SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 4 members: 3_SoftballFreak, Johndoc#7, Topgun4, washoedoug; 14 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Need clarification on rule batter box lines

Posted Discussion
June 18

11 posts
Need clarification on something that happened to me in the smokies.
3rd game of day I believe been standing in same spot in box all day/year very front.
Hit this beautiful shot down 1st called out for being out of the box. No line what so ever been gone since 2nd batter of 1st game. What is the rule? I asked 4 other empires and they said anything from
Judgement call, why call anything y'all do it, I wouldn't call it, and one said no comment.
June 18
Men's 70
4361 posts
Looks like a question for the U.I.C. at the Smokie's (good thing it wasn't our event!) ... SSUSA rule requires batter to have both feet inside the box from the start of the pitch through bat/ball contact ... Lines are "in" for an SSUSA umpire making that determination of compliance ... We can't speak for what they may have done/failed to do ...
June 19

1113 posts
F50.. since you state you always position yourself at the front of the box and if the lines have been wiped away (usually on purpose by the batters) why not ask the ump where the front of the box is... I have many times given a batter a line drawn with my foot..
June 21

714 posts
you must not be from Vegas.
June 21
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1438 posts
Finally50, are you sure that you were called out for being out of the front of the batter's box and not for stepping on mat or all the way in front of it? In the many years that I have done tournaments, I have only had one batter that I had to call out for being out of the front of the box, and it was because they were out of home runs, and he was trying to peel the pitcher. Hmm, that is a lot of outs in that statement.

Neck10, good to see you. That darn gate still doesn't always latch.
June 22
Men's 60
234 posts
We played at the Smokies at Know County Sportsplex and there were no lines there for the box at any time from what I recall. Our manager wanted to complain about one of the batters on the other team being out of the box and I told him to let it go because if there aren't any lines, how can you expect the umpire to make that call. I'm surprised that call was made on you. My personal opinion is that if there are no lines, you can't be out of the box.
June 22
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1438 posts
STL0, you can be if you step on the plate/mat or all of the way in front of it when batting. It doesn't happen often, but it does happen.
June 22
Hank Heffner

11 posts
If there is no foul lines are all balls fair or foul. Just curious. An umpire can make a judgment call from 200 or more from homepage and you live with it. But making a judgment call from 5 feet hurts your feelings?
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook