https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 14 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Umpire Question

Posted Discussion
Aug. 28, 2021
Dbax
Men's 65
1975 posts
Umpire Question
Today in Chattanooga at an ISSA tournament. A ground ball is hit to the first baseman. It is fielded cleanly and now they are racing to the bag to beat the runner.
The first baseman beats the runner to the base and steps on the bag. They then stumble and hit the ground hard causing them to drop the ball. Umpire ruled safe. Is this correct?
Aug. 28, 2021
rmp0012002
Men's 50
45 posts
Did the first baseman step across the bag? As soon as First touched the bag it should have been called an out. The runner and fielder colliding should have no bearing on whether the runner is out or safe.
Aug. 28, 2021
DaveDowell
Men's 65
3530 posts
▲ AGREED ▲ ... If the defender was clearly in possession of the ball when he stepped on 1B, I have an out ... Rulebook §1.46 is not applicable because that deals with a defender dropping the ball after having applied a tag to a base-runner or batter-runner not in contact with a base ... Did (s)he give any insight on the "safe" call?
Aug. 28, 2021
Dbax
Men's 65
1975 posts
There was no collision. She stepped on the bag which caused her to trip. When she hit the ground the ball came out of her glove.
Aug. 29, 2021
B.J.
915 posts
I agree with above.. if the fielder had control of the ball while touching the bag I have the runner out.. dropping the ball and nullifying an out after falling to the ground only applies to fly ball/line drive catches
Aug. 29, 2021
rmp0012002
Men's 50
45 posts
Just asking if the fielder put themselves in a bad position of going over the bag but it has nothing to do with the call. Collisions occasionally occur at first, spit happens, but this is not football where you can knock the ball loose from the player.
Aug. 29, 2021
Guppy7325
8 posts
Having played in Dalton and seeing the mix bag of umpires with associations i.e. USA/ISSA , they could have interpreted the rule like the fly ball or other by having control through the play.. That all I could think of… They used 2 man as well on Saturday and why didn’t the go to other umpire or call for a director… We do things better than the other association and this is one of them…
Aug. 29, 2021
B.J.
915 posts
guppy.. I agree with the control of the ball thru the play .. BUTTT .. the catch and control of a fly ball rule is different because falling to the ground, running into a fence, umpire or another defensive player and then dropping the ball is a NO catch..
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners