      »Garocket: Just found this on a baseball site, would assume it would be the sam ...
      »HAT MAN: Does anyone know how many major guys can be on a AAA team and stay ...
      »B94: HM pretty sure the magic number is 3...
      »taits: Correct..... BUT..... if any one or more player(s) has player M+ in ...
      »HAT MAN: Taits Thanks, it was more for knoledge than action. Trying to build ...
      »taits: Your welcome. Should be in the rule book on here. Maybe too in ...
15 Nov. 16, 2016 857

EH & DH ??????

» 17Black: I overheard a couple of guys at Florida tournament last week (FYI we ...
      »B.J.: NO if he is in the line up he must bat...
      »k man: 17Black - our senior league allows a team to have 1 person play the ...
      »HAT MAN: only thing I have seen was an ADA rule. The player was their pitcher ...
      »taits: Page 25 for this years rules.
      »Fred S: I believe you can get around it by using pinch hitting for him twice ...
      »paul0784: Fred you as a pinch hitter can only bat once in that role. The second ...
      »Fred S: Paul0784:No. Rule only states that I can't be in the lineup and I ...
      »Jawood: A couple of years ago there was a discussion (on the website) to ...
8 Nov. 11, 2016 791

injured player

» B.J.: Dave, can I get a ruling on the injured player ...
      »taits: From what I remember: he is at bat from how I read this and get ...
      »SSUSA Staff: B.J. ... Tough circumstance to be in, but we would rule that he is ...
      »Gavin5: Knowing the current at bat will result in an out, would it be ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Gavin5 ... With the luxury of "20-20 hindsight", that's probably the ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Saw an older player break his hip on his swing. He was sprawled ...
      »Mulewhipper: SSUSA Staff...what are the rules if player is ejected? Just ...
      »SSUSA Staff: If the player is ejected and there is no substitute available, his ...
      »stick8: Unless a sub is available replace an ejected player it's an out each ...
      »Mulewhipper: lol Staff...thanks.
      »DaveDowell: You were just looking for a "Get Out of Jail Free" card ... Nice try!
10 Nov. 8, 2016 1085

Is it a catch?

» Webbie25: The batter hits a long fly ball to the fence. The outfielder leaps up ...
      »B.J.: since the fielder had the glove in the proper place at the start of ...
      »Webbie25: I think it is a catch also, but I cannot find anything to cover it, ...
      »softball4b: Had to be someone other than yourself unless it was a 4 ft fence. ...
      »DMac: When I was umping in So Cal, the player had to voluntarily release ...
      »swing for the fences : It's a catch! The outfielder did not throw his glove but had it ...
      »taits: Could be had no control of ball, no catch. You have to see it to know ...
      »B.J.: taits....the op said that while lying on the ground he caught the ...
      »stick8: Sounds like a legal catch but I'd have to see the play to make a ...
      »taits: BJ, I missed that you are correct. I stoped at the end of the 1st ...
      »Joncon: """When I was umping in So Cal, the player had to voluntarily release ...
10 Nov. 2, 2016 974

rule clarification II

» stick8: Kind of an easy one but here it goes: A4 is on third, A3 is on ...
      »Garocket: Not as easy as you might think Rule If a batter bats out of ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Had a similar situation in a tournament recently, but I suspect it is ...
      »B.J.: Garocket....you are correct about the runner who scored going back to ...
      »k man: BJ, if that's the case then the defensive team might be better off ...
      »Garocket: B.J. Do you really think I am that smart LOL I copied and pasted ...
      »Garocket: Retraction I also found another rule that says all runners return to ...
      »Garocket: BUT This is what I found on an ASA site COMMONLY OCCURRING ASA ...
      »B.J.: Garocket....I see what you are saying...earlier after I posted my ...
      »Garocket: But still in limbo, because SSUSA does not say what to do about any ...
      »B.J.: yes, and that's what I always do but even their rule doesn't ...
      »stick8: After checking with the on-line SSUSA rule book three things are for ...
      »B.J.: stick.....first of all great scenario...I asked about 10 tournament ...
      »stick8: BJ that would be the conventional wisdom. However, it does need to be ...
13 Oct. 31, 2016 675

Running up ????

» garyheifner: What is "exactly" RUNNING UP IN THE BOX? Many hitters, especially ...
      »BruceinGa: Depending on the pitcher I will "run up". If he throws deep I start ...
      »B.J.: gary, no its not like girl left handed batters....I see more right ...
      »bkb555: 90-95% of the fields we play on have NO batter's box....we used to ...
      »B94: I still think the easiest way is to word the rule to say the batter ...
4 Oct. 31, 2016 737

Is it a strike if ball hits front edge of strike mat and also kicks up some dirt?

» Turbobob: Our senior league uses the official strike mat as stated in the ...
      »k man: Turbo, you yourself said: ball hits the front edge of the mat. ...
      »Turbobob: k man, so you are saying that even if the ball hits the front of the ...
      »k man: just my opinion based on how I've seen things called over the years. ...
      »OZ40: As long as the arc requirement is met it seems that the upper edge of ...
      »The Screamer5: As an umpire, I get hear this ALL the time. Batters complain that ...
      »k man: btw, shouldn't be any different than if it hits the side edge or the ...
      »neck10: but just think if the ball bounds upward and back toward pitcher then ...
      »Dancer: We call it a cheap strike, but still a strike. and most likely the ...
      »Don5: In 2017 they will be using square spongy balls, much like the stote ...
      »Don5: Yes I used the word "muck" that wasn't a typo, most of you will ...
      »garyheifner: Have had the post happen many times. Quite often, the ump has ruled ...
      »patrick jt: did someone strike out
      »Turbobob: Thanks for all of your input, which is what I asked for. I believe ...
      »Boom Boom 1: If the ball bounces up and never crosses the plate isn't that a ball? ...
      »B94: If you are using a one inch thick piece of wood as a plate it should ...
      »DaveDowell: Boom Boom 1 In SSUSA sanctioned events, a pitched ball must only ...
      »DieselDan: Having the dirt in front of the plate cleared away periodically might ...
      »Bobby Buggs: I hate those front edge ankle biters. Being new to the Senior game ...
      »JT25: I wish SSUSA would go to a 1 inch wood strike mat because when the ...
      »taits: Where you guys living, in the twilight zone. A strike is a strike ...
      »bkb555: JT....if you put a 1 inch strike mat for a strike, you KNOW somebody ...
      »Omar Khayyam: bkb555, seems like that would be the case, doesn't it? We have been ...
22 Oct. 29, 2016 1859
» Previous 20 discussions here
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners