http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Johnny Hose; 48 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Double Runners to First

Posted Discussion
Aug. 5, 2013
CaliScotty2
1 posts
Double Runners to First
In our game a batter requested and got a designated runner. The runner was positioned where he was suppose to be and left once the batter hit the ball. However both the batter and the runner ran to first base. The batter, running down the inner part of the line ran over the white bag (didn't make contact) The designated runner ran down the outer part of the line ran over orange bag (didn't make contact). Is the batter out automatically because both players ran to first? Or because he didn't make contact with anything, is the runner safe at first if he returns and touches the orange bag safely?


Because there was a runner at third, the ball was thrown home. Does that change the scenario? If there were 2 outs and the runner scored safely from 3rd, would his run count if the batter is called out at first because of the double runner?

Where in the Senior Softball rule book can I find the section that deals with the above event?

Thank you.
Aug. 5, 2013
Omar Khayyam
958 posts
A true senior moment. Batter is so physically compromised that he asks for a runner to run from home...and then the batter takes off himself moments later and reaches first! I hope he didn't beat the designated runner to first!LOL
Aug. 5, 2013
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
damn that is a new one.....omar i would hope not....sure would make the CR look silly...LOL....
Aug. 5, 2013
Fred S
Men's 80
71 posts
Not sure if that is covered in the rule book. What some leagues have done is draw a commit line down the first base line and the batter goes over it he is out.

This happens more than you think.
Aug. 5, 2013
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
damn that is a new one.....omar i would hope not....sure would make the CR look silly...LOL....
Aug. 5, 2013
mad dog
Men's 60
3922 posts
no rule in books for this...just leagues allow it only......batter shouldn't leave the box,or max take a step or two.....yes have had the batter get in the way on dribblers out front,and also when there is a play at home and the batter just stands at the plate interfering with the catcher...

also sorry for the double post damn comp acting up.....
Aug. 6, 2013
SSUSA Staff
1010 posts
The SSUSA Rulebook does not provide for a courtesy runner from Home to first base ... The batter/runner must make first base on his/her own before the courtesy runner provisions take effect ...
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners