http://www.mikensports.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 9 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You Make the call

Posted Discussion
Aug. 8, 2009
2awesom
Men's 50
296 posts
You Make the call
This happened today in Raleigh, NC at the Eastern Nationals. Play at the plate, the catcher is stretching for the throw similiar to what a first basemen does. As he is stretching his foot/toes area are on the mat, as he continues to stretch for the ball, his toes move the mat back towards the backstop unintentionaly, BUT his toes/foot remain now on the white home plate. With toes on
plate NOW, the ball beats the runner to the outside plate. What's the call SAFE or OUT?

The Umpire ruled the runner SAFE, what's everyone out there think?

Thanks BTW we lost by 5 runs so the play at the plate did'nt really factor into the final outcome of the game.
Aug. 8, 2009
turn2
486 posts
I would say since the white plate is where the mat goes over the runner would be out if the catchers foot was on the white part of plate.
Some of the calls there were pretty bad at times.
Later
Donnie
Turn Two
Aug. 8, 2009
gb69
Men's 60
41 posts
1.61 STRIKE ZONE MAT
A Strike Zone Mat will be used. The rectangular mat will be nineteen (19) inches wide and thirty-four-and-a-half (34-1/2) inches.The mat shall be made of rubber or other suitable material.
The mat will be placed over Home Plate and be aligned with the front edge of Home Plate. DEFENSE: A defensive player making a play at Home Plate will be allowed to complete the force-out play by touching any portion of the strike mat, not just home plate. If a defensive player kicks or moves the mat during the force play, the batter-runner scoring will be declared safe.
Aug. 8, 2009
TommyMass
24 posts
Seems like a strange rule interpretation to me. I would think that this mat (homeplate) would be considered a moveable base. As a moveable base the catcher even though not in contact w/base had the ball prior to the runner reaching his base (scoring plate) I would think the call would be out. I don't know the SS-USA's rules on moveable bags, but usually players are told to go where the belongs. I hope the rule is consistant for all four bases.
Now to answer your question: it appears the correct call was made.
Aug. 8, 2009
mad dog
Men's 65
3958 posts
if this is the way ss-usa wants to call this(1.61 srike zone mat),it has to be one of the dumbest i've ever heard.the batter can hit that mat when he takes off after a hit and push the mat off the plate,what then.as long as the cather is in contact with the plate it should be called an out,what a dumb rule.
if this is gonna happen then ss-usa needs to make sure the mat can't move then.
Aug. 9, 2009
Fred Scerra
Men's 80
542 posts
That doesn't make any sense. I can't find anything in the rule books but I go back to my little league days and the rule was if there was a movable base and you make a play were the base (Mat) should have been the runner was out.

What I have see done in a OHio Tournament and now I am doing it was to cut the plate area out of the mat and then just slide the mat up against the home plate like we use to and that would avoid this kind of play.
Aug. 9, 2009
Gary Heifner
248 posts
The senario mad dog brought up happened this year. A batter kicked the mat towards 1st so that about 2/3 rds of the white showed and the mat was at a 45 degree angle.. What then????
Aug. 9, 2009
curveball
Men's 65
410 posts
Fred, the problem with cutting out the plate aqrea and sliding the mat up against the plate is that the mat is quite a bit wider than the plate! So, strike zone would have a strange shape.
Aug. 10, 2009
Fred Scerra
Men's 80
542 posts
CurveBall: You use the full mat and you cut out the center the size of the plate which still leaves you the two side pieces on each side of the plate

|/\|

Looks something like that. You still have the full dimensions of the mat width.
Aug. 10, 2009
JohnBob
Men's 60
248 posts
I agree with turn2 if the mat was moved unintentionaly then common sense says runner is out because matt is not anchored down.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners