SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Tony Boy; 55 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You make the call

Posted Discussion
Sept. 30, 2023
212 posts
You make the call
Question for SPA umpires.

Rule 6 Pitching
Sec 4 The pitcher may use any wind-up desired providing specifics a-d.

The pitcher presents the ball then delivers the ball legally.
The pitcher mirrors his right arm delivery with his left arm.
Swinging both arms simultaneously after presenting the ball legally.
So the ball is presented, both arms swing back and pass the hips together and both arms follow through completing the delivery and pitch.

Legal or not?
Sept. 30, 2023
1102 posts
Perl.. you might get more answers if you post this on a SPA site.. this is SSUSA.. that being said I have not worked SPA for many years but as long as the ball is released on the 1st forward swing after passing the hip I believe it is a legal pitch
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook