http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 3 members: GRC19, Omar Khayyam, hitnrun5; 95 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Garocket


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 55

Messages posted by Garocket »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

June 9, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

There lies a problem
in all associations except seniors he would be awarded home. But it is not detailed in the Senior book so about 90% of the umpires would have gotten this wrong. When the SSUSA field director comes and makes a different ruling then the umpires look like they do not know what they are doing.

I have umpired in 4 seperate associations and they all are the same
they have assumed to have touched unless appealed


June 7, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

Dave lets discuss this one in Tupelo over a cold one
June 6, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

I really believe if you asked any Major League umpire. they would disagree with you and the softball and baseball rule is the same on awarding bases

Same scenerio
runner goes down the 1st base line and misses 1st makes a quick turn toward second SS throws it into dead ball area.
Where does the runner go?

June 6, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

If the umpires have that authority then why would he not call a runner out if he missed 2nd on his way to third and the outfielder throwed it to the SS while he is standing on 2nd NO Appeal but the umpire calls him out cause he say him miss second .
Same thing once a runner passes a base he has assumed touched it without an appeal.
June 6, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

So now you are saying that a when a ruuner passes a base he has not assumed to touch it without an appeal
SSUSA STAFF you cannot have it both ways LOL

You would award him home. would be out if the defense appeals him for missing 2nd
June 5, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

Ok one last one to really scratch you head on


Runner on 1st long fly ball right fielder runs back to catch the ball. The runner on first tagged up however the defense is not sure they start hollering throw it to first.

The 2nd baseman cuts the ball and throws toward 1st and over throws the ball into dead ball area. However the runner was between 2nd and third but the umpire saw the runner miss 2nd.
Where do you place the runner?
June 5, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

and remember made means he had already touched 1st before the fielder let go of the ball.
You would think that would never happen that an outfielder throws the ball toward 1st after the runner had already touched the base,


SSUSA Staff is correct two from last base legally accquired which means he had already touched it
June 4, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

Stick don't explain it like that cause if the runner had rounded 1st and is going back toward first players would say he only gets second cause he was going toward 1st.

Remember it is two bases from the last base touched at time of release

Umpires and players try and make it to complicated
June 3, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: One base or two?

Easiest rule to explain

1 thing you must always remember- runner does not have a base made until he actually touchess it

Remember that and the rest will be easy.

All over throws are two bases from the last base touched at time of throw.

when the infielder releases the ball the runner going to first has not stepped on first yet. If an infieldeer throws it after the runner has stepped on first and the ball goes into dead ball area he would get 3rd.

But most infielders are not going to throw it after the runner has alreadty touched the base.

I explain it this way when umpires ask me what about the runner going to first he only gets 2nd

I say lets pretend the runner falls down when he hits the ball and is still on the ground when the SS throws the ball over the 1st basemans head into dead ball area.
Umpires gives him 1st and 2nd


see how easy that is LOL
April 25, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: IS IT A CATCH

At this time that is the rule in all National Associations
14 inch.

April 24, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: IS IT A CATCH

Adiktiv6 you do know that the BFG is illegal by the rule book.
It plainly states the gloves cannot exceed 14 inches

Would hate to get you protested in a game and the game winning catch not count.

From the rule book
1st finger top to bottom edge 14" (35.56 cm),
April 21, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: IS IT A CATCH

You cannot use any equipment detached from its proper place to catch a ball.
Same way in baseball if the catcher was to drop his glove he could not use his mask to make a catch
April 21, 2014
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: cor and compression

I heard the sock story one year when a old man by the name of Andy West. They were hitting the Dave Carrol balls out by 75 feet and the other team was complaining about the balls they were hitting. This was a open tournament with all younger guys playing. Andy was completley grey headed at the time was hitting them futher than anyone. He told the pitcher to take off his socks and pitch them to him and he would hit them out. Well to say the least both teams got a laugh out of that. But I think both teams belived him. LOL
April 17, 2014
Garocket
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: cor and compression

Yea it is amazing how many guys once they start senior ball and can hit with a Ulta II go get tattoos and put earings in so they think they can impress someone when they hit a homerun. Actually if you can't het a homerun with these bats it is strictly because you do not try.
I applaud they guys that play the game the way it was meant to be played. Hitting base hits and moving the runners over.

Most of you know what the SB12 was. If you could hit that ball out of a 285 or 290 fence, then you could crow.

On a 285 fence, most of the times in an unlimited homerun game you only saw 1 or 2 homeruns a game.

An SB12 with a 38once Bombat was when the game was pure. You played defense and played softball the way it was intended.

I agree with tg69 with the balls and bats we use today if you don't hit it over the light poles it should only count as a double LOL

Fairchild could hit a sock out with a broom stick
April 4, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: OBSTRUCTION

Ok i more time and I will let it die LOL

Runner gets a bae hit to right field, he rounds first with no intent to go to second. The right fielder guns it back to first and catches him off base. he gets in a short rundown that is never more than 20 ft off 1st base and he gets obstructed by the 1st baseman that gets in his way back to 1st. Now we have to tell the defense that his intentions was never to go to second but because he was bumped into and obstruction was call we are going to give him second base.


If you will buy that I have some Oceanfront property in Death Valley to sell LOL


Don't take me to serious Dave just pointing out the flaw in the rule. And I know a lot of rules have flaws. And I will say the way SSUSA has this one written makes it very easy to apply
April 1, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: OBSTRUCTION

I was just looking thru the internet and found this

Why is SSUSA different, I looked at little league and it is the same as SSUSA

OBSTRUCTION DURING RUN DOWN
USSSA 8.13 award base would have reached
ASA 8.5.b.1 / NFHS 8.4.3 award base would have reached
NCAA 9.3.1 award base runner would have reached unless warned previously then additional one base award
April 1, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: OBSTRUCTION

Stick If the runner never tried to leg it out to second the umpire just cannot assume he would make it so the runner stays at first, However if he had tried to go to second and was close the ump would have his arm out and call obstruction but since he got back to 1st no other ruling.


Neck there is not rule that says how hard you have to hit the ball. It says you cannot bunt or chop downward on the ball.

Does not sound like the play above was either one of them so the runner would be safe.

Next thing you know someone will want a rule about a player hitting it to hard LOL
April 1, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: OBSTRUCTION

Nancy I do not have a horse in the race either. I have been umpiring since 1985 and I understand that an umpire must call a ruling by the way it is written in the book. And I do, But bringing it up for discussion and pointing out the good parts compared to the bad or not so good points is what brings them up for discussion at the National Conventions. Not saying anything would get changed but at least a discussion is taken place.

The 4 base award gets brought up each year and I enforce it the way it is written.
But it does take some defense out of the game

Example if an outfielder climbs the fence and tries to make a great catch and he touches it but does not catch it he is penelized for trying to play great defense as the homerun is now a four base award and the offensive team is allowed to have another homerun.

Do not agree with the ruling but I understand it and call it that way.
April 1, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: OBSTRUCTION

Nancy, has nothing to to with heart and more to do with common sense.

I have been to many umpire schools some weekends and some the week long versions and they always teach if it does not make sense then you are usally wrong. Well this rule does not make sense.

All obstruction should be ruled the same.
I feel it should be: You can never be called out between the bases you are obstructed between, and you are protected until the base the Umpire thought you could have made without the obstruction.

If a player gets obstructed at first and he gets thrown out by 10 steps at second you do not award him second you put him back at first. However if he bumps into the 1st baseman and gets tagged as he is sliding into 2nd. close play. You award allow him second as that is where he would have gotten without the obstruction.




March 31, 2014
Garocket
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Las Vegas Field Assignments

Point well made
Point well taken
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners