http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 57 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: fair or foul ball

Posted Discussion
June 4, 2011
L A 29
Men's 50
21 posts
fair or foul ball
pop fly down left field line.SS tries to make the play.Ball tips off his glove and lands in foul territory. When he touched the ball he was stradling foul line. Fair or foul ball ??? I thought no matter where player is when he touches the ball didn't matter but only where ball lands is what matters.Anyone out there with the proper interpertation of this rule,if so can you help me out with this one.
June 4, 2011
salio2k
Men's 60
548 posts
If the ball was foul when it hit his glove, it is still a foul ball.
June 4, 2011
tg69
304 posts
Its the position of the ball when it was touched,not the player.
June 5, 2011
Gary19
Men's 50
2615 posts
No way of knowing from this description. Where the fielder was, or where the ball landed, have nothing to do with it. It is just where the ball was when it was touched. That is the only determining factor.
June 6, 2011
stick8
1261 posts
Salio2k, tg69 and Gary19 are all correct. It's the spot where the fielder touches the ball, not where it lands.
June 6, 2011
jim16
Men's 65
169 posts
Fair or foul is always the position of the ball, never the position of the fielder.
June 6, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3930 posts
had one called this weekend in reno that really puzzled me.i was on 3rd,foot up against the dugout side of the bag(i guess you can say foul side),batter hits ball that bounces about 25' in front of me a foot fair,goes by me at third still a foot in fair territory and than hooks foul about 30 past the bag,blue calls it foul,oh i never moved my foot from the side of the bag.........
June 6, 2011
Omar Khayyam
984 posts
mad dog, no puzzle here. Ump blew it.
June 6, 2011
Joncon
285 posts
Mad dog. Who had a better angle on the play? You at 3B or the ump standing right in line?

If you were standing right on the bag and you looked straight up to see the path clearly in fair territory, you might have a point.

The bag was at the halfway point between where it first hit fair and where it landed foul.

Logic says that it was a very close call and would be deffered to the one with the better angle (as well as the one designated to make the call :) )
June 6, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3930 posts
joncon,once the ball hits fair territory and reamians fair going past the bag,doesn't matter where it goes after that.i would say we both had the same view from opposite ends(we were looking straight at each other).i had the ball go by me while i was still touching the bag and it went by me in fair territory,nothing hard about that call to me.
well i scored a pitch later and asked him how come,he said the ball never bounced between me and the plate and went by me as a line drive,with that explaination there was nothing else to be said,he didn't see it bounce.oh well
June 6, 2011
Joncon
285 posts
"""he said the ball never bounced between me and the plate and went by me as a line drive"""

Well....thats a bit different.

I was just saying that, if it was a line drive that hit and hopped 55', you were probably ducking for cover and not in the best position to make the fair/foul call.

If the ump didn't see it hit the ground, that's pretty sad.

Was the umps name Dan? :)
June 6, 2011
mad dog
Men's 60
3930 posts
no joncon i never moved,the ball went by me and i was never really in any danger of being hit,persay.i don't know the umps name,but we talk of couple of seconds after i scored and he said he didn't see it hit the ground,and like i said,once he said that,there was no arguement to be had,as he was right with his seeing of the play.not sure how he missed it not bouncing,but hey we all brain fart sometimes.seen one ump this weekend call a strike on a pitch that was 8-10" past the mat,and took a couple of seconds to correct himself,both teams had a good laugh on it,actually even the ump did.ya should of seen the batters face tho,it was priceless..LOL....
June 7, 2011
neck10
490 posts
the only time the fielders position comes into play if he were to be standing out of bounds and (touch)catch the ball then it doesnt matter where the ball is you have to be in play,and that umps name was probably swanny
June 7, 2011
doker
Men's 60
168 posts
HEY NECK10....IT'S STILL THE POSITION OF THE BALL WHEN TOUCHED NOT FIELDERS POSITION.....
June 10, 2011
Webbie25
Men's 60
1956 posts
doker-a player cannot be standing out of bounds and make a play.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners