http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 5 members: Chopper1, Jimi, clempops, gman1, tg69; 52 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Runner Hit by Batted Ball

Posted Discussion
Jan. 20, 2014
Paul P
Men's 65
39 posts
Runner Hit by Batted Ball
We all know the standard rule, the ball passing an infielder, deflected by an infielder, etc, etc, but here is one that I'm suprised doesn't happen more often. Runner on Third Base, batted ball hits the runner, while the runner is affixed to the 3rd base bag. What is the proper call? Obviously the runner is not out. The base being in fair territory is it a fair ball, or is it a dead ball, foul ball?
Jan. 20, 2014
BoiseBat
Men's 60
5 posts
Depending on where the third baseman is playing. In our/normal situation with third baseman playing behind the bag. The ball is dead and batter/runner is put on first, all runners forced will advance one base.
Jan. 20, 2014
VINNY LV
Men's 50
178 posts
depending if runner is in fair territory also.. if foot is on base and runner has body in foul territory it's foul ball if not then BB has it correct..
Jan. 23, 2014
Paul P
Men's 65
39 posts
Thanks for the input, both answers raise interesting possibilities.

The "flight of the ball" determines fair or foul, agreed? 99% of the time, the fielder is behind the bag. So that part of the equation is out of the mix.

Most experienced ball players step towards the 3rd base coaches box, so that if they are hit, foot on the bag or not, its just a foul ball. However there are those that remain in fair territory.

Assuming a fair ball strikes the runner on third, and he is attached to the bag, in a bases-loaded situation, all runners advance one base, including the batter. In ther case of a "first and third" situation, the batter moves to first, and the runner on first moves to second while the runner on third remains.

This is how I understand it, and if wrong, could someone correct me.
Jan. 23, 2014
Garocket
Men's 55
115 posts
Thta is correct.

Now lets throw one more out there
Runner on 3rd
Batter hits a shot down third base line that hits the bag meanwhile the runner has jumped into foul ground. the fair ball that hits the base bounces back and hits the runner.

Whats the call?
Jan. 23, 2014
stick8
1238 posts
Paul P, USSSA rules are where the spot of the ball is when it hits the runner. If ball is in fair territory that is a fair ball. if its in foul territory it's a foul ball. SSISA may be different.
Jan. 23, 2014
Duke
Men's 60
678 posts
If the runner is hit with a fair batted ball while touching a base, he is not
out. EFFECT: The ball is live or dead depending on the position of the
fielder closest to the ball. If the closest defensive player is in front of
the base runner hit by the ball, the ball remains live. However, after the
runner in contact with the base is hit by the batted ball, it shall be the
same as hitting the ground. Since the ball remains live, the defense is
free to make whatever plays are available. If the defensive player is
behind the base runner, the ball is ruled dead, the hitter is awarded a
base hit and runners are advanced ONLY if forced to advance.

This is the complete answer.

Andy Smith
Jan. 23, 2014
Omar Khayyam
958 posts
Ouch! All these scenarios of a runner on third getting hit by a batted ball give me the shivers. Yes, I have been hit more than once while on third and a sizzler comes at me, but I don't have the courage to just stand and take it. The only reason I got hit was because I didn't jump high enough or squat low enough.
Jan. 27, 2014
Mulewhipper
47 posts
ANYTIME a batter is hit with a batted ball in fair play, there is an out...regardless if he is standing on a base or not.
Jan. 27, 2014
Mulewhipper
47 posts
Check that last post...ANYTIME a "Base runner" is hit with a batted ball before an infielder touches it...there is an out.
Jan. 27, 2014
SSUSA Staff
1006 posts
Mulewhipper ... ANYTIME does NOT include the circumstance of the base runner being in contact with a base, so that's not really ANYTIME as you incorrectly stated ... The answer given by Duke above is the complete and correct answer ...
Jan. 27, 2014
Mulewhipper
47 posts
Staff: are the rules for softball different than standard baseball rules then?
Jan. 27, 2014
Mulewhipper
47 posts
Yup...I read the rules and they are exactly as Andy has cut and pasted in the above post.
So it is different than a standard baseball rule then.
Jan. 27, 2014
SSUSA Staff
1006 posts
Yes, the baseball rule is different from the softball rule ...
__________

If a runner is hit by a FAIR batted ball while he is in FAIR territory he is out. This includes while he is standing on a base. The bases are in FAIR territory. If he is hit in fair territory, while on the base, before the ball has passed an infielder, he is out, except if he is hit by an infield-fly. If he is hit by a fair batted ball while he is in foul territory he is not out unless he intentionally interferes with the ball or a play.

Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
2701 K Street, Suite 101A
Sacramento, CA 95816
Send us e-mail
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts International Softball Tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners