https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 4 members: Jt1152005, Schibs, Wood_1966, james heale; 93 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Batter-Runner Safe or Out?

Posted Discussion
Oct. 29, 2018
SCUBA
71 posts
Batter-Runner Safe or Out?
Having a little trouble interpreting SSUSA Rule 8.4(1).
Bang-bang play at 1B; throw beats batter-runner to the base; first baseman has foot on both bases of the double base; teams argue.
Safe or out?
Oct. 29, 2018
coop3636
407 posts
He is out
As long as the 1st baseman is touching any part of the white base, the runner is out
coop3636
Oct. 30, 2018
B.J.
707 posts
scuba .. coop is correct this is the SSUSA rule.. just to make sure on your question .. many senior local leagues amend the rule and do not allow a defensive player to touch any part of the safety bag and the runner must touch only the safety bag
Oct. 30, 2018
SCUBA
71 posts
B.J.,
I'm just concerned with the SSUSA rule.
So, do both you and coop agree then that SSUSA Rule 8.4(1) should be clarified (note: not saying it's wrong) by:
Removing " Important: The defending player has only the white base, in fair territory, to make the putout; his touch of only the bag in foul territory will not result in an out." and
replacing it with "The defending player simultaneously touching both portions of the double bag is permitted." ?
Oct. 30, 2018
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2839 posts
SCUBA ... Two years ago at Rules Committee, there was an extensive discussion/debate about the batter-runner portion of the rule that resulted in a clarification about simultaneously touching the white AND orange bags as being permitted ... Maybe a similar clarification of the defender's side of the rule is appropriate ... Under your scenario as stated, however, both coop3636 and B.J. have the correct call: OUT ... Thanks!
Oct. 30, 2018
coop3636
407 posts
Dave,
Are you sick?
That is twice this year that you have agreed with me.
Coop3636

PS, I looked for you in Vegas so I could meet you, but you were always at a different park.
I think you were avoiding me
Oct. 30, 2018
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2839 posts
coop3636 ... All is well here, but it IS a bit Twilight Zone-ish that we've agreed a couple times recently! ... Sorry I missed you at the World's ... Vegas is just such a whirlwind as a roving Director ... I was at BLD a few days and all over the map the others ... Maybe we need to set a time at a place that serves adult beverages, which would likely guarantee neither of us would miss it!
Oct. 31, 2018
coop3636
407 posts
cool
first round is on me
coop3636
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners