http://www.softballcamp.com/

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: 800; 8 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: IS IT A CATCH

Posted Discussion
April 18, 2014
1jonsey
10 posts
IS IT A CATCH
last weekend i was watching a game, an outfielder came running in on a short fly ball he slid under the ball and actually caught the ball cradled in his stomach and arms then reached over and secured the ball with his bare hand. I remarked nice catch, next to me was an umpire who was on a break and he responded actually it was a nice play but if a manager wanted to argue the call it was an illegal catch, since the ball was trapped and not actually caught with the glove of bare hand so i checked the rule, when did this change? you used to be able to catch a ball with your belly and as long as you showed control of ball after it was ruled a catch. here is new rule RULE 1.10 CATCH A catch is a legally caught ball that occurs when the fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with his hand(s) or glove and the resulting release of the ball must be voluntary. NOTE: It is not a catch if a fielder, after he contacts the ball, collides with another player, umpire or a fence, or falls to the ground and loses possession of the ball as a result of the collision or falling to the ground. A ball that strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in flight, is ruled the same as if it struck the ground. An illegally caught ball occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than his hand(s) or glove in its proper place.
April 18, 2014
Dbax
Men's 60
1280 posts
I say it's a catch and the umpire is a moron!
April 18, 2014
swing for the fences
Men's 50
1003 posts
I don't know if he's a moron but I know there are rules from using your hat to catch it and clothing on purpose... however I agree with you that it is a catch.. If you attempt to catch the ball and trap it on your body and secure before hitting the ground it's a catch!
April 19, 2014
lemons
Men's 65
302 posts
If the ball did not hit the ground or any other illegal objects, it most certainly is a catch. If he could cradle the ball in his stomach and arms, why couldn't he get his glove on it? :>) Mel

April 19, 2014
mad dog
Men's 60
3937 posts
HEY I USE MY BELLY GLOVE ALL THE TIME WITH HI-HOPPERS.....GUESS I BETTER STOP......
April 19, 2014
1jonsey
10 posts
i agree with you guys, but if you read the last sentence of the rule it says An ILLEGALLY CAUGHT BALL occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than his hand(s) or glove in its proper place. does that mean no more belly catches?? i thought the rule used to give an explanation about trap and control?
April 19, 2014
Az Iz
36 posts

Rules change so much anymore....
As far as I know he can catch the ball with his hat for an out!

April 21, 2014
Webbie25
Men's 60
1983 posts
Wow-talk about reading something into a rule. Eventually, unless you have incredible dexterity with your feet, you must grab the ball from your belly or whatever part of the body you do trap it against with either your bare hand or your glove before it hits the ground. I've never seen anyone catch a ball with his belly and not use his hands. Or come running in with the ball balancing on his head and toss it with a nod to the umpire. If, say, an outfielder dives for a ball and it hits him and comes to rest on his back, it is not an out until he or another person secures it BEFORE it hits the ground or fence. And the way people secure it is with the hand or the glove. Now, if you catch a ball with the glove on your foot, it is not a legal catch unless you catch all balls hit or thrown at you with the glove on your foot, which would define the foot as the proper place for your glove.
It would really be an intense rhubarb if that umpire who said it was not a catch ever tried to make that call on the field. By securing the ball with the bare hand it was 'caught' legally at that point.
One other point I am surprised some guys don't know is that on a tag play, the runner may leave the bag at the initial touch of the ball by a fielder on a fly ball. He does not have to wait until the ball is secured.
April 21, 2014
SSUSA Staff
1268 posts
Actually, the intent of the rule is to prevent the defender from using his uniform shirt (or his hat!) to make a "basket catch" ... The game is designed for a defender to catch a ball without using an unfair advantage equivalent to a butterfly net! ... It's an excellent suggestion to NOT spend a lot of time dreaming up a scenario to fit a preconceived faulty assumption ...

Incidental contact with a non-gloved part of the body prior to securing the ball with a hand or a glove will result in a proper "catch and out" call ... A batted ball, before hitting the ground, bouncing off the shoulder, or the gut, or even the top of the head if you are Jose Canseco, and subsequently caught by glove and/or hand is good enough for a catch under the rule and its intent ...

April 21, 2014
Az Iz
36 posts

WHAT?

I can't use my hat?



SO NOW I GOT TO GO OUT AND BUY A BALL GLOVE???

THAT SUCKS!!!!


April 21, 2014
taits
Men's 65
4387 posts
Here I thought it was about control of the ball when you had it. Belly, glove hand or even a hat. As long as it wasn't flopping all over or in and out or means by which caught.
Intent is to catch ball however possible to make a play or an out.
Well guys here comes another cycle of 'pitcher protection rule(s)' just renamed to fit situation. lol
April 21, 2014
Webbie25
Men's 60
1983 posts
So Dave, what you are saying is that if I am chasing a flyball in left field and accidentally step on my glove so it falls off my hand (unintentionally), that I could not take my cap off (thinking quickly) and make the catch with it? My head is only a 7 1/8 and smaller than my 13 1/2 inch glove, so it sure isn't a 'butterfly net'.
April 21, 2014
Garocket
Men's 55
157 posts
You cannot use any equipment detached from its proper place to catch a ball.
Same way in baseball if the catcher was to drop his glove he could not use his mask to make a catch
April 22, 2014
1jonsey
10 posts

Staff, I appreciate your explanation of the rule but why the sarcasm ? (It's an excellent suggestion to NOT spend a lot of time dreaming up a scenario to fit a preconceived faulty assumption ...) I thought that was the purpose of this site, to ask questions? The scenario that was "DREAMT UP" happens all the time and I have even seen 1st baseman also trap a ball in their arms and then show control for the out. If a rule is not fully understood because of a change then maybe it's not written properly, not everyone knows the "INTENT" of what you may be thinking, there is no explanation for a trapped ball in the body all the rule states now is if not caught with glove or hand it is an illegal catch.
April 22, 2014
Webbie25
Men's 60
1983 posts
You guys are falling asleep out there. I really expected some debate on whether a glove on a persons foot would be considered legal if he used it that way all the time, as if he only had one arm. I have played against a guy in Albuquerque that really did have one arm, and he would occasionally hit it to the fence.

Ok, I'm bored.
April 23, 2014
Adiktiv6
Men's 50
66 posts
I use the Worth BFG, 15 incher!! I hope they make a 16 inch glove next year and name it the "Butterfly Net" !!

A dik
April 24, 2014
Garocket
Men's 55
157 posts
Adiktiv6 you do know that the BFG is illegal by the rule book.
It plainly states the gloves cannot exceed 14 inches

Would hate to get you protested in a game and the game winning catch not count.

From the rule book
1st finger top to bottom edge 14" (35.56 cm),
April 25, 2014
Adiktiv6
Men's 50
66 posts
Say What???? lol

The glove just looks bigger because of my small Burger King hands!!

Is this one of those crazy SSUSA rules? If so, it does not matter as we won't play SSUSA tourneys, but if we did, I now know I would have to use my smaller glove and run a little faster to get to the balls!!

One question, tho, in SSUSA is it legal to wear 9 1/2 size shoes or do they have a rule against that, too??

A dik
April 25, 2014
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
612 posts
Webbie, you know the rules. You can only wear a glove on your foot if you wear a boot on your hand.
April 25, 2014
Garocket
Men's 55
157 posts
At this time that is the rule in all National Associations
14 inch.
April 25, 2014
Adiktiv6
Men's 50
66 posts
Dangit....guess I will have to run faster!! Or wait till someone protests!!

A dik
April 26, 2014
Webbie25
Men's 60
1983 posts
A dik-I was going to say something also, but didn't want to 'out' you here. You never know who is going to protest what to get an edge.
Nancy-don't forget the Dr. Scholl's hand pads for that hand boot, either. Keep 'gellin'.
April 26, 2014
stick8
1298 posts
1jonsey, in your scenario I have a legal catch. And I have to question the wisdom of umpire next to you stating the manager could protest the call. Unless he's asked Umpires shouldn't be volunteering info like that off the cuff.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners