http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: lb16; 78 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussions in message board topic: Rules of the game

Discussion subjectRepliesLatestViews

Line drive hits base

» azcard: Line drive hits 1st or 3rd with out hitting the ground deflects into ...
      »coop3636: Line drive that hits first or third and then goes foul is a FAIR ...
      »azcard: Just for the sake of discussion, 1st and third are in fair territory ...
      »DaveDowell: coop3636 is correct ... FAIR ball by definition regardless of where ...
      »B.J.: it does not have to pass the bag, RULE 1.22 D. Touches first, second ...
      »coop3636: Azcard.. once the balls hits first or third.. it is a fair ...
      »DaveDowell: Rulebook 1.23 FAIR TERRITORY Fair territory is that part of the ...
      »JimmyG: Not just the strike mat, but it would still be a fair ball even if it ...
      »azcard: 1.22 D states the ruling exactly. Thanks BJ. I wonder if this is ...
      »B.J.: in MLB home plate is located in fair territory ..in senior softball ...
9 June 15, 2017 984

When is is legal for a base runner to leave the base?

» Turbobob: Our league is 60 plus, slow pitch using a high arc, strike plate and ...
      »B.J.: the penalty for a runner leaving a base early is a dead ball no pitch ...
      »Turbobob: Thanks BJ for the explanation and putting all of the pieces of the ...
2 June 14, 2017 800

VERBAL INTERFERENCE

» dud: What is VERBAL INTERFERENCE? What are examples? Can a defensive ...
      »softball4b: Only if involves politics or religion. Seriously though, if a ...
      »B.J.: interference is always on the offense and obstruction is on the ...
      »garyheifner: Had a coach from a Michigan Team when coaching 3rd base yelling out ...
3 June 10, 2017 996

Player Ratings

» West Coast Mayhem #00: I have read the rules, but when discussed, everyone seems to have a ...
      »SSUSA Staff: WCM#00 ... SSUSA does NOT rate players ... However, we DO track the ...
1 June 10, 2017 737

A Thank You

» TOMAR77: Just want to give a Shout Out to Dave and SSUSA for their handling of ...
0 June 7, 2017 639

Umpire Got It Wrong - Loudoun VA

» Crackerjack06: Just had the pleasure of participating in this weekends games ...
      »B.J.: to be honest about this call....I have umpired for 20 years in all of ...
      »impster23: We also had an issue too with the umpire in the Championship game. ...
      »B.J.: to get a double play on any scenario like that then the umpire must ...
      »TimMcElroy: Tournament UIC / Field Director response: Crackerjack06: I will ...
      »Crackerjack06: Tim, Thank you for understanding the true intention of the "Spirit ...
      »Nancy Allen: Crackerjack06, I am sorry about how the umpires reacted. This falls ...
      »Crackerjack06: Nancy, Thank you for adding in the scenario of "squaring up" on a ...
      »put me in coach: 2008 Loudoun finals ump got it right. this situation played out in ...
      »Nancy Allen: Gentlemen, thank you for validating for me again that there is ...
      »B.J.: Nancy, for the most part I agree with what you say... but the rule ...
      »B.J.: swing and rip the ball down the line...the next at bat they take an ...
      »Nancy Allen: B.J., thank you. I already knew that I could not change anyone's ...
      »stick8: Umpires should never show up players. Most times player carry on ...
13 May 26, 2017 2104

Umpires- Pitching Rules

» Uncle Mike: I am starting to see more and more USSSA style pitching in SSUSA. I'm ...
      »Paco13: Actually this past weekend here at the VA Beach tourney we made few ...
      »Vance+50: I noticed that as well in Valley last weekend. Anything around 10 ...
      »mad dog: paco...the pitching box extends 10' back now from the rubber i ...
      »ETDave: Yep. 10 feet.
      »bringiton: Uncle Mike if you think that the umpires are not doing a good job ( ...
      »BruceinGa: The umpires we had at Valley were good and very consistent. I think ...
      »Uncle Mike: I umpired for 25 years in So California SCMAF association, and 2 ...
      »crusher: Please give me a flat pitch >............
      »k man: In our local league, the head umpire for the league brought to the ...
      »OIdCorps: Paco- Since you're not much taller than 5 foot that 5 foot pitch was ...
      »stick8: Can't say what it's like in Southern California but here in Michigan ...
      »Paco13: OldCorps...Chest high and inside and you know the rest...BOOM. How ...
      »Rich33: I UMPire and Play. Just a thought... You have a $300 bat and a $25 ...
      »marcster13: ^^^ what he said ^^^
14 May 5, 2017 1716

Roaster

» grayhitter59: This question is for all managers and SSUSA staff. As a former ...
      »curveball: Assume you mean "roster." If a team forfeits a 1st game due to ...
      »DaveDowell: grayhitter59 ... I presume you are still abusing the equine corpse ...
      »grayhitter59: No, Dave. sorry you are incorrect. I just wanted clarification on the ...
      »MP all day: To help answer your question greyhitter...I'll use me as an ...
      »grayhitter59: My question where answered by staff, that's all I needed. This was ...
      »MP all day: Fantastic...we all need to abide by the rules...All of us....
      »grayhitter59: Staff, one question if a forfeit is not a game played then why does ...
      »DaveDowell: A forfeit game is a designated loss for purposes of the tournament ...
      »taits: I would think that a manager attending his first tournament would ...
9 May 3, 2017 1508

Out of the Batters Box.

» Gonedeep43: This rule needs to be reviewed. Saturday night at BLD Las Vegas, ...
      »DaveDowell: All that needs to be done is more strict enforcement of SSUSA ...
      »Spock: This is the Senior softabll rulebook copied and pasted. PLAYING ...
      »Spock: Now does stepping out mean, during the act of swinging, or before ...
      »B.J.: spock... the rule explains it all A. The batter must have at least ...
      »B94: If you're going to enforce this rule to the letter then you need to ...
      »Gonedeep43: Exactly, no way can you avoid stepping out of the box if you decide ...
      »Omar Khayyam: I have seen it enforced at Golden Eagle in Reno. I agree it is a bit ...
      »DaveDowell: Omar ... That's the "flip side of the same coin" argument in favor of ...
      »Boom Boom 1: In the good old days, before the matt, the plate was considered a ...
      »DCPete: True that plus you're still depending on the Ground Crew to put the ...
      »HAT MAN: the way i see it is you learn to adjust. I'm 6'4" 280 and knew from ...
      »Jon44: I have had this same issue at BLD. I am 6'6" and the short pitch is a ...
      »k man: Jon, ssusa Rule 7.3(1) batter deliberately erasing any portion of ...
      »neck10: gonedeep you must have had the same ump we had a couple years ago in ...
      »neck10: also we as manager's can ask the ump anything we wont before game I ...
      »the car: we were called out and we had a picture of the at bat showing he was ...
      »Boom Boom 1: Once again, you are missing the point, the front of the batter's box ...
      »B94: Boom Boom is bang on!
      »the car: i stepped out before the mat but i understand you
      »grayhitter59: The permanent batters box is set using reqular softball rules, where ...
      »B94: This is such a simple fix too. Adjust the batters box forward the ...
      »TimMcElroy: Rather than "fix" the rule, maybe players could adjust to the ones ...
      »bbullet: Some great points being made - especially if you take the time to ...
      »southerinman: As many do I walk the box to try to get a pitch "in my zone" so to ...
      »k man: southerinman- page 34-35 SSUSA rule book -present and constant, no ...
25 April 29, 2017 2579

Pitching rule

» Tommy00: Is it still required for the pitcher to show the ball before starting ...
      »B.J.: here is the rule 6.4 BEFORE STARTING THE PITCH A. The pitcher ...
      »B.J.: forgot to add this is the SSUSA rule USA/ASA may be different
      »Tommy00: That's exactly what USA/ASA says right now.
3 April 20, 2017 627

You make the call.

» stick8: No one on, no one out. Batter gets a hit. As he rounds first he ...
      »k man: As long as the runner makes no attempt to continue to 2nd after the ...
      »The Screamer5: I believe that would be ruled a delayed obstruction where the umpire ...
      »lb16: If player makes an attempt or not doesn't matter. If the umpire felt ...
      »stick8: The Screamer5 and lb16 are correct!! Let's take this further. If the ...
      »lb16: Base runner should only be awarded base he would have gotten without ...
      »stick8: This is a judgement call. If the ump feels the batter runner would ...
      »coop3636: LB16 It does matter if you make an attempt or not. If you go back to ...
      »B.J.: coop... a obstructed runner does not have to make an attempt to go to ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. ... You and coop3636 are both correct in my experience ... You ...
      »stick8: Coop3636 I believe what you elluded to applies in baseball, at least ...
      »lb16: coop3636 it is called that way incorrectly most of the time. It is a ...
      »HAT MAN: Try this on for size 1 out man on first, routine grounder to SS ...
12 April 17, 2017 1000

What is the call? Fair or Foul

» gonz: what happens if a batter hits a ball that is going to be a foul ball ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The "fair or foul ball" determination is made solely by reference to ...
      »stick8: Based in your description it is a foul ball. The call is based on ...
      »gonz: ok, so what happen is the defender is straddling the line. One leg in ...
      »DaveDowell: gonz ... Changing the facts from saying initially it would fall foul, ...
      »k man: Umpire judgment call, 1 team will be happy with the call, the other ...
      »DaveDowell: Absolutely true K man ... This call is guaranteed to have EXACTLY a ...
      »gonz: sorry guys, I didn't mean to change the facts. I was changing the ...
      »DaveDowell: gonz ... It's a judgment call by definition ... The umpire's judgment ...
      »titanhd: Simpy put. "the ball plays itself"
      »lb16: It is really very simple it is always were the ball is in relation to ...
      »stick8: Let's change this a bit. Fly ball is hit deep down the left field ...
      »Clean Up: "the ball hits his glove in fair territory" I believe you answe ...
      »DaveDowell: stick8 ... In baseball, and maybe softball, too, I've got a dead ball ...
      »B.J.: Dave I see the rule you posted.... I guess deflecting off the glove ...
      »B.J.: forgot to add....in softball it is considered a 4 base award
      »B.J.: SORRY....didn't pick up on the part of ball going into foul ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. ... I still think it's a two-base award/ground rule double, ...
      »B.J.: Dave, which bizarre flight plan that I made up...lol... I agreed ...
      »DaveDowell: If the ball leaves the field of play in fair territory, like from a ...
      »stick8: Dave is correct, it is a two base award. It's akin to a ball going ...
20 April 16, 2017 1257

Adding New Players

» OldGymRat: Want to go to Loudoun tourney in May. Carolina Blue Sky 75's has ...
      »TimMcElroy: OldGymRat, I detect some confusion here. Is it possible that you ...
1 April 16, 2017 687

Ratings

» balllover: Can a player, who is rated Major+, play on a 55 Major+ team as well ...
      »DaveDowell: NO ... A player may not be on two rosters in the same age group ...
1 April 14, 2017 648

Hot box

» RRG: I cannot find the rule covering this play. Runner on 1st, no outs. ...
      »Garocket: I have been to many umpire schools and was always told that Home is ...
      »SSUSA Staff: RRG ... The SSUSA Rulebook does not specifically address turning back ...
2 April 10, 2017 784

First Base glove

» gonz: Hi all, I was watching a game and noticed that the pitcher was ...
      »Jon44: My understanding is that you can't do that. I pitch (occasionally) ...
      »B.J.: not in SSUSA...only 1st baseman and catchers...I know in ASA they ...
      »gonz: so only in ASA. when did they change the rule. Mahalo Sherwin ...
      »B.J.: im not sure...a few years ago
      »Uncle Mike: The umpires allowed it at the Worlds last year in Las Vegas. In our ...
      »DaveDowell: Uncle Mike ... The only explanation for the situation you cite from ...
      »Uncle Mike: We didn't make a big stink about for a couple of reasons. It was a ...
      »k man: Other than being told you can't wear a mitt other than 1st base or ...
      »B.J.: I've never seen a SSUSA rule on this but the ASA rule is that the ...
      »B.J.: also this play was just discussed a few posts ago "the do over" and ...
      »B.J.: Dave, since SSUSA does not allow mitts except for 1st base and ...
      »DaveDowell: The penalty is not addressed in the SSUSA Rulebook (and should be) ...
      »B94: Rather than updating the rule book for with a penalty if the pitcher ...
      »gonz: thanks for clearing that up. So I guess it is fine for ASA but not ...
14 April 10, 2017 1750

Player ratings

» Olden Slow: Big question, I am currently on a 60AAA roster and play in a utility ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Olden Slow ... Please call the SSUSA office at (916) 326.5303 on ...
1 April 7, 2017 849

Ejection

» Randall: If a team starts with ten players and then an ejection occurs with no ...
      »B.J.: It depends on the age bracket...if it is 70s or older yes ..if it is ...
      »SSUSA Staff: B.J. is correct ... If the team playing "short-handed" loses another ...
      »baseballbill: Randall: Did not see you after the game ?????
3 April 5, 2017 828

Pitch that hits the ground before home plate

» Randall: If a batter swings at this pitch after the ball hits the ground, is ...
      »B.J.: ques. 1)yes and yes 2) yes
1 April 5, 2017 721

You make the call

» stick8: Runners on 1st and 2nd with 2 outs. Batter singles to left field. ...
      »lb16: I call dead ball and put runners where I think they would have been ...
      »Sisavic: New "You make the call" Championship Game: Runners on 1st and 2nd, ...
      »BruceinGa: In my opinion I would call out, inning over.
      »B.J.: Stick 8's scenario could be handled a few ways....the way Stick ...
      »bond_171513: I'm pretty sure the rule in U-Trip/GSL for hitting the bats - or ...
      »stick8: bond_171513 is correct. Dead ball, lead runner is out. It is an SSUSA ...
      »B.J.: stick...that is not at SSUSA RULE..nor is it an automatic out call on ...
      »stick8: BJ, a permanently installed bat rack might be one thing(I'd have to ...
      »BruceinGa: What, I get no props for having the first correct answer???
      »B.J.: Stick, I thought the way you worded your original scenario that it ...
      »stick8: BJ it doesn't matter if it hit a player or a bat that are in the ...
      »B.J.: Stick, you keep citing UTRIP rules and in many cases their rules are ...
12 April 2, 2017 1328
» Previous 20 discussions here
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners