http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: softball4b; 91 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for stick8


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:

Messages posted by stick8 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

, Nov. 17, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Rules question

Stattad, if the appeal at second was completed before the runner at third scored then no run. If the runner at third scored before the appeal was completed then the run counts--aka--live ball appeal--timing play.
If the appeal was after the play was over--dead ball appeal--then the run would count.
, Nov. 13, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: bats on playing field

Grayhitter, This is why in USSSA, our former UIC Rick Roberson couldn't stress enough to get players in the dugout or behind the fence and bats in the dugout. On deck batter only allowed outside the dugout. And he better be alert In conference usssa it's done different. Two on deck batters allowed along with the bucket bats are put in.
In getting players and bats in the dugout this is actually doing both teams a favor in hopefully preventing a situation as you describe.
However I had a play two years ago. USSSA C nit. Man on second, 2 outs. Base hit to right field. Runner is trying to score, throw from right is up the third base line and hits the on deck batter on the ankle. Dead ball, lead runner is out. So in your situation that I can tell, the ump made the right call.
Not sure about how it works in senior ball. Perhaps BJ can elaborate on that. He's very knowledgeable on the ssusa rule book
, Nov. 13, 2017
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: cortisone shot

Phantomf4j, Been dealing with a shoulder issue all year. Had it looked at, X-ray and an MRI. Two things they found. Slight labral tear and a paralabral cyst. The doc said no surgery necessary. The low grade labral tear will heal on its own and the cyst will eventually dissolve. He did state it could take months, even a year or over a year to heal. For whatever reasons shoulders are notorious slow healers!! I haven't played a game or thrown a ball since early September and have no plans to until next year. I'm hoping rest will let it heal, along with strengthening exercises. The PT I did helped! I still do the exercises on my own.
I did have a cortisone shot and it stopped the aches but as others have pointed out, it is not a cure, just a mask for the pain.
My advice is to have it looked at by a sports orthopaedic guy,

, Nov. 8, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

Hat Man you are correct with regard to a runner must make an attempt to advance to the next base to be awarded that base. That's the rule for usssa men's ball. The other associations I'm not certain of. As BJ correctly pointed out there is no specific mention of this in the ssusa rule book, at least that I've seen. Thus in senior ball if the umpire determines obstruction occurred he gives the delayed dead ball signal and lets the play run out. Then, as the scenario is described, he makes the call and makes a judgement if the batter runner could have made it to second or not and awards him the proper base.
Interesting scenario you put up! I could see runners getting away with that in a one man system but not so much in a two man system.
, Nov. 6, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference call on double play

In the scenario described the runner going to second is obviously out and the runner closest to home (on third) is out.
, Nov. 5, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

BJ, you are correct, obstruction is the right call. And yes it is a judgement call of the umpire after the delayed dead ball signal.
, Nov. 5, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

Situation: No one on, no one out. Player A (batter) gets a base hit. Player A decides he going to try for 2 but runs into the first baseman and falls down while the first baseman is standing watching the throw come in from the outfield. Player A gets up and tries to scamper back to first. As the throw comes in to second alert pitcher runs behind the runner to first. Player A is tagged out after the second baseman relays the ball back to first.
Is player A out? Or is this interference on the first baseman?
You make the call......

, Oct. 6, 2017
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: The Rock.

CAT, all fair points you make. But instead of "alley ooping" I believe you meant to say "ol-eying"
, Sept. 29, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Infield fly interpretation

Have to share this play I had in umping an industrial (General Motors) league game several years ago. Bases loaded, no outs.
Pop up to short. I call I "infield fly, batter is out".
Trying to be coy, the ss lets the ball drop.
Suddenly all the runners took off running.
Short flips to third for what they thought was a force, third to second for what they thought was a force and throw to first (batter never ran because he knew he was already out)
Defensive team thought they had a triple play and ran to their dugout celebrating.
All three runners scored--ball is still live as was pointed out above
After I told the defensive team to get back on the field the argument I got... oh man..........
some things I encounter when I ump are priceless
, Sept. 28, 2017
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Throwing arm has gone bad.

Had issues throwing this past January. Figured it was a shoulder strain and it would go away. Come April it still hurt to throw so I went to an orthopedic surgeon for an exam and did an MRI. Two things I had. A low-grade labrum tear and a about a 1/2 inch paralabral cyst lodged in my shoulder. No surgery necessary, a month of physical therapy. Doc said the cyst is causing the inflammation when I throw. He compared it to someone trying to close a door with a wad of paper stuck in the door hinge. He stated the cyst will eventually dissolve on its own and I should be ok. While my shoulder is better, my throwing isn't where I need to be. The doc said the cyst could take months, up to a year to go away. From what others have stated and thru this experience, its apparent shoulders are notoriously slow healers. No softball activities for me until next spring. Hopefully time will heal it.
, Sept. 27, 2017
stick8
Topic: Tournaments
Discussion: Tournament seedings

Lonz00 I understand your point but then there would be no incentive to play the play-in games. Personally I'd rather win the play-ins and get the higher seed--perhaps a later starting time, perhaps a boost of confidence going into the bracket round.
OneFive makes a valid point about value for expenses that are doled out. Putting that aside, you have a full team in uniform, I have a full team in uniform. We're playing a game in a sanctioned event where the score is kept, umpires are calling the game--I'm out there to win. Jmho

, Sept. 27, 2017
stick8
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: out or not?

Curty, mitch1414 is correct. If that ball struck the runner in fair territory that cannot be ruled a foul ball. It's a fair ball, the play would be dead, the runner at third would be out and batter gets first base. If it struck the runner in foul territory it's a foul ball, the batter is out for a third strike foul(unless he has 0 or 1 strike) and the runner on third stays on third. Interestingly enough in a couple of local mens leagues I umpire we allow any runner at third to stand at a chalked spot about 3 feet in foul territory adjacent to third base. It works out fine.
, Sept. 22, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter unable to complete his at-bat.

1) Yes a legal substitute would inherit the 1-2 count
2) If no legal substitute was available the batter would be out and the spot in the order would be an out the next time only. After that the spot is skipped over.
, Sept. 22, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Player who had a CR now becomes a CR

Once the courtesy runner touches the bag he is in the game. If said runner already ran for someone in the same inning or had someone run for him in the same inning he is automatically out. You also lose a runner on that base.
, Sept. 12, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

Very true BJ. If umps hustle and get in proper position you can only argue with them so much. 😀 Most players appreciate umpires that do that.
, Sept. 11, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

BJ you are correct that either ump can call it. But believe it or not the usssa training taught us it's the home plate umpires call. The reasoning is the base umpire will turn to look at the throw to first and may not see the interference--even though he's right there.
, Sept. 7, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

Lb16 you are correct!! To answer your concern, the ball is live.
In a two man system who makes the interference call?
, Sept. 7, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

Had this play in a conference USSSA game I was impinge a couple years ago. Man on 1st, 1 out. Grounder to second. Fielder bobbles the ball. Extremely fast runner on first is motoring to second. Fielder picks up the ball flips to middle man for the force. Middle man gets rid of ball quickly and throw hits runner who's about 2 strides from second and not out of the baseline. After striking the runner in the hip the ball went right to the second baseman. Play is over. About 50 people from the offensive team side along with the fielders were screaming interference. You make the call. Is that in fact interference?
And in a two umpire system, who's call is that?
Remember this is conference USSSA, not senior ball.
, Sept. 6, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: effect of interference call by umpire

All of which begs the question in the following scenario:
Im the runner on first, no outs. Batter hits a grounder to short. Flip to second to force me out. But I slide into second (which I normally will do if I can get close enough to the bag) and successfully break up the double play throw to first. By what I read above would this be interference on me resulting in a double play?
, Sept. 3, 2017
stick8
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Players with the same number on a team

In all the years Ive umpired and played I never paid much attention to who wore what number other than to notice various fonts used for numbers. While still prevalent the old varsity block style isn't the norm anymore. Lots of different and interesting styles teams choose for their numbers as well as their logos.
The only time a number ever stuck out was from a few years ago when a big fella wore 911. He said "when I'm up the other team better call 911" 😁
Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners