http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Rustito, softball4b; 96 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for B.J.


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by B.J. »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, Sept. 16, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Bats
Discussion: Carrying bat

I think it's a non issue I haven't seen it happen in years and then only when they played everyone must touch 1 on a HR
, Sept. 11, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

stick..lol... I do believe it, read my post above... I teach this mechanic in my umpire clinics...that is why MOVEMENT and POSITIONING is so important
, Sept. 7, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

either umpire can make the call...the mechanics that I teach at my clinics with a 2 man system are that normally the base umpire has the call but the home plate should advance out from behind the plate (if no runner on 3rd) and stay focused on 2nd base because many times the interference comes late in the play as the base umpire is turning to get into position to see the call at 1st base
, Sept. 7, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

ok we've changed the original scenario... once the runner is called out he DOES NOT have to leave the base line as long as he does not bump into (interfere)with the defensive player... it is the fielders job to throw over or around him... if a thrown ball hits the runner you have a live ball play on... as long as the runner didn't throw his arms up or move into the path of the ball...
, Sept. 6, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

umpire 14... don't be confused, in your O/P this was your answer ( I have always called interference with or without a throw) and it was correct... you just needed to add that if in your judgement the defense could have turned a double play .... again the e-mail I posted above was from Dave with the same answer ....have a good trip to Vegas
, Sept. 6, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

slow learner... interference can be called even if the act is unintentional....I went back thru some of my old e-mails with Senior Softball (Dave) and found this reply on a scenario I wrote to him in 2014 asking the same question...I'm sure he will not mind me sharing his answer

Hi Bill ... We have discussed this specific fact pattern on more than one occasion and have reached the conclusion that an actual attempt or actual throw is NOT required ... The principal rationale is safety based ... If the runner is "right in the face" of the defender who has failed to give himself up and get out of the way, a requirement to throw is simply too risky for the base runner getting hit, even though the argument can be made that such a result is of his own creation ... We leave it to the umpire's judgment that the runner interfered to the extent that an accurate throw was not possible, or was prevented from even being attempted safely ... Hope this helps ... Thanks ... DAVE


, Sept. 5, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

umpire 14...in the past senior softball did require a throw but that has changed...now if in the judgement of the umpire a double play could have been made then you should call it even if the defense doesn't throw the ball... as far as play #2 again it is all judgement if you believe that the defense had an opportunity to make a play on the runner going home then you would have the 2nd out at home if not then you would have the out at 2nd and 1st
, Aug. 25, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

Steve... also read 8.4(10) • WHEN RUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE... and the NOTE: of EFFECT...
EFFECT: When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call "obstruction" and give a delayed dead ball signal for obstruction. NOTE:
Failure of the umpire to call obstruction DOES NOT negate the obstruction
, Aug. 25, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

Steve... Im confused you say that the defensive player was in the way of the runner going back to the bag so I assume he didn't have possession of the ball...then you say the umpire after the play called interference on the defensive player... if in fact the defense was in his way "obstruction" should have been the call (not interference) and it would be a delayed dead ball situation ... the umpire "immediately" should have stuck out his left arm and also given a verbal call at the time of the obstruction... when the runner was tagged out the umpire should give a safe call and award him the proper base that in his judgement he would have reached...as far as the run scoring the umpires should determine if the run would have scored if they had done the proper mechanics of the play.. on the appeal after the play... I always say you get what you pay for... I find volunteer umpires have a hard time with calls like this because of inexperience and they sometimes just don't know what to call until after they talk about the play......bottom line they tried to get the correct call after the play...
, Aug. 22, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Players with the same number on a team

Dave, great answer.... I've had this happen many times when umpiring and the strip of tape fixes it easily
, Aug. 15, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Looking for a Senior League Rule

we had the same problem in our top division rec league..we wrote up what we called the protected batter rule... who ever was chosen in your line up if walked more than once whether intentionally or not they went to 2nd base and all runners advanced 2 bases... if walked again they then went to 3rd base... if during an at bat after the first walk the pitcher threw the batter a strike then he could be walked with no penalty and the batter went to 1st...the protected player learned quickly that if he got a good pitch he better be ready to swing
, Aug. 14, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 1st basemens mitt

jonsey... as HATMAN posted above legal play... as far as a penalty for using an illegal glove as in a OF using a mitt and catching a fly ball... the offense has the choice of staying with the out and keeping any advance of bases and runs scored... or having a do over where the batter assumes the count he had before the catch
, Aug. 6, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Need a ruling

there is no 1 ruling on a play like this... and its exactly why you need ground rules... I've seen it called different ways... HR, ground rule double, and umpire judgement
, Aug. 2, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: what is correct call

B94 you are correct....the pitcher would be considered an infielder in this scenario because the ball went off his shin guard ...9.2 • THE BALL IS IN PLAY......D. When a fair ball strikes an umpire or base runner on fair ground after passing or touching an infielder.
, Aug. 1, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: what is correct call

since the batted ball did not pass a fielder (pitcher does not count)it is a dead ball batter awarded 1st base and all runners advance if forced to do so....runner is not out once ball makes contact with a defensive player...if the ball passed a defensive player then hit the runner you would have a live ball play on
, July 30, 2017
B.J.
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: PITCHING SCREEN USE

scrappy...here is a rule I wrote up for one of our senior divisions that chooses to use the screen....


PITCHING SCREEN RULE.
A. The screen will directly face home plate within one to three feet in front of the pitching rubber, if a pitcher chooses to use the full depth of the ten foot pitchers box then the screen must be positioned in the one to three foot limits of where he/she chooses to pitch.
B. The screen may be positioned anywhere from the outer left side of the pitching rubber for a right handed pitcher to the outer right side of the pitching rubber for a left handed pitcher.
C. The screen must be placed to the left of a right-handed pitcher, and to the right of a left-handed pitcher to maximize the pitcher’s safety. D. Any batted ball striking any portion of the screen as observed by the umpire will be declared a dead ball foul unless it is the third strike, in which case it is a dead ball re-pitch. All thrown balls are in play.
E. Any pitch delivered with the screen not in a legal position will be declared “no pitch.” If a pitcher refuses to place the screen in the correct position, the umpire will notify the player’s manager and remove the pitcher from the pitching position. F. If a pitcher chooses to use a screen then they “MUST” step behind the screen after every pitch, failure to do so will be called a ball (umpire judgment). A pitcher is ineligible to field any hard driven ball that is hit up the middle. (umpire judgment) Penalty for doing so will be a dead ball single for the batter and all runners will advance one base if forced to do so. Pitcher will be allowed to field a slow rolling grounder with no penalty.(umpire judgment)
G. The screen may not be knocked over or pushed to the side to allow a throw from the outfield.



, July 27, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Courtesy runners

Turbo... we have 5 divisions of rec ball in our leagues and the top 2 divisions have changed the rule to a C/R can run twice a game and that could even be twice in the same inning...in cases of extra innings we allow 1 more time... we basically did it because of the summer Fla heat and humidity was wearing guys down that ran every inning, just because they were a little faster than the guy on base
, July 26, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Courtesy runners

turbo... im not quite sure what you are asking?

, July 26, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 8.6 - Avoiding Collisions

Kjones... now that you fully explained the scenario... I believe the umpire made the correct call... it was just 2 hustling ball players trying to make a play... the pitcher was just trying to get to the bag ahead of you and the angle he would be running at from the pitching area would lead him across the bag... again the rule does state that you can run wide of the bag to avoid a collsion and still be called safe...but in your scenario it would be tough to do
, July 25, 2017
B.J.
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter hitting the strike mat

in answer to your question... no... nothing in the rules
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners