http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 5 members: Art Melloh, Furgal, bullet, peif34, softball4b; 66 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: OLD SPICE PRESENTS: YOU MAKE THE CALL (#2)

Posted Discussion
April 8, 2009
stick8
1301 posts
OLD SPICE PRESENTS: YOU MAKE THE CALL (#2)
This actually happened. Bottom of the 7th, 2 outs, runner on third, tie score. Pitcher announces to the umpire that he wants to walk the next 2 batters. Umpire acknowledges it then the batter who is at bat runs by the pitcher across the middle of the field to acquire 2nd base and at the same time the on deck batter runs to acquire first base. Upon the next batter being at bat the pitcher appeals the runner on second missed first, then the pitchers runs to first and tags the base. What's the correct call?
April 8, 2009
softball4b
Men's 60
762 posts
Recorded out. Failed to touch base in corresponding order.
April 8, 2009
DaveDowell
Men's 60
1071 posts
The proper call in this situation depends upon the procedure by which the umpire awarded the two walks. See below (emphasis added) for clarity.

SSUSA 2009 Rule Book (at page 54): 8.1 - BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER

B. When four balls have been called by the umpire. The batter-runner is awarded one base without liability to be put out. EFFECT: The ball is dead and runners may not advance unless forced. If the pitcher desires to walk a batter intentionally he may do so by notifying the plate umpire who shall award the batter first base. If two batters are to be walked intentionally, the second intentional walk may not be administered until the first batter reaches first base. NOTE: If the umpire mistakenly allows two walks at one time and the first batter fails to touch first base, no appeal will be honored on the first batter.
April 8, 2009
lcable
8 posts
I remember these "you make the call". Great idea for the board. Great rules training or retraining. Keep them coming stick8. We are going to use them to see who is buying lunch in the office every week for the wrong ansers. Great idea!!
April 9, 2009
stick8
1301 posts
Thanks lcable. In this scenario the appeal is denied. Once the 2nd batter touches first you lose the appeal on the previous batter. I'll post more situations for the readers to commment on. It is good and useful info
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners