SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: B.J., sr24; 189 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Any ASA rule regarding defensive player kicking the ball?

Posted Discussion
Sept. 13, 2007
Larry S
44 posts
Any ASA rule regarding defensive player kicking the ball?
Is there any ASA rule regarding a defensive infielder stopping a ball with his foot that was thrown back into the infield after a hit? In a local game the runner stated he should be awarded second base because the infielder kicked the ball ?? Thanks
Sept. 13, 2007
PC Rog
Men's 50
4 posts
He stopped the ball with his foot and I assume he picked it up afterwards, right? It is not an issue. As an umpire for 20 yrs, players stopped the ball anyway they can to make the play. It could be a wild throw or a hard hit, you can use your glove or your body to make the play.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook