SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up


» Latest news   Sections: Obituaries | Tournaments | Womens' Corner | Editorials     » For Advertisers: Editorial Calendar


Sept. 1, 2012 – Ross McCulligan

DALLAS Ė Seven states were represented by 45 teams in the fifth annual Texas State Championships here in June. The tournament has continued a steady climb in attendance, up from 30 teams and five states in 2011.

The weather was less than cooperative as game cancellations occurred up and down the board in each division due to abundant rainfall.

The 50 Major Division as well as the 55 AAA Division were forced to play a true round-robin format. Likewise, seeding play had to be cancelled for both the 65 and 70 Divisions and bracket play was established through a blind draw for seeding positions.

Despite the weather, teams enjoyed the state-of-the-art facility at Kiest Park Sports Complex with seven pristine diamonds. Tournament Director Don Brooks praised field crews for their efforts in keeping the fields as well prepped as possible.

The 50/55 Gold Division was able to play all games despite weather issues. In the 50 AA Division, Romoís Old School took two games in a row from El Paso Old School to win the division.

The 50/55 Gold Division bracket play consisted of 10 teams with the Bucís eventually defeating Team Mayhem, last years winner, 19-15, in the championship game. With the win, the Bucís were able to bring the trophy back home to Texas from Team Mayhemís residence of Oklahoma.

The only other divisions not affected by the weather were the 60 Major and 60 AAA.

Texas Makuleís and Memphis Edge played a best-of-three series with the Makuleís edging out a victory in the third game, 16-14, to win the Major Division.

The AAA division was highly competitive consisting of nine teams with tight-knit games throughout. Things werenít looking good for the Dallas Spurs as they earned the seventh seed and immediately lost their first bracket game to the second-seeded U.S. Patriots, 16-13. They would bounce back and ultimately defeat the Patriots, 16-14 to earn a spot in the finals.

However, the San Antonio Silverstreaks would run the table in the winnerís bracket by winning four in a row and defeating the Spurs, 23-18 in the championship.

The Menís 50 Major Division was forced into a true round-robin format with each team playing four games. In the end, Lonestar Softball was awarded the championship with a record of 4-0. Second and third place went to San Antonio Softball and Monster Softball, respectively.

Seeding games were called due to the rain in the 65 Gold Division and brackets were determined by a blind draw. The San Antonio Legends would claim top spot in the AAA Division while Texas Legends took home the Championship for the Majorís.

Senior Softball would like to thank Barbara Barnette and the City of Dallas Parks and Recreation Department for their role in helping to make the tournament possible.

For complete results please visit our website at


Menís 50 Major- Lonestar softball- Joey Gillaspy, Doug Wood, Steve Veronie, Tommy Clark,Ronnie Lang. San Antonio 50ís- Ramon Cervera, Micky Rodriguez, Tom Vera.

Menís 50 AA-Romoís Old School- Candido Perex, Juan Navarro, Steve Casarez, Art Ochoa, Rueben Rodriguez.

Menís 50/55Gold- Team Mayhem- Bill Hancock, Frank Lyons, Willie Schooley.El Paso Spurs- Manny Gutierrez, Lorenzo Hinojos.

Menís 50/55 AAA- Pace Electronics- Rich Bigler, John DeMagistris.

Menís 55 AAA- Houston Fire- Mike Hirth, David Chauvin, Bailey Nance, Anthony Arnt, Ben Sparks.Electrifiers- John Ellsworth, Willie Tijerina, Carl Beyer.

Menís 60Major- Texas Makuli-Randy Fithian, John Sutton, Rich Wilson, Howdy Melton, Scott Harmon.

Menís 60 AAA- San Antonio Silver Streaks- Gibby Contreras, Chon Fernandez, Rudy Guzman, Jack Orbin, Richard Keilholz.

Menís 65 AAA- San Antonio Legends- Rockey Crews, Eddie Arevalos, Joe Casey, Lonnie Springs, Ronnie Henderson.The Crackerbox- Jim Fulks, Mel Stinnett, David Moore.

Menís 70 AA- Hill Contracting- Tom Foster, Daryl Shumaker, Leon Oebel, Billy Hill, Max Smith.Segura Farms- Terry Fox, Donnie Linebarger, Nuby Johnson.

Menís 70Silver-Texas Greyhounds- Mike Braker, Jim Waite, Larry Letzner, Neal Dacus, Joe Housley.

Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook