http://www.seniorsoftballstore.com

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 4 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Foul out to catcher

Posted Discussion
Jan. 5, 2012
Stretch001
2 posts
Foul out to catcher
Our league heard that the rule regarding a foul out to the catcher had recently changed. The prior rule was that the foul ball had to arc over the catchers head. The purported rule change eliminated that, and supposedly now says only that the catcher must cleanly catch the ball regardless how high it arcs. Is this true?
Jan. 5, 2012
SSUSA Staff
1320 posts
No - The rule remains unchanged in the SSUSA Rulebook. Still must rise above the batter's head and be caught to be an out (unless, of course, the batter already has two strikes in the count).
Jan. 6, 2012
cw
Men's 50
49 posts
Stretch - just be aware that this rule is not the same across all associations. I don't know why I know this, but I am pretty sure that in some associations (not sure which ones, maybe USSSA?) a foul tip does not have to go above the batter's head to be caught for an out. FWIW.
Jan. 9, 2012
ham24
25 posts
In ASA the foul ball does not have to go above the batters head. If catcher has to make in effort and catches the ball the batter is out.
Jan. 9, 2012
Gary19
Men's 50
2615 posts
Interesting. How do they define "effort"?
Jan. 9, 2012
Joncon
289 posts
He didn't quite quote the ASA rule properly.

Foul ball and foul tip are different animals.

A foul tip is not an out unless it's the 3rd strike.

A foul TIP must go sharply and directly into the batters hand or glove.

The ASA rule says "A ball with a PERCEPTIBLE ARC is a foul BALL and if caught is an out". They eliminated the "over the head" thing5 or 6 years ago.



In USSSA, a foul TIP is a special classification of strikes where the ball A) went sharply and directly to the catcher's hand or glove, B) had no perceptible arc to it, C) was legally caught by the catcher and D) never got above the batter's head.

An actual foul tip is highly unlikely in SLOW PITCH. The ball is pretty much always going to have some arc.

Jan. 9, 2012
mad dog
Men's 65
3958 posts
joncon i have seen them tho,yes they are very few and far between,but do happen.mostly in low rec ball.

i also thought usssa still had the old rule of over the head.....
Jan. 10, 2012
stick8
1325 posts
Mad Dog in USSSA if a batter has a 0-0, 1-0 or 2-0 count any foul tip that doesn't go above the batters head & is caught by the catcher is only a strike. If the batter has a strike on him/her that same foul tip caught by the catcher is an out.
Jan. 10, 2012
mad dog
Men's 65
3958 posts
ah got cha,so it would be the same as catching a third strike foul tip in baseball,as utrip goes 3-2 for their count,right....
Jan. 11, 2012
stick8
1325 posts
That is correct Mad dog
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners