SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 14 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Ilegal pitch call.

Posted Discussion
Oct. 10, 2007
Hit the gap
Men's 70
154 posts
Ilegal pitch call.
Was playing a league game (ASA) this weekend. Umpire called an illegal pitch (too high) and the batter swung and missed the ball. The umpire called it a ball saying that on an illegal pitch, the batter must make contact for it to be a strike. I have never heard this before. Is the call correct?
Oct. 10, 2007
Men's 50
26 posts
No Call was not correct. If the batter swings at the pitch the illegal call is ignored.
Oct. 10, 2007
Men's 55
23 posts
I have a question concerning a pitch that I sometimes use. After
I get a strike on the batter (count is now 1-2) I will place my left
foot on the right edge of the rubber and stretch to the right,
while in contact with the rubber throw a curve from right to left.
My question is , can the batter lean into the pitch and let it strike
him even though it would have been in the strike zone ?
Oct. 11, 2007
Men's 50
3114 posts
Great question.
Having been a catcher in hardball
I've been invoved with a few of these
from both sides of the plate.
The batter must not contribute to being struck
and if possible make an attempt to avoid contact.
It's really a judgment call by the ump
along with the quality of the acting job by the batter
that set up the right call.
When I was pitching in little league
I threw a hard breaking curve ball
with 2 strikes
that the batter swung at, never hit it,
but hit him square in the chest and knocked him down and
took the wind out of him.
What do you think the call was?

Strike three.
You're out.
Oct. 11, 2007
Men's 55
23 posts
Thanks for the reply Einstein, if I have an umpire that I
don't know , I might make a comment if my curve is
working .
Oct. 12, 2007
22 posts
Appreciate the help of this group and their insight.

Experienced a problem with an ASA tournament umpire, and I don't know the answer.

Pitching and threw a 3-2 pitch that the batter fouled off (2nd foul) for the 3rd strike.

The batter complained to the umpire that the pitch was illegal (too high) and they were probably right. But the umpire did not verbally declare the pitch as "illegal", so the batter had to swing. The ump said yes it would have been ball 4 and that the ump had no responsibility to verbally declare it an illegal pitch. Although it worked out for me, I think the batter is right, the ump should have verbally declared the pitch illegal prior to it reaching the plate.

I can't find my softcopy of the ASA rules (only a 2005 copy). Has something changed or does the umpire still have the responsiblity to verbally notify the batter of an illegal pitch?

Thanks in advance....
Oct. 13, 2007
Hit the gap
Men's 70
154 posts
Southern Leather: The umpire must call "illegal pitch" on the way in. We consistantly have problems with this call. For some reason, they forget to call it or call it too late just as the ball is getting to you.

No one has answered my original question however. If a batter swings and misses at an illegal pitch, is it a strike? The umpire said the batter had to make contact with the ball. Anyone that has an ASA rule book, please look this one up. Thanks.
Oct. 13, 2007
Men's 65
3146 posts
HTG, RonD22 answered you question. The call is strike.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook