http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 4 members: Patti12, Young48, curt, rh25; 72 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussions in message board topic: Rules of the game

Discussion subjectRepliesLatestViews

SSUSA OFFICIAL 2017-18 RULEBOOK REVISION NOW AVAILABLE

» SSUSA Staff: The SSUSA Official Rulebook for 2017-18 has been released. It is ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The Summary of Significant 2017 Rulebook Changes has been posted and ...
1 Dec. 18, 2016 1395

Sun rule

» sslver400: Heard that the rule where a batter can request the pitcher move due ...
      »swing for the fences : I was in two of these games.... just a few thoughts.. I think it ...
      »Dbax: If the sun is in the batters eyes, it is only temporary. It's part of ...
      »NYGNYY: Dbax did you play in those games in Phoenix? If you did you would ...
      »Dbax: It's part of the game. Just like an outfielder having the sun in his ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Dbax, you're not thinking this through. I had just such a game at ...
      »Dbax: Ok Omar, you convinced me. My point is, again, that it is part of the ...
      »nickname36: Are you freaking serious, A SUN RULE!!!!!!! Learn to play the game ...
      »sslver400: Hitting up the middle is also part of the game....but you maybe one ...
      »Chief144: As a pitcher I can relate to the sun rule & the sometime benefit of ...
      »swing for the fences : Hey Turtle man.. can't agree with you more OMAR... Games like this ...
      »#19: Yes, Chief144, that is crying! Lots of alternatives for you. Sit on ...
      »DaveDowell: The SSUSA National Rules Committee has settled this issue. See the ...
      »Duke: The rule for the pitcher to move so the batter can see the pitch has ...
      »stick8: Maybe it's a different rule but the sun rule I'm familiar with is one ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The amendment made to the pitcher's sun rule last year, to expand ...
      »Sisavic: Rationale? I am very surprised - no, shocked - with SSUSA's reversal. ...
      »Chief144: #19 - What position do you play? If you don't pitch, may I suggest ...
      »DaveDowell: Sisavic ... I can only share my own observations and opinion on the ...
      »Bballer3: Hey Dave, This was the committee's best ruling in a long ...
      »Webbie25: I agree totally with SSUSA and Bballer3. We played twice with it in ...
      »#19: Yes, Chief144, I have pitched and I have been hit ... If you're a ...
      »NYGNYY: I will agree with the decision of the committee however I believe ...
      »HAT MAN: My Take, I have done both, pitched and batted with sun issues. I ...
      »DaveDowell: NYGNYY ... I attempt to avoid "sun fields" when we have the field ...
      »NYGNYY: Dave thanks for your feedback and once again no issues with what was ...
      »nickname36: YOU WANT SOME CHEESE WITH THAT WINE??...... Pitching and batting ...
      »Mulewhipper: Nickname...why so many CAPS? isn't HEAT part of the game as well?
      »Snot Nose Kid: nickname36 is so tough that he plays in the wind, rain, sleet, sn ...
      »Omar Khayyam: I admire nickname36 and his commitment to softball. However, in ...
      »Shut Up & Pitch: Word is he screams and yells at his team mates and the opposing tea ...
      »nickname36: Hey there OMAR THE CAMEL JOCKEY..... Never said anything about ...
      »bond_171513: nickname: Here are "some" of your direct quotes: "And your ...
      »DaveDowell: It could be a pretty dangerous place at the ball park if any of these ...
      »mad dog: hey nickname glad to see your a dumpster fan...as you sound like ...
      »?: If dumbname36 is as tough as he acts on this thread. Then why is ...
      »swing for the fences : Hey Dickname36 talk about growing a pair... Look at your post crying ...
      »DaveDowell: swing ... Is that the same 50-AAA division that played at BLD in the ...
      »boston: I cannot believe at our age people are still questioning our manhood ...
38 Dec. 15, 2016 2369

Scoring of Runs - Question concerning interpretation of Section 5.7

» BillC48: Runners on 2nd and 3rd with one out. Batter flies out to right field ...
      »SSUSA Staff: BillC48 ... We concur ... The RUN BY R2 IS SCORED ... This is not a ...
      »BillC48: Thanks for the quick response. I looked at some of the older rule ...
      »DaveDowell: I don't remember the year the Committee made that change, but do ...
      »paul0784: Isn't the lead runner safe also because he was awarded home on the ...
      »B94: Lead runner is out on the dead ball appeal so the run doesn't count.
      »stick8: It makes no sense that a runner from second be credited with scoring ...
      »paul0784: Again, it doesn't matter when the runner left the bag at third ...
      »paul0784: The catch was made causing second out and the throw went out of play. ...
      »B94: I may be wrong but I would think that because of the dead ball appeal ...
      »stick8: B94 a timing play is on a live ball. Example: Runners on first and ...
      »B.J.: runner is out... he must go back and tag up before advancing
      »umpire 14: sticks...you are correct about the timing play rule. But lets ...
      »stick8: BJ, you are correct!! Umpire 14 you are correct as well!! In USSSA ...
      »B.J.: STICK, its been a while since i've worked U-trip but I think they ...
      »stick8: BJ, you are correct!! Umpire 14 you are correct as well!! In USSSA ...
      »paul0784: Couple years back they changed the rule to be more consistant so it's ...
      »B.J.: Paul, if a runner leaves the bag to soon on a caught fly ball and was ...
      »BillC48: I started this conversation and came across a portion of the rules ...
      »B.J.: BillC.... if you are talking about this part of 5.7 NOTE: An appeal ...
19 Dec. 12, 2016 1153

Triple Play or Not? - Help with call

» HAT MAN: Here is one (i cant post new threads so had to piggy back) Bases ...
      »HAT MAN: B.J. REPLY: HAT MAN... ... if the umpire said he didn't see the ...
      »SSUSA Staff: HAT MAN ... We had no difficulty logging in under your ID and ...
      »HAT MAN: Thank you SSUSA. I have tried to start several new threads and it ...
      »stick8: If I was umpiring in that situation I have 2 outs (as described) but ...
      »B.J.: Stick...the only reason they thought they had 3 outs was because the ...
      »HAT MAN: Stick8 My thing is why would try for a 4th out. u,p says out out ...
      »stick8: BJ, understood. If that was me I would unfortunately have to stay ...
7 Dec. 8, 2016 703

substitution

» froggy11: Tournament game, tie game, extra inning, visiting team starts extra ...
      »k man: Froggy- Rule 5.4(2) Page 28 - No substitute or curtesy runner may ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The umpire (and k man) nailed it ... There is one limited exception, ...
      »froggy11: Thanks for the response, I see that now, page 28.
      »bond_171513: Just curious about the wording on the original question..there is a ...
      »Duke: bond_171513, Last batter that completed his turn at bat, not the last ...
      »froggy11: YOU ARE CORRECT ANDY, THAT IS EXACTLY HOW THE RULE READS.
6 Dec. 1, 2016 664

rules

» hurdler52: What is the ruling on a play where the first baseman steps on the ...
      »coop3636: This question needs more information to be answered correctly. If it ...
      »BruceinGa: Coop, you answered that just like you were a first baseman! ;)
      »SSUSA Staff: coop3636 did a good analysis ... Here are two simple general rules to ...
      »hurdler52: Thank you, now let me add a twist. The batter/base runner fails to ...
      »coop3636: Bruce, I am just a coach that likes to know the rules. It comes in ...
      »B.J.: hurdler...the B/R "IS" allowed to miss 1st base if he is avoiding a ...
      »coop3636: BJ I won't argue that the ump will make the safe call (I don't ...
      »B.J.: coop....I'm 100% sure...the defense can only appeal before the runner ...
      »Garocket: Coop better look that on up cause you are wrong. The runner his ...
      »Garocket: In the above the R! went to third Sorry
      »coop3636: BJ.. Rule 1.1 on page 19 says: " AN appeal play is a play on which ...
      »B.J.: coop, and for 99% of appeals that is correct...but with a B/R ...
      »coop3636: I disagree, but will wait until SSUSA puts in their opinion.
      »stick8: Hurdler in your scenario the umpire calls the runner safe. But if the ...
      »Mango: So what happens if the batter runner steps right in the middle of ...
      »B.J.: B/R is allowed the safety bag and only the safety bag...so if he ...
      »B.J.: Dave, can you answer the above question of coop and I...whether the ...
      »coop3636: BJ You are wrong, again..lol If the runner hits ANY part of the ...
      »DieselDan: Since cooper3636 typed the rules that stated the appeal has to be ...
      »B.J.: coop...if im wrong??? it certainly wont be the 1st time...in fact my ...
      »DaveDowell: Here's the current formula: 800-mile Road trip to Phoenix + 210-team ...
      »stick8: Mango, the way you word it in your scenario I have the runner ...
      »Mango: Stick, thank you. It was another great competitive tournament! And ...
      »k man: our local 60+ league says runner 'may only' touch orange bag in which ...
      »Davy: One more twist. it happened to me. Big first baseman comes off bag ...
      »SSUSA Staff: You're whatever the umpire called ... It's a JUDGMENT CALL not ...
      »stick8: Totally understand your point Mango. Maybe this has been tried or ...
      »DaveDowell: I think there will be somewhere around a 0.04% of softball facilities ...
      »stick8: Dave, a line would work too!!
      »mck71: Great idea Dave, like the line but that would add another element to ...
      »DieselDan: The line at first would have arguments like at home when there is ...
      »k man: I agree with Dan, in a 1 umpire system it would be a nightmare of ...
      »B.J.: Dave, I was wondering if you had time to research the appeal ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. and coop3636 ... Here's a bit of a diplomatic response, but you ...
      »B.J.: Dave.. your answer below on a DBA is confusing when you say an appeal ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. - NO ... The Dead Ball Appeal is available to the defense before ...
      »B.J.: Since the SSUSA rule book does not really cover specific appeals I ...
      »surf88: Dear Dave, I would like clarification on a play that occurred at ...
38 Dec. 1, 2016 1583

RULEING ON PLAY

» doyle: RUNNER STOPS AT THE LINE BETWEEN BETWEEN ,3RD AND HOME, PITCHER HAS ...
      »Fred S: First question would be at what point did he tag him. Before he step ...
      »taits: I'd say the line is considered same as is the batters box issue, on ...
      »doyle: HE STEPED OVER THE LINE AS THE PITCHER REACHED OVER TO TAG HIM,THEN ...
      »doyle: THE PITCHER THREW THE BALL TO THE CATCHER STANDING ON HOME PLATE
      »B.J.: once the runners foot is down on or across the line he cannot be ...
      »taits: If no touch line or plate, I'd say, out. as you wrote this ...
      »taits: BJ, good point.
      »Fred S: According to rule 13.8(3) B.J. is right if he was tagged after his ...
      »coop3636: BJ is correct..batter is safe, run scores And ball is live at that ...
      »titanhd: If I am correct. No matter when runners foot hit the ground. Runner ...
      »JohnBob: looks like runner would have to touch scoring plate to be safe. If he ...
      »titanhd: runner is automatically safe if tagged at home plate.
      »k man: Once runner touches commitment line or beyond and is then tagged ...
      »k man: taits, not gaits
      »stick8: I believe the intent of the rule is to make sure there is no obstacle ...
      »DieselDan: I am the runner who Doyle is referring too. I intentionally stopped ...
      »stick8: DieselDan by baiting the fielder to tag you that was quite the heads ...
      »DieselDan: I first saw that same play at Vegas in Sept. with a Scrap Iron team. ...
18 Nov. 21, 2016 822

BATTERS BOX

» 1jonsey: After hitting the ball, when is a runner considered to be out of the ...
      »HAT MAN: your question needs re wording I think. After hitting or making ...
      »SSUSA Staff: "..After hitting the ball..", we would presume he is out of the box ...
      »paul0784: It was happening whole tournament in Florida and not being called and ...
      »1jonsey: The batter is in the box but he tops the ball out in front of home ...
      »Garocket: If any part of his body (usually the foot)touches the ball while the ...
      »taits: Not having a current book and too lazy to read the inhere, i's guess? ...
      »1jonsey: Garocket, so are you saying that if he has 1 foot out of the box and ...
      »k man: We had a situation in FL where the batter hit a very slow roller ...
      »Garocket: If t he foot that touches the ball and the ball and foot is outside ...
      »Garocket: Just found this on a baseball site, would assume it would be the sam ...
      »HAT MAN: Does anyone know how many major guys can be on a AAA team and stay ...
      »B94: HM pretty sure the magic number is 3...
      »taits: Correct..... BUT..... if any one or more player(s) has player M+ in ...
      »HAT MAN: Taits Thanks, it was more for knoledge than action. Trying to build ...
      »taits: Your welcome. Should be in the rule book on here. Maybe too in ...
15 Nov. 16, 2016 903

EH & DH ??????

» 17Black: I overheard a couple of guys at Florida tournament last week (FYI we ...
      »B.J.: NO if he is in the line up he must bat...
      »k man: 17Black - our senior league allows a team to have 1 person play the ...
      »HAT MAN: only thing I have seen was an ADA rule. The player was their pitcher ...
      »taits: Page 25 for this years rules.
      »Fred S: I believe you can get around it by using pinch hitting for him twice ...
      »paul0784: Fred you as a pinch hitter can only bat once in that role. The second ...
      »Fred S: Paul0784:No. Rule only states that I can't be in the lineup and I ...
      »Jawood: A couple of years ago there was a discussion (on the website) to ...
8 Nov. 11, 2016 837

injured player

» B.J.: Dave, can I get a ruling on the injured player ...
      »taits: From what I remember: he is at bat from how I read this and get ...
      »SSUSA Staff: B.J. ... Tough circumstance to be in, but we would rule that he is ...
      »Gavin5: Knowing the current at bat will result in an out, would it be ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Gavin5 ... With the luxury of "20-20 hindsight", that's probably the ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Saw an older player break his hip on his swing. He was sprawled ...
      »Mulewhipper: SSUSA Staff...what are the rules if player is ejected? Just ...
      »SSUSA Staff: If the player is ejected and there is no substitute available, his ...
      »stick8: Unless a sub is available replace an ejected player it's an out each ...
      »Mulewhipper: lol Staff...thanks.
      »DaveDowell: You were just looking for a "Get Out of Jail Free" card ... Nice try!
10 Nov. 8, 2016 1130

Is it a catch?

» Webbie25: The batter hits a long fly ball to the fence. The outfielder leaps up ...
      »B.J.: since the fielder had the glove in the proper place at the start of ...
      »Webbie25: I think it is a catch also, but I cannot find anything to cover it, ...
      »softball4b: Had to be someone other than yourself unless it was a 4 ft fence. ...
      »DMac: When I was umping in So Cal, the player had to voluntarily release ...
      »swing for the fences : It's a catch! The outfielder did not throw his glove but had it ...
      »taits: Could be had no control of ball, no catch. You have to see it to know ...
      »B.J.: taits....the op said that while lying on the ground he caught the ...
      »stick8: Sounds like a legal catch but I'd have to see the play to make a ...
      »taits: BJ, I missed that you are correct. I stoped at the end of the 1st ...
      »Joncon: """When I was umping in So Cal, the player had to voluntarily release ...
10 Nov. 2, 2016 1022

rule clarification II

» stick8: Kind of an easy one but here it goes: A4 is on third, A3 is on ...
      »Garocket: Not as easy as you might think Rule If a batter bats out of ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Had a similar situation in a tournament recently, but I suspect it is ...
      »B.J.: Garocket....you are correct about the runner who scored going back to ...
      »k man: BJ, if that's the case then the defensive team might be better off ...
      »Garocket: B.J. Do you really think I am that smart LOL I copied and pasted ...
      »Garocket: Retraction I also found another rule that says all runners return to ...
      »Garocket: BUT This is what I found on an ASA site COMMONLY OCCURRING ASA ...
      »B.J.: Garocket....I see what you are saying...earlier after I posted my ...
      »Garocket: But still in limbo, because SSUSA does not say what to do about any ...
      »B.J.: yes, and that's what I always do but even their rule doesn't ...
      »stick8: After checking with the on-line SSUSA rule book three things are for ...
      »B.J.: stick.....first of all great scenario...I asked about 10 tournament ...
      »stick8: BJ that would be the conventional wisdom. However, it does need to be ...
13 Oct. 31, 2016 728

Running up ????

» garyheifner: What is "exactly" RUNNING UP IN THE BOX? Many hitters, especially ...
      »BruceinGa: Depending on the pitcher I will "run up". If he throws deep I start ...
      »B.J.: gary, no its not like girl left handed batters....I see more right ...
      »bkb555: 90-95% of the fields we play on have NO batter's box....we used to ...
      »B94: I still think the easiest way is to word the rule to say the batter ...
4 Oct. 31, 2016 793

Is it a strike if ball hits front edge of strike mat and also kicks up some dirt?

» Turbobob: Our senior league uses the official strike mat as stated in the ...
      »k man: Turbo, you yourself said: ball hits the front edge of the mat. ...
      »Turbobob: k man, so you are saying that even if the ball hits the front of the ...
      »k man: just my opinion based on how I've seen things called over the years. ...
      »OZ40: As long as the arc requirement is met it seems that the upper edge of ...
      »The Screamer5: As an umpire, I get hear this ALL the time. Batters complain that ...
      »k man: btw, shouldn't be any different than if it hits the side edge or the ...
      »neck10: but just think if the ball bounds upward and back toward pitcher then ...
      »Dancer: We call it a cheap strike, but still a strike. and most likely the ...
      »Don5: In 2017 they will be using square spongy balls, much like the stote ...
      »Don5: Yes I used the word "muck" that wasn't a typo, most of you will ...
      »garyheifner: Have had the post happen many times. Quite often, the ump has ruled ...
      »patrick jt: did someone strike out
      »Turbobob: Thanks for all of your input, which is what I asked for. I believe ...
      »Boom Boom 1: If the ball bounces up and never crosses the plate isn't that a ball? ...
      »B94: If you are using a one inch thick piece of wood as a plate it should ...
      »DaveDowell: Boom Boom 1 In SSUSA sanctioned events, a pitched ball must only ...
      »DieselDan: Having the dirt in front of the plate cleared away periodically might ...
      »Bobby Buggs: I hate those front edge ankle biters. Being new to the Senior game ...
      »JT25: I wish SSUSA would go to a 1 inch wood strike mat because when the ...
      »taits: Where you guys living, in the twilight zone. A strike is a strike ...
      »bkb555: JT....if you put a 1 inch strike mat for a strike, you KNOW somebody ...
      »Omar Khayyam: bkb555, seems like that would be the case, doesn't it? We have been ...
22 Oct. 29, 2016 1908

1-1-----0-0 count

» garyheifner: Staff We have beat this topic to death and then eliminated it from ...
      »Fred S: I like that better than 1-1. It still gives 2 pitches to fool around ...
      »SS13: I think anything is better than 0-0. I would try that for sure.
      »Omar Khayyam: As a pitcher, I like gary's suggestion. I have not been a fan of ...
      »southpaw: As a pitcher, I like this idea as well. After all, we are throwing ...
      »17Black: I am open to all ideas' not sure about the 8 inning games ...
      »k man: 17Black- regarding the outfielders, of which I am one, and that only ...
      »17Black: k man --- AGREED, outfielders defensively/offensively/base running, ...
      »k man: 17Black and thanks for reminding me, senior bats for SSUSA, double ...
      »Don5: Personally I like the 1-1 count, with hot bats and balls, the batter ...
      »maskedman: I don't like any rule that give the hitter another excuse for ...
      »taits: Can't recall this ever being brought up. But a middle of the road and ...
      »taits: It's been a hitters game for years. Still will be unless you change ...
      »bkb555: we did our fall league 1-1 with a screen......games lasted 1.5 hours ...
13 Oct. 28, 2016 1624

Tournament win.....

» CAT: IF a team wins a major tournament and gets moved up to the higher ...
0 Oct. 25, 2016 534

Ruling clarification

» stick8: Batter runs up in the box to hit and is called out for being out of ...
      »rlspls1974: As soon as the batter is called out the ball is dead. So no, it does ...
      »SSUSA Staff: We respectfully disagree. ANY batted ball that clears the fence and ...
      »rlspls1974: Ok staff, that makes no sense. The player was called OUT prior to ...
      »Dbax: Have to agree with rispis. This makes no sense. ...
      »SSUSA Staff: The batter hit the ball out of the park ... That's a home run for the ...
      »coop3636: so if a ump calls time out and then the batter hits one over then ...
      »SSUSA Staff: coop ... You're digging real deep into the "hypothetical barrel" on ...
      »Chief144: It happened this past weekend at BLD & it was called correctly by the ...
      »rlspls1974: Staff, I don't get it but if you say so. Can you please provide the ...
      »coop3636: I still don't agree I dead ball is a dead ball, all action ...
      »SS11: So if bases are loaded and out, and this happens,the batter is out, ...
      »B.J.: I agree with what STAFF says... that this is how the rule is being ...
      »DCPete: Pathetically stupid; how can a ball over the fence count against your ...
      »L.Martin: So let me get this straight, your penalizing the batter twice in one ...
      »Dbax: This is an in interpretation that needs to be changed. ...
      »curty: seems it is some what the same as a bases loaded, no out, 4 runs in, ...
      »DaveDowell: DCPete: Yes, it's counted as a team HR, just not scored as one on the ...
      »rlspls1974: Curty, Apples and Oranges, in your example the 5th run scored ending ...
      »Dbax: Curty, like said above, it's not the same thing. DD, please ...
      »BallPlayer35: The out of the box rule needs to change on my opinion. Giving the ...
      »DCPete: Just put a line from the 3rd Base line to the 1st Base line 40" in ...
      »just a player: my experience with this rule has been with players running up to hit ...
      »Boom Boom 1: To add to this dilemma, our softball batter's box is 6ft long (little ...
      »Boom Boom 1: and to further complicate things: the softball batter's box was ...
      »LP: As I read and try to understand why it's not a dead ball when the ...
      »B94: I personally can't see how it isn't a dead ball situation if the ...
      »Turbo 34: There is no way you can count it toward a teams home run total. The ...
      »ffdonnie: Wow, senior softball has some pretty dumb rules, but this is the ...
      »Panther: The batter's box is supposed to be 7' x 3' according to SSUSA rules.
      »SSUSA Staff: ffdonnie ... It's been a VERY short discussion on the few occasions ...
      »Turbo 34: You didn't address what happens if there's no home runs left and two ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Nawwww ... That's an easy one ... Multiple choice for whatever the ...
32 Oct. 25, 2016 1909

New Player

» AllTournyPit: I have a question....If a player that hasn't played an inning of ...
      »paul0784: He should enter Senior Softball as a AAA player.
      »AllTournyPit: That's what my thought was. SSUSA thinks differently for some reason. ...
      »titanhd: I would re-think your answer Paul.New teams can start as AAA. I ...
      »AllTournyPit: Here's the scenario. We are a new team. Never played in a tournament ...
      »paul0784: I had a new player play with us this year we are 60M and he was ...
      »paul0784: ALLTourneyPit If you are a AAA team you can have 3 M players on your ...
      »SSUSA Staff: There's a "new team" forming in your general area of the country, and ...
      »AllTournyPit: Ok...like I said, it doesn't matter what class we play. We will build ...
      »AllTournyPit: *Correction..Does a name on a roster classify what level you play? If ...
      »SSUSA Staff: ATP ... In reply to your last two posts ... [1] The 'name on a ...
      »Omar Khayyam: Someone thinks a player has major level skills and puts them on a ...
      »AllTournyPit: Ok....this is giving me a freaking headache! ....LOL The player in ...
      »southernson: AllTourneyPit, Welcome to Senior Softball where things are rarely ...
13 Oct. 18, 2016 1319

Courtesy runner replacement on a base.

» Steve in Tucson: Referring to Rule 8.5(5), a courtesy runner is in the game when he ...
      »B.J.: yes you are correct....and if it is not caught before a pitch... An ...
      »curty: years ago i helped to make available a booklet of case studies for ...
      »JBTexas : BJ, before first pitch only comes into play if he just scored, other ...
      »rightrj1: here's one for you; Base hit, batter gets a courtesy runner at 1st ...
      »coop3636: I did this in Vegas this year The UIC said it was legal. You cannot ...
      »SSUSA Staff: rightjr1 and coop3636 TWO incorrect calls resulting in an ...
      »rightrj1: Staff...THANK YOU SO MUCH...I'm putting my bullets away! LOL
      »coop3636: I will concede if you say so, but... As you wrote, rule 8.5(3) says ...
      »DaveDowell: Agreed: It's a very simple fix, and I can name that fix in two words: ...
      »coop3636: I'm glad that is taken care of..lol now what's next to discuss?
      »stick8: Scenario: Stick8 gets a single and gets a courtesy runner, coop3636 ...
      »coop3636: this scenario would never happen I'm not faster then anybody....
      »B.J.: stick....yes ....Rulebook 8.5(3) "..A courtesy runner may not be ...
      »Steve in Tucson: WOW! I didn't realize I was opening Pandora's box, but the ...
      »Mike Fossil's 60's: So does the umpire make the out call or does the defense need to ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Mike ... This is NOT an appeal play. The umpire may make that call at ...
16 Oct. 16, 2016 1007

Scoring of runs

» GH: Please clarify Rule 5.7 if you would, based on the ...
      »SSUSA Staff: NO RUN SCORES ... Very simple rule: The run does NOT count ANY time ...
      »B.J.: whenever there is a situation where the runner/runners are FORCED to ...
2 Oct. 6, 2016 578
» Previous 20 discussions here
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners