Online now: 5 members: Nutt15
, SacIslander 55
; 53 anonymous
Discussion: Base hit rule clarification
|March 9, 2008|
|Base hit rule clarification|
I do not know where to post this question so here I am. I take some hard hit grounders and line drives at third base. Some are not close enough for me to catch but close enough to be deflected by my glove.
Is theres someplace that defines if this is a hit or, an error?
Would this be a judgement call?
|March 10, 2008|
|While I'm sure there are others; off the glove, dropped, or in between the legs are a few errors. Bad hops usually a judgement call. But different scorekeepers may see the same play can call if differently.|
|March 10, 2008|
|Hits and errors are always judgement calls. The key is should the ball have been caught by the fielder. Whether the ball was touched or not does not come into play. If the ball took a bad hop or if the fielder had to dive or make some other type of extra ordinary effort then it is a base hit. If the play should have been made, such as a routine ground ball through the between the legs, even if not touched it would be an error. Hope this helps. This is how we have always tried to score it|
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA
sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today.