https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 18 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Wayne 37


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 60

Messages posted by Wayne 37 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Sept. 14, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batting out of order

In your defense, I read this rule a while back and SUSSA leaves something to be be desired in their interpretations. Most likely their intentions were good, but in doing so they changed the spirit of the rule as written.

I've explained several things to you in the past, but you've held steadfastly to your warped belief that you are the end all be all to all things rules related. However, I know that to be delusional on your part.

As from this point forward I will no longer reply to any of your future posts as your sophomoric attempts at insults are banal, boring and chivy at best and lend nothing to trying to have a civil discussion. Time for you grow up and act your old age if that is indeed possible.
Sept. 14, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batting out of order

Here is what you fail to understand.

Since B5 and B6 failed to bat in the proper order, you would have to declare both B5 and B6 out. You do not get two batters out at the same time on a BOOO. And since you don't move up the order, thus B7 becomes the improper batter and B8 becomes the proper batter.
Sept. 13, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batting out of order

Like I stated, you don't move up the order. You ONLY move down!!!!
Sept. 12, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batting out of order

Let me simplify this somewhat. The easiest way to understand a BOO (batting out of order) is to remember that you don't move up the lineup, you only move down it.

In the original question, you stated the improper batter hit into a double play. Upon proper appeal, the actual play stands and the runner who advanced from 2B is sent back to their TOP (time of pitch) base. Since B4 batted in B3's spot, B4 is the next legal batter. If B4 had gotten on base, they would have on proper appeal be called out and all runners advancing would return to their TOP base. In layman's terms B4 is the improper batter thus he is ruled out.


Being that B4 is the next batter in the lineup and you can only move down, they would be the next batter. Now if B7 batted in B5's spot in the order, upon proper appeal, B8 would be the next batter. Same situation applies if the B7 would have gotten on base as described earlier.

On a side note, the offense can correct themselves by sending the proper batter to the plate with the same count the improper batter had. Defense can only properly appeal after the improper batter completes his time at bat.
Sept. 2, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Where do you draw the line?

Wasn't aware there was an expiration date on posting. Thanks for the heads up.

However, you tap danced all around my question. Your answers entails what happens after the ball is pitched or struck.

Since the batter has some portion of both feet on the line, they have complied with your assertion of being legally in the batter's box. Rule 7.3 doesn't have anything pertaining to where the batter's feet are touching elsewhere. All systems are a go per your interpretation.

I suppose my next question shall comprise of if the batter swings at and strikes the ball and his feet are within the rule set you mentioned, is the batter allowed to have their feet touching the strike mat and the line of the batter's box at the start of the pitch? Like I said earlier, you can't have it both ways. You're either in or your out.

Conventional wisdom tells me what the intent of Rule 7.3 should mean as it would correspond with any and all rule sets I've ever encountered as to where the batter's feet may be to be legally considered in the batter's box.

It should be amended to say, the batter must have the whole of both feet touching or inside the line. Anyway, at any SSUSA sponsored tournament this the way it has been enforced. Happened to one time when I had to use a wide open stance because of an injury and some part of my foot was outside the line. I just moved it in about 1/2 inch and the ump said I was good to go.

Enjoy the fruits of your Labor Day!
Sept. 1, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Question

The infield fly is to protect the runners and keep the defense from getting an easy double play. Based on what you said on the 2nd baseman not being able to make a play, it sounds as if the umpire might have made the call too quick as the words ordinary effort are key as to whether or not this should have been called...now if the fielder erred in catching the fly or they just miss-judged the fly, I would have the batter as out. The call of infield fly takes the force off.


Sept. 1, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: what's the call

I and many other colleagues of mine use the term 'last time' by because on the last time the runner passes his base he must complete his obligation to touching the base. Nothing fancy.
Sept. 1, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Correct call

AFAIK, the is no rule that pertains to a runner doing crazy zig-zags in the OP. The play is behind them and they don't have eyes in the back of their head most likely. The runner establishes his own base path.
Sept. 1, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Where do you draw the line?

Tired to have a discussion about this one time, but it was verboten.

My contention was that the batter has to have the whole of the foot on the line or inside the line. The words 'some portion' apparently don't coincide with every rule I've ever read concerning as being in the batter's box. I guess everyone assumes that the batter is on the outside edge of the box and not on the inside of the box.

My question is, that if the batter has a slither of the back of their foot touching on the inside line of the batter's box, where can the rest of their foot be touching. Are they allowed to have some part of the foot touching the strike mat in that case? You would have to have pretty small feet for that not to happen. The lines are there for a reason. You can't have it both ways. You're either in or you're out.

7.3 • BATTING POSITION A. The batter must have at least some portion of both feet on or inside the lines of the batter's box at the start of the pitch. A batter who steps out of the batter’s box at any time during the pitch and then hits the ball, fair or foul, shall be called out. Steps out means touching the ground completely outside of the lines of the batter’s box. (See §1.5) B. The batter must take his position within ten seconds after being directed by the umpire. EFFECT: The umpire will call a strike. No pitch has to be thrown and the ball is dead. C. The batter shall not step directly in front of the catcher to the other batter's box while the pitcher is in position to pitch. EFFECT: The ball is dead, the batter is out and the runners may not advance.

7.3(1) • OBLITERATING THE BATTER’S BOX Any player, in the umpire's judgment, deliberately erasing any portion of the batters box will be called out and ejected from the game.

I'll let the experts take it from here.
Aug. 21, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: toothpick

U. L Washington didn't invent the the toothpick thing.

That a common in the old Negro Leagues.

The batter should have just put it his pocket and been done with it.
July 31, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Correct call

I searched and cannot find a ruling in the SSUSA rules that supports your claim. Saying somebody is wrong doesn't make you right counselor. There are lemmings everywhere that can't answer a direct question.

Again, stalking is creepy!
July 31, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What's your call on a bang-bang play at a base?

Not what I said, but I totally get the part when you say you're lost.
July 24, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What's your call on a bang-bang play at a base?

What you should do is get to your spot on the infield, Get set and track the ball with your eyes to the glove and not move your head.
July 24, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Correct call

You're going to have show me that one as I've never read, discussed such in a meeting, nor ever seen it called

Stalking is creepy
July 23, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Correct call

If the throw beat the runner from 2nd base to the bag, no tag is required. Simply step on the base. The fact that the runner tagged up has nothing to do with anything returning to the base. So I have no idea what all the carrying on is about. Just because the umpire said force out doesn't mean he got the call wrong.

If the run scores before the out at 2nd out is made. Tie ball game.

Don't know why the umpire would have to assume the runner scored. New one on me.

Hire more umpires or flip a coin. Doesn't matter to me. I see a cold beer with my name on it as a great compensation prize.

Peace out.
July 19, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Courtesy runner

Generally the runner will turn their back to the umpire to show them their number. A good umpire would at the very least say, "Show me your number" and write it down.....you know just to be sure.
July 19, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter's Box

DCPete, can you describe an IFF rule? Here is one of your statements per the rule.

So the SSUSA amended rule doesn't seem to make any sense as it's written; if any fielder is eligible to create the IFR then how does the Ump draw the line between an Infield Fly vs an Outfield Fly?

The way this wording reads, the ump could call IFR on a fly ball caught on the Warning Track!!!

Now that is Bizarro World!!!

The infield fly rule is there to protect the runners. Any fielder may catch a ball that is ruled an infield fly rule or infield fly if fair. The problem some people have is they think that any ball the goes up in the air in the infield area is immediately an infield fly. Some umpires tend to call it too quick. You need to learn what the words reasonable effort mean.

That being said.
July 19, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter's Box

lowprofile,

I understand what you are saying....and you didn't highjack any thread. I think the SSUSA box is 7x3 ft. and baseball in general is 6x4 ft. You get an extra foot of stride and lose a foot of width.


And bj, you're wrong again. Toeing doesn't mean on, unless you mean tiptoes. Toeing means touching. I don't see where it says any part of both feet can be touching outside of the box, so you might want read your rulebook or least take a grammar lesson....lol

July 19, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: Courtesy runner

So if 36 goes into the game but calls out a different number they're good to go? Might not hurt to write it down for arguments sake. That's why they give you a line up card at the beginning of the game.

How ironic is that if the umpire doesn't catch it the VERY first time that they can be reminded of their mistake later.

Some of the greatest scorekeepers in the world hear a number and just write that down even if is the wrong number. I wouldn't take somebody's word through the fence and sitting in the stands.

I wonder why nobody ever does a batting out of order question?
July 19, 2019
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Batter's Box

Since a few posters are flying off the handle at each other, how about we get some expert rulings on this one.

7.3 • BATTING POSITION A. The batter must have at least some portion of both feet on or inside the lines of the batter's box at the start of the pitch.

Where I come from PORTION OF BOTH FEET ON means no part of either foot can be touching the ground outside the lines. If that was true, there would be no reason for the INSIDE THE LINES to exist in the context of the rule.

In closing, any part of the whole foot outside the lines means you aren't in the box by rule.


Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners