http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Nicholas Sarafis, dkrollw364; 20 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: I'm sure I got it wrong---What would be the right call

Posted Discussion
Feb. 27, 2021
franjan
13 posts
I'm sure I got it wrong---What would be the right call
Nobody on base. The Batter hits a ground ball to 2nd baseman who throws wild and late to first. The coach kicks the ball away from the 1st baseman and the runner does not attempt to take 2nd base. Is the batter called out, is it just a dead ball with the runner remaining on 1st or is there another option?
Feb. 27, 2021
DieselDan
Men's 70
455 posts
Intentionally kicked the ball?
Feb. 27, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
per your OP the runner beat the throw and did not advance on the kicked ball.. I'd have the runner safe since the kicked ball apparently didn't stop the defense from making another play... depending on whether there were previous problems with the coach.. I would give him a warning or even a possible ejection for unsportsmanlike conduct
Feb. 27, 2021
franjan
13 posts
B.J. Your view of the action needed to be taken makes sense although the coach's interference did alter the possible outcome of the play if the runner had tried to advance. He could have been thrown out at 2nd, and that didn't happen so the batting team gets away without any sanction.
Feb. 28, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
franjan.. yes you are correct.. "IF" the runner had tried to advance I would have had a dead ball as soon as the coach kicked the ball and called the runner out.. BUT in your OP the runner never attempted to advance
March 13, 2021
Michael Plunkett
Men's 65
27 posts
That of course is defensive interference. The consequences of defensive interference are subject to whether the runner attempted to take second base. If the defense interference occurred while the runner was attempting to take another base it would be a dead ball and the runner would be awarded the base.If the runner did not attempt another base the coach would receive a stern warning and the runner would remain at first. Any additional edification is appreciated.
March 13, 2021
DCPete
395 posts
The Umpire's job is to make their call based on what actually happens, Not on what might have or could have happened. They're not getting paid enough to be mind-readers and in this example the batting team didn't "get away" with anything since the runner beat the throw and didn't attempt to advance.
March 13, 2021
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1349 posts
Franjan, is the coach a base coach or a defensive coach?
March 13, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
Michael, I don't think this scenario had anything to do with a defensive coach, I believe it was the 1st base coach for the team at bat..

just for info. when the defense does hinder a runner it is called OBSTRUCTION .. also any the awarding of bases on an OBS. call is the judgment of the umpire and a runner does not have to make an actual attempt to advance to be awarded an extra base or bases

Hi Nancy
March 14, 2021
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1349 posts
Hi, B.J. I read the scenario as base coach. Then I saw Michael's comment and reread it and does not absolutely say that. As you indicated, a defensive coach would change the terminology and possible outcome. Hopefully all is well in sunny Florida.
March 15, 2021
stick8
1853 posts
In all the years I’ve umpired tournament ball I’ve never had a case where a base coach intentionally kicked a ball away from a fielder trying to secure it off an errant throw. Base coaches should know to get out of fhe way. I’ve had this happen in league ball but they just throw it back to the pitcher. I simply tell them that unless time is called not to do that.
BTW, maybe there is somewhere but I’ve never been on team, witnessed another team or heard of any slow-pitch team who has an individual who’s there strictly as a “defensive coach”.
March 16, 2021
Michael Plunkett
Men's 65
27 posts
My mistake, but there are offensive players that do obstacle by picking up thrown balls (trying to be helpful) so non playing offensive does obstruct sometimes which was on my mind but not associated with original question. My mistake.
March 16, 2021
Michael Plunkett
Men's 65
27 posts
In this case the offensive intentional kicked ball with intent to prevent defense from getting to ball. Even, if runner was not attempting to take an extra base maybe runner should be awarded second-base and coach at first removed from coaches box. I’m thinking the kicking ball away deserves a force-full response even if runner was not attempting.
March 16, 2021
Michael Plunkett
Men's 65
27 posts
Being intentional wouldn’t this actually be offensive obstruction, I thought there was such a thing as offense obstruction and that this scenario might fit it? I know generally the defense obstructs but I actually thought there was a scenario where offense obstruction is called?
March 16, 2021
B.J.
825 posts
Michael... INTERFERENCE is on the offense... OBSTRUCTION is on the defense
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners