Online now: 1 member: Joe-SL Bulls
; 36 anonymous
Discussion: Interference by a base runner ?????
|Jan. 10, 2019|
|Interference by a base runner ?????|
Base runner on 1st base and the infield is deep with the pitcher covering 2nd base.
A ground ball is hit to the shortstop and as the pitcher is moving to second, the throw is wide to the right field side as the pitcher is stepping out to catch the ball, the runner gets to the base and impedes the pitcher from striding out to catch the ball.
Is it interference ?????
|Jan. 11, 2019|
|bbb.. this is a judgement call by the umpire.. but as you described the play, if the runner was in the baseline and legally heading to the bag and the defense made a BAD THROW pulling the pitcher into the base runners path I would not call interference on the runner and I might actually call obstruction on the fielder.. again this call is determined as to what the umpire judges during the play|
to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname
. It will only take a moment.