SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 62 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Slide or give up

Posted Discussion
July 28, 2010
62 posts
Slide or give up
I was playing third and a base runner was trying to advance to third. A good throw to me in plenty of time and I tagged him as he crashed into me. Another player on my team suggested he did it in order to make me drop the ball. Is that legal? If so, should it be?
July 28, 2010
2502 posts
SSUSA 2010 Rulebook at 8.6(5) - AVOIDING COLLISIONS (pages 62-63)

"A runner must make every effort to avoid colliding with opposing players while running the bases. If a runner misses a base to avoid a collision, the runner will not be called out (umpire's judgment)."

July 28, 2010
Men's 50
1375 posts
So hard to say without seeing the play. Where were you positioned? Were you moving at the time of the "crash"? Had you just moved into his path to catch the throw and he had little/no time to react and avoid you?
July 28, 2010
62 posts
I was in the base line waiting for the throw. I would say I had the ball early enough for him to slide or avoid.
July 28, 2010
Men's 60
53 posts
I have never seen an umpire not call you out, If your off the base no matter if you side steped a base to avoid collision. Seems like grey area that is certain to cause alot of arguments and some protests... With the umpire judgement the deciding factor this rule is mute point... But I will make a copy of this rule and use it when I can!! ;)
July 28, 2010
Men's 65
4549 posts
You better also hope for umps that get out there to see the plays, instead of standing back behind the plate.
There are some very good ones & some..... well, you know.
July 29, 2010
1587 posts
Jetboy, as an ump I'd have to see the play. From what you say he was out but did he crash into you running at full speed? Did he try and avoid hitting you but couldn't slow up and stop in time? Did he throw his arms up covering his face to avoid being hit? Did he intentionally try to spike the ball out of your glove with his hand?
I'm not certain about SSUSA but in USSSA there is no specific rule that says you must slide or give yourself up. It only says runners cannot intentionally interfere and crash into a fielder.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook