http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Schibs; 51 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for stick8


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by stick8 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Nov. 11, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is a check-swing or deliberate half-swing legal?

True, there is no rule that states players must take a full swing. The rule is no bunting and does not take a full swing. I can understand that can get real technical and confusing in determining what a full swing and a check swing are. I look at a check swing like a baseball check swing. Going on a limb here I cant believe there is anyone in slow pitch who can hit a ball into the outfield executing a check swing like that. In baseball yes it’s very possible.
Nancy I would agree it doesn’t happen much. I did call a guy out once for doing that. A righty. The third baseman was playing deep on the edge of the grass. The batter choked up on the bat and did a half swing with no follow thru.
To me a check swing like that is just like a bunt.

Jm $0.02 worth
Nov. 11, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is a check-swing or deliberate half-swing legal?

Jgoff5113, as long as the batter takes a full swing he’s fine. A check swing or a bunt is illegal. It’s a dead ball out, even if it goes foul. Your description sounds like a check swing. I have a dead ball out. Runners stay.
That being said there is no rule stipulating how fast a swing must be. As long as it’s a full swing it’s ok.
I’m reminded of when I was playing 50 major plus. Numerous times we played against the Mavericks, without much success. Their lead off batter, a lefty, used to dink balls just over the infield. We used to get so mad at that!
But he took a full swing. And if you played him in he’d smash it over your head.
Best damn bat control I’ve ever seen, bar none!!
Nov. 10, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Rule Interpretation

This may sound odd. As horrific as this call sounds like and as confusing as it must have been, imho the play is played out going with the call. An umpire should not change a call in the middle of the play, that will add even more confusion.
The infield fly rule is put in to protect the baserunners, not the defense.
Since IF was called the batter is out and runners advance at their own risk. If the runner at first went to second he must be tagged out. After the play is dead then the umpire can then convey to both teams that he made a huge mistake. This being said I’m not certain if this is a correctable situation or not. BJ might have more insight on that.
Unfortunately s—t happens, a team may get the shaft.
The umpire has to eat this call.

Oct. 31, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Red meat for umpire types

BJ, I share your concerns about that!! Why it’s not reviewable is a question that only those who write the rules can answer.
Here’s the major league rule on this:
“A batter is out when—in running the last half of the distance from home base to first base, he runs outside either to the right of the three foot line, or inside to the left of the foul line and in the umpires judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base in which case the ball is dead.”
There’s a follow up also. “The batter-runner Is permitted to exit the three foot lane by means of a step, stride, reach or slide in the immediate vicinity of first base for the sole purpose of touching first base”
One would think the follow up would vindicate Turner but because he was never in the designated runners lane to begin with he was not afforded that exception. I surmise the reason the umps went to the replay is because they wanted to clarify the rule and make sure they get it right, which they actually did.
This is a case where you hate the rule but not the ruling!!

Oct. 31, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Red meat for umpire types

Dave you’re correct about touching part of the orange bag (that was a hot topic!!) Turner touched the middle of the bag which, imho, would not have been part of the orange bag in our game. By the SSUSA rule, he’d be called out.
BTW, I believe it was Kyle Schwarber who tweeted something about the need for a second bag in baseball.
Interesting!,


Oct. 30, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Red meat for umpire types

Tim to answer the question if there were two bases Turner would be automatically be out for touching the white bag.
That being said I’m not sure why the umpires went to the headsets, it’s not a reviewable play. It’s a judgement call
Oct. 28, 2019
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: What’s the call?

This is synonymous with the NFL rule. You have to “complete the process”
Oct. 25, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Commitment Line

Umpire sure did botch that one! Allow me to add that once a runner is tagged after he passes the commit line, not only is he safe, he doesn’t have to touch the scoring plate or cross the scoring line. He can go right to the dugout.
Oct. 16, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two Umpires make opposite call on same play

Good question STL0. The answer is yes. See below.
The home plate umpire is considered the “UIC” of the diamond.
We can all agree about umpires pre game talk, knowing who’s got what and doing due diligence but what to do in this situation is just as important as the pre game.
As the play was described, it sounds as if everyone agreed the home plate umpire totally botched it. I still maintain you go with what would have been the result of the play in the umpires judgement. The runner who started at second could have been sent back to third as well as being awarded home.
But this would be up to the home plate umpire—as stated above he’s the UIC of the diamond.
Either way the home plate umpire has to eat that call and has some serious ‘splainin to do.


Oct. 14, 2019
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: New Adidas Senior Bats

Titanhd I heard the same thing about Suncoast taking over the adidas line. I also heard adidas will have a small logo on the bat.

Oct. 14, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two Umpires make opposite call on same play

BJ I agree with you on moving inside the baseline to watch for tags on a routine fly ball. I wont go out on all catches but with this scenario the outfielder was charging or may well dive in wanting to make a shoestring type catch. I’m going out a few steps with my right arm up (that signals to my partner that he’s got the infield) to get a better look at it. Years ago I would blurt out “one man” but I got out of that habit when I started with USSSA. That’s the old ASA technique which is how I learned.
Definitely agree about pre game but sometimes this type of thing happens even if you go over everything in pre-game.
Oct. 14, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Two Umpires make opposite call on same play

You likely will not find this situation addressed in any association rule book. You might however find it in a case book.
As far as the call I would have expected the base ump to go out with his right arm up signaling he’s got the call and the plate ump has anything that occurs in the infield after the catch or trap. It sounds like the 2 umpires to got together and discussed the situation which is good. They might ask if the other is 100% sure of the call. Based on the described scenario, the plate ump admitted his error so the call by the base umpire should stand and the result of the play as it would have happened in their judgement if the home umpire did the proper thing and not make any call.
The Home plate umpire will have eat his call and expect any abuse he’ll likely get (short of cussing, etc) Sometimes it happens, even to the best umpires.
Umpires should never, ever overrule their partner in the middle of a play. After the play is over can certainly ask an umpire to ask for help from his partner and you might get a call changed. And you might not.
What’s puzzling is why the plate ump would call time. Didn’t he know it would have been the third out and game over?
Weird to me

Oct. 13, 2019
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: New glove

A great way to soften the leather on a new glove is spray it with WD-40.
Then to get your custom pocket play catch with a weighted ball.
It’ll break in real quick!!
Oct. 9, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is it a double play

Timmyb with due respect to that umpire it sounds like he botched the call which cost your team another opportunity to tie or win the game. I used to play for OKI so I know very well how strong your team is.
I would like to have heard the discussion between the tournament directors and that umpire.
Oct. 8, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is it a double play

Tomar77, In this situation I believe you’re incorrect when you say the runner who leaves the base on the first touch but before the actual catch is out if the ball is thrown back to the base and subsequent tagging of the base the runner occupied before the catch.
Base runners are free to advance with the liability to be put out on the first touch.
The way timmyb described the play the only way the base runner(s) could have been out is being tagged if off the base.

Oct. 7, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is it a double play

BJ, I would venture to say some umpires don’t know the rules!!

Oct. 7, 2019
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Initial Coin Flip Rule

Dave in USSSA tournament play we always use a double flip. One team to be heads, the other tails. Whoever wins that flip gets to call the second flip.
The only exception is the first game of the championship. The undefeated team is automatically home team—we call it the Resmondo rule.
If it goes to the “if” game then it’s back to a double flip.
Oct. 7, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is it a double play

In effect it’s almost like an infield fly rule
Oct. 7, 2019
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Is it a double play

Timmyb, strictly going by the way you describe the play I have the batter out but the runner at first would not be out. The ball would still be live and the runners are free to advance at their own risk.
The only two ways the runner at first would be out is:
1) if he left the base well before the batter made contact with the ball in which case it’s a dead ball out
2) if after the fielder caught the deflected ball the runner is off the base and is tagged out.
Remember once that ball hit the pitchers foot and deflected in the air runners are free to advance or they can stay on the base they occupied. Since the batter is out they are not forced to move up.
Now I’d have to see the play to make an official ruling but this is strictly based on your description.
Did the runners go back to their bags after the 2nd baseman caught the ball in the air?
Sept. 24, 2019
stick8
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: WMC Session 2 Updates from Las Vegas

Titanhd, how many teams are you a part of? lol.
Good luck in Vegas!!


Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners