http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: SacFly23, softball4b; 47 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Throwing Equipment At Batted Ball

Posted Discussion
Nov. 23, 2009
Joe H
11 posts
Throwing Equipment At Batted Ball
I know one is not permitted to throw equipment (glove, hat, etc.) at a batted ball. However, for the life of me, I cannot find specific reference to this violation in the SSUSA Rulebook. If anyone can direct me to the appropriate section(s)where this is referenced in the SSUSA Rulebook I would be most grateful. Thanks for any help.

Joe H.
Nov. 23, 2009
local
128 posts
When I umpired ASA, HS and some College I was told it was a 3 base deadball award if the glove contacted the ball.
Nov. 24, 2009
taits
Men's 65
4387 posts
SSUSA Rule 8.3 (11) C
ASA Rule 8 sec 5 G
Nov. 24, 2009
Joncon
289 posts
You can throw it, you just can't hit it.
Nov. 24, 2009
Stretch14
Men's 50
186 posts
Taits. Not everybody has a rule book. What's the ruling? Thanks.
Nov. 25, 2009
taits
Men's 65
4387 posts
Stretch,
I don't have one. I search & read them, page 60 (ish) for ssusa, look under tournaments and rules above.
Nov. 25, 2009
BruceinGa
Men's 60
2665 posts
Here's the SSUSA rule:
C. When a fielder intentionally contacts or catches a fair batted or
thrown ball with his helmet, cap, mask, protector, pocket, detached
glove or any part of his/her uniform which is detached from its
proper place on their person. EFFECT: The runners would be entitled
to three bases from the time of the pitch if a batted ball, or two bases
from the time of the throw if a thrown ball, and in either case, they
can advance farther at their own risk. If the illegal catch or touch is
made on a fair hit ball which, in the judgment of the umpire, would
have cleared the outfield fence in flight, the runner-batter should be
awarded a four-base award.
Nov. 25, 2009
Joe H
11 posts
Hey guys, thanks for your input, it is most helpful. During my research, I had read SSUSA Rule 8.3 (11) c., but I didn't think it applied to my question, because I had used the word thrown when talking about a glove being thrown at the ball. I was looking for too literal of a translation. Since you guys have refenced 8.3, I've re-read it a couple of times, and it does apply. I have to substitute the word contacts as stated in the rule for my word thrown and it applies. If a glove, hat, etc. is thrown, but does not hit the ball, does the umpire have a good sportsman's issue to deal with?
Thanks again for your input.
Nov. 26, 2009
Stretch14
Men's 50
186 posts
Thanks BruceinGa.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners