http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: Bob Downs; 51 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: You make the call.

Posted Discussion
May 14, 2022
Perl
211 posts
You make the call.
Playing SPA, 11 defensive players. Visiting coach puts 10 on lineup card but plays 11 in the field. We donít catch it the first time through the order but we do on the second. When the batter not in the lineup come to the plate we protest heís not in the official lineup. BTW we did not throw a pitch to him we just protested him not being in the lineup.

He was called out, placed back in the lineup and allowed to play the field remainder of the game.

So whatís the correct call.

Thanks
May 15, 2022
B.J.
1060 posts
perl.. you should have waited for him to bat again and if he got a hit then bring it to the umpires attention as batting out of order .. I would not have called him out and not sure how they explained him being out since he actually did not bat again.. If a pitch had been delivered and then you appealed I would have the correct batter that followed the last correct batter take his place at bat and assume the count.. I do agree that they put him last in the line up for the rest of the game
May 15, 2022
Schibs
Men's 65
60 posts
Can I get an expanded explanation on why the player was allowed into the game after the lineup card was submitted? Even if he signed into the tournament, without being on the lineup card at the beginning of the game, it's my understanding a player cannot be added once the game begins. Has this rule changed in SPA over the past few years? Please explain. Thanks,
May 15, 2022
B.J.
1060 posts
actually I haven't worked a SPA game in years maybe for a better answer you should post on the SPA website not SSUSA
May 16, 2022
berger
Men's 65
64 posts
B.J., I agree with waiting until the batter completes the at bat. Can you clarify; in SSUSA the player would not have been allowed in the game without being listed on the scorecard at the time the game begins? Thanks,
May 16, 2022
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4096 posts
berger ... In SSUSA sanctioned play, the simple statement of the rule is "Not on the card, not in the game" ... The player who is NOT on the game card should/would be removed from the game and is not eligible for further participation in that game ...
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners