http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 57 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: catch no catch

Posted Discussion
June 9, 2022
shortstop33
37 posts
catch no catch
Rec ball, line drive hit to me at third, make the catch, ball hit so hard takes my glove off, glove comes off, glove on ground with ball securely in glove. I picked up glove with ball in it remove ball and presented to umpire for out call. He calls no catch, I claimed catch because ball never hit ground. I got the answer from major league umpire really want to see answers on disussion board. I will be 85 in July have played organized ball since 11 yrs old played HS baseball 32 yrs major fastpitch, and 33 yrs of senior softball never saw this before. I guess the old saying if you live long enough you will see everything has a lot of truth in it.
June 9, 2022
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4247 posts
REALLY??? ... It's NO CATCH if you don't have the ball securely in control throughout the entire process ... When your glove is falling to the ground, you likely don't pass that "control" test ... Please read Rulebook Definition 1.10 for clarification ...
June 9, 2022
shortstop33
37 posts
Think about this Dave outfielder making a catch falls to ground ball lands on stomach picks ball off of stomach and throws ball into infielder, ball never hit ground just saying. Read the complete rule about a catch. I agree it is not a catch until player removes ball from glove, remember ball has not hit ground very important, also this is only a discussion.
June 9, 2022
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4247 posts
ss33 ... Maybe some of the others here will contribute to this "discussion", but you are going to have a very real "NO CATCH" exposure any time your glove comes off of your hand (with or without the ball in it) because you are going to fail the "control test" ... This is true no matter where the ball and glove end up (on the ground, on your stomach, wound up in your jersey, etc.) or how many times you nudge the facts a little bit further while trying to convince yourself it's a catch ... It's not ...
June 9, 2022
B.J.
1082 posts
SS33 Congrats on 87 in July and I have had the pleasure of knowing you for about 15/20 of those cranky softball years...lol

unfortunately and I "REALLY HATE" to do it but I'm going to have to agree with DD on the no catch.. I'm not a big fan of the wording of the rule since it was changed several years ago.. but for a catch to be determined the fielder must catch and show control and if there is a release of the ball it must be voluntary.. your release of the ball & glove was not voluntary it was ripped off your OLD hand by the force of the hit... c ya at the fields .. BJ
June 9, 2022
B.J.
1082 posts
SS on your 2nd scenario I would have an out.. I have seen OF's many times slide to catch a low fly ball and actually corral it in there mid section never touching their glove as well as first baseman catching a short hop thrown ball with their arm pit and then reach over and grab ball showing control before runner reaches 1B for an out.. even though a glove or hand was not used in the actual catch I would have an out..

these above scenarios are why I don't like the wording at the end of the CATCH definition below saying that it's an "ILLEGAL CATCH" if a batted or thrown ball is caught with anything other than his hand(s) or glove in its proper place.


1.10 CATCH
A catch is a legally caught ball that occurs when the fielder catches a batted or
thrown ball with his hand(s) or glove and the resulting release of the ball must
be voluntary. NOTE: It is not a catch if a fielder, after he contacts the ball,
collides with another player, umpire or a fence, or falls to the ground and loses
possession of the ball as a result of the collision or falling to the ground. A ball
that strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in flight, is ruled the
same as if it struck the ground.
An illegally caught ball occurs when a fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than his hand(s) or glove in
its proper place.
June 10, 2022
Rob64
Men's 50
196 posts
So if I'm playing in the outfield and my hat falls to the ground as I'm in the process of catching the ball and it hits my glove then falls into the hat that it's not a catch?
June 10, 2022
B.J.
1082 posts
rob .. no it's not a catch .. also if you were holding your hat in your hand and caught the ball that also would not be a catch
June 10, 2022
shortstop33
37 posts
Thanks for the input
June 13, 2022
Scott Harder
Men's 55
38 posts
IMO... when the glove left your hand it no longer is part of your "body" and you have lost control. Very much the same as if it were a base. If the ball hits the base and pops up and you catch it before it hits the ground, it's a hit unless you throw the runner out at first. Imagine if you were running for a pop up and you realized you were not going to get there so you throw your glove on the ground, the ball hits your glove and you catch it before it hits the ground. Loss control of glove = loss control of ball.
June 13, 2022
Rich33
Men's 50
45 posts
NO catch...
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners