https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: SB#8, TABLE SETTER 11; 109 anonymous
Change topic:

Details for Wayne 37


Real name:

Location:
,

Division:
Men's 65

Messages posted by Wayne 37 »Message board home   »Start a new discussion

Feb. 6, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Rule book

What rule set do you work under? I've never played in a senior league that used SSUSA rules. Mostly modified ASA rules.
Feb. 6, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Pitchers attire

What if it isn't a batting glove, but one of those working gloves from Carhartt? Or maybe those gloves guys used to wear when working on the RR? They were called Mule Skinners. Perhaps welders gloves?
Feb. 4, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Altered bat

pizzaboy, I saw a bat that was rolled one time and it practically had four creases in it.

I'm sure there is more cheating goes on than meets the eye. Always makes me curious when the hitter runs to 1B and hands his bat to the base coach or runs straight to the dugout and puts the bat in the bag ASAP. Bat never touches the ground.
Feb. 4, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference?

mck71,

I had something similar happen to me a few years back, only F4 dropped the throw. I was peeling a little off towards the outfield as he was getting ready to turn and pivot. After the drop, I righted myself, and went into 2B standing up making slight contact.

One umpire, so he called me out for interference, and the B/R out as well. Now if I had slid, I had every right to take him out as he was standing directly on the base.

Being that it was a sunbaked field down in College Station, TX and probably hadn't had any water on it in weeks, sliding on that field I didn't want to skin myself all up more than likely. Also my left knee was not something I wanted to slide on as I generally fold it under me and do a pop-up slide.

So essentially I was avoiding contact, but the greenhorn we had doing the game didn't have a clue. Also, we always played the same teams every tournament, so I wasn't looking to injure anyone to begin with. The reason I didn't slide mostly.
Feb. 4, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 3rd Base Commitment line

Spellchecker on my (new) phone let me down. Believe me, in a situation as the one Omar described, I'm getting two every single time.

And in the OP, I'm getting two also. Is that a problem for you?

The rulebook doesn't describe what legal contact is either. I suppose that is my judgment too?

Help me, Jesus!!
Feb. 4, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: What's the call?

I'm sorry. I'll try to do better next time.
Feb. 3, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: you make the call

And a smart catcher can beat the runner back to the strike mat. I've done it.
Feb. 3, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: General and miscellaneous
Discussion: What's the call?

As long as it wasn't hit past 1B or 3B.
Feb. 2, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: 3rd Base Commitment line

Well, someone has been listening to my advice. Kudos to Dave! A little brush with runner and fielder should never result in an obstruction call, just in case. Or interference for that matter. Talk about overreacting. Good catch, rmp0012002!

As i have maintained prior, a good thing to do is signal a a little safe sign and verbalize, "That's nothing." Or "I've got nothing."

And Omar, you should have been called out for interference and the seceding runner should have been ruled out as well.

Obstruction is a delayed dead ball and interference is an immediate dead ball.

Didn't Tom Matte play for the Baltimore Colts?
Feb. 2, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: you make the call

Catcher chould have chased the runner back to 3B. However, as F2 I would have gone for the out at 1B.

When I played 3B I would generally chase them to home. Know what your options are when the ball is hit to you.
Feb. 2, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Interference or not

Sounds like who was covering 2B was waiting for a throw from F6 on the 3B side. Comes off more as illegal contact. Runner out for interference as well as B/R due runner interference.....if indeed a call should have been made.

There is a tight window when a runner can make legal contract. Appears they were outside that window.
Feb. 2, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: Commitment line

As I've stated a few times before, not every situation is covered in the rulebook. If necessary, I would call the runner out for "travesty of the game" as for failing to comply within the spirit of the rule.....or you could just stand there all day continuing with the game of chicken. Your choice.

Let the pissing and moaning begin!!
Jan. 28, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: SAFE or OUT

txnighttrain,

What you're referring to is the batter/runner being put out. A batter/runner becomes a runner after the whole of the player's body is past the bag. Yes, if the player is still a batter/runner when they miss the base, they should be put out.

Face it, some rules contradict other rules. SSUSA could use some verbiage upgrades.
Jan. 27, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: SAFE or OUT

{Wayne.. you posted (If you should use a signal,that signal should be OUT seeing as how the B/R didn't touch the base) ... please cite the rule where it states that.. any rule book I have ever read states that runners are assumed to have touched the base..}

BTW ~ I already mentioned all of this. Plus, after a B/R has acquired first base, they are now a runner........not a B/R. Remember, first base is the base that it is legal to run thru.

FYI ~ We're not talking about rulesets. We're talking about proper mechanics for when first base is missed. When I speak of rulesets, I am talking about what different mechanics they prefer...........nothing to do with the rules.

There should be not a dead ball appeal as the runner should be returning to the base and the ball should remain live until all playing action is exhausted. A proper LIVE verbal appeal before the runner returns, or a tag by a defensive player is all that is required.

If the defense is "tipped off" it should be from the fact that the idiot B/R failed to touch the base.

If you're wondering where I get my information, it is from umpires with much more experience than you or I put together. Like I stated earlier, alan-23, ask the UIC or some other superior what signal they prefer.

Case closed....argue amongst yourselves.

Jan. 27, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: SAFE or OUT

Huh?!?!?

alan-23,

The mechanic you used is acceptable. You are NOT tipping off the defense. If you should use a signal,that signal should be OUT seeing as how the B/R didn't touch the base.

Just get in touch with your UIC or some higher up and see which they prefer

Easy peasy.
Jan. 26, 2021
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: SAFE or OUT

To be honest, some rulesets will do it the way you did it, as a runner is officially considered to have obtained the base as long as they have passed it. No call signifies the runner hasn't legally touched the base.

The first baseman could have tagged him or did a live ball appeal. The pitcher could have done the exact same thing. The play isn't dead in this case until the runner has returned to legally touch the base or is put out.

Since you can legally run past first base, I remember that is what we were taught. And again not touching the base could rule in an out being made. as the runner didn't touch the legally touch first base.

I would say it comes down to which mechanic your association wants you to use.
Dec. 30, 2020
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What constitutes interference?

Really? If you want to know my reason for not ruling interference, all you have to do is ask.

Are you a certified umpire? If so, what are the qualifications? Have a pulse?
Dec. 30, 2020
Wayne 37
Topic: Bats
Discussion: ONYX Senior Bat with a WARRANTY

If you mean a grand total of three, I'd believe it. jk.
Dec. 29, 2020
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What constitutes interference?

I am at a loss for words on this one. Essentially, you've thrown the umpire(s) that were there under the bus. No wonder you have such trouble with obstruction. Interference also brings you confusion.

You have effectively butchered most rules. The worst part about it is, you actually believe you're right.

Sadly, another thread goes down the crapper.

Enjoy the rest of the year.
Dec. 29, 2020
Wayne 37
Topic: Rules of the game
Discussion: What constitutes interference?

No interference. Runner must avoid fielder, not fielder avoid runner. You are now enlightened.

Happy New Year.
« Newer messages       Older messages »
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners