http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 1 member: TD. Tom; 41 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussions in message board topic: Rules of the game

Discussion subjectRepliesLatestViews

offensive interference

» roco36: Today I was playing the short field position (eleventh player on the ...
      »B.J.: roco36.. it's a tough call without actually seeing the play.. ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Roco36 ... Not necessarily! The first thing that must be judged by ...
      »roco36: There was no ruling by a somewhat inexperienced umpire. He let the ...
      »SSUSA Staff: Roco36 ... As B.J. inferred, it's tough to make a "paper ruling" not ...
4 Jan. 27, 2018 642

Runner leaving Base Early

» baseballbill: Dave: Is before the Pitched Ball reaches Home Plate the same as the ...
      »B.J.: no... the ball must be hit, make contact with the plate or ground or ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. is pretty close ... A base runner may leave the base after the ...
      »baseballbill: our problem is: runner leaves on the swing and batter misses the ...
      »DaveDowell: baseballbill ... The runner should be called out by rule ...
      »k man: Sounds like baseballbill wants to know if the ball 'breaks the plane' ...
      »mck71: as an umpire baseballbill, the simple answer is "no" (not runners ...
      »DaveDowell: k man .. I read it (several times) as the dissenter(s) wanting a ...
      »B.J.: Dave, what I meant by being caught in the air... would be a deep ...
      »AncientOne: Dave, you confuse me. In the post where you site the rule, you say ...
      »DaveDowell: That was pretty ambiguous and a poorly worded response! ... Here's ...
      »mck71: AncientOne: my response was to the "swing and miss" post. IF the ...
      »Turbobob: In our 60 plus local senior league, we enforce the rule as stated in ...
      »baseballbill: Turbobob: Your league is modifying the rule. There is a slight ...
      »DaveDowell: Turbobob ...We would disagree that "..There is absolutely nothing to ...
      »marcster13: Geez. All the mentioning of "swing n miss" here has me scratching my ...
15 Jan. 26, 2018 1013

Base runner leaving early

» baseballbill: What is the rule definition,I can not find it in the Rule Book ???
      »DaveDowell: Rule Book §6.13 • NO PITCH (on pages 36-37) No pitch shall be ...
      »baseballbill: Thanks Dave !!!
2 Jan. 22, 2018 551

first baseman charging the plate during delivery of the pitch

» Randall: I couldn't believe I was watching this happen, but it was an obvious ...
      »lb16: Yes it should be called as defensive interference batter should get ...
      »lb16: I should also add this would all be if in umpire's judgement ...
      »HAT MAN: No such rule. We had a 5 man play to that right and 10 feet in front ...
      »SSUSA Staff: lb16 and HAT MAN ... It appears you have two separate hypothetical ...
      »lb16: SSUSA Staff yes I was referring to Randall's situation. Don't know ...
      »B.J.: Ib16, it could be that he just read your post wrong..I know I have ...
      »rightrj1: Staff, Why is distracting or trying to distract a batter considered ...
      »marcster13: Is the catcher considered a "fielder"? I ask because often catchers ...
      »DaveDowell: rightjr1 and marcster13 ... The rule has it's background a long time ...
      »HAT MAN: Lb16 I don't know why people like you know it all and anyone else who ...
      »lb16: HAT MAN, no I don't know it all never have claimed to. I gave a ...
      »DaveDowell: OK, that's enough ... TWO distinct hypothetical situations here ... ...
12 Jan. 20, 2018 1416

Base Runner in jeopardy or not?

» Steve in Tucson: This situation came up in a game toady. The batter swung and missed ...
      »rlspls1974: See rule 7.4B For each legally pitched ball swung at and missed by ...
      »grayhitter59: Nice play by the catcher, way to be in the game. Except for one ...
      »stick8: To my knowledge, in all of senior softball any swing and miss by the ...
3 Jan. 18, 2018 770

Thoughts on new Courtesy Runner rule

» marcster13: I like the new Courtesy Runner rule. It should help keep the game ...
      »SSUSA Staff: marcster13 ... The "new" Courtesy Runner rule isn't all that complex ...
      »marcster13: Ahhhhhhhhh okay. Totally different than what I thought it was. Not ...
      »DaveDowell: Nope ... The goal is to have the next batter's at-bat start ...
3 Jan. 16, 2018 948

umpire interference

» roco36: A base path umpire interfered with our second baseman as he attempted ...
      »DaveDowell: This isn't specifically covered in the SSUSA Rule Book, but here's an ...
      »B.J.: roco... well the HP umpire got it 1/2 right.. the umpire is ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. ... I would propose that the HP umpire got it completely right ...
      »B.J.: Dave, you are correct, I mis-read the OP and then your explanation ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. - The absolutely most accurate part of any of the replies was ...
      »roco36: Thanks for your comments. The umpire did not fall over laughing ...
6 Jan. 14, 2018 693

Today's Big Vote

» NYGNYY: Sometime today we should hear about the rules committee's big ...
      »DaveDowell: NYGNYY ... May be time for a "gut check" ... You'd be very surprised ...
      »DaveDowell: NYGNYY ... I'll "see" your $5 and a Pork Sandwich and "raise" you $5 ...
      »NYGNYY: Dave thanks for keeping this lively. I for one was opposed to the ...
      »B.J.: NYGNYY... i googled it...lol electoral fraud... I like the buying ...
      »DaveDowell: That's hilarious, NYGNYY and B.J. ... Thanks for the education on the ...
5 Jan. 10, 2018 1086

Player Ejection

» SCUBA: What is the penalty to a player ejected during a tournament? Those ...
      »SSUSA Staff: In SSUSA sanctioned tournament play, any further penalty beyond the ...
      »B.J.: even for league play it's usually the same as Dave described ...
      »JimmyG: In leagues I have played in, it is usually a minimum of current game ...
      »txnighttrain: What about a guy that makes physical contact with an umpire that ...
      »B.J.: I assume you mean during a disagreement with a call.. the player ...
      »marcster13: Last year in Palm Springs 40's a play shoved an umpire. The umpire ...
6 Dec. 30, 2017 1154

"1-1" Count Member Preference Survey Completed

» SSUSA Staff: The Member Preference Survey closed as of midnight Monday (12/18/17) ...
      »SSUSA Staff: SURVEY RESULTS SYNOPSIS • Invited to Participate ► 22,877 • ...
1 Dec. 20, 2017 1978

morning sunrise

» youngen: so here's the situation. early morning game. sun at pitchers back. ...
      »Chief144: There was a SSUSA rule allowing this to happen in 2016. The rule was ...
      »B.J.: no suspension of play if sun is in the batters eyes... below is the ...
      »SSUSA Staff: youngen ... The simple answer is the umpire invoked his own rule in ...
      »stick8: I vividly recall ssusa worlds a few years ago playing an 8am 50 major ...
      »DaveDowell: stick8 ... The Sun affecting the FIELDERS' vision IS a safety issue ...
      »youngen: So if I understand the comments here the only official allowable ...
      »SSUSA Staff: youngen ... YES, as it relates to SSUSA sanctioned tournament play ...
7 Dec. 14, 2017 961

1 and 1 count

» rock21: With time limits per game, how about speeding up games by batters ...
      »ffdonnie: Only if it comes with, no extra foul ball. That makes it worthless. I ...
      »B.J.: or how about having your pitcher throw more 1st pitch strikes...I ...
      »r4pitch: Please 1-1 count with a foul ...Anyone under65 played this the last ...
      »Crusher23: It would seem to me that more first pitch strikes would solve the ...
      »r4pitch: Not really ....1-1 count is used everywhere but senior ball why.....
      »marcster13: 1 n 1 no foul was used in 2017 40's as a one year trial. People ...
      »DaveDowell: marcster ... The "1-1/no waste foul" trial for the 40-Masters ...
      »titanhd: Played in Naples at winter worlds.I watched the 40's play. The 1-1 ...
      »Jawood: How can a 1-1 count NOT speed up the game? Wouldn't it be ...
      »r4pitch: 1-1 count does speed up the games trying to get more than 5 innings ...
      »titanhd: Not sure what the 40's "not using a foul" statement implied.Logically ...
      »stattad: Just played a non-SSUSA tournament with a 1-1 count. I was not a fan ...
      »DaveDowell: titanhd ... Not sure which tourney you observed without a 7-inning ...
      »Jawood: Limit the pitcher to one warm up pitch at the start of the inning. ...
      »HAT MAN: 1 and 1 should stay. We won it at winter worlds and played all 7 ...
      »marcster13: Dave- Sorry, I read "season 2017" as just the playing season of 2017 ...
      »DaveDowell: markster13 ... You read it right ... The Rules Committee meets after ...
      »OZ40: Every year we beat this dead horse. Speaking as an umpire and player ...
      »r4pitch: OZ40 completely untrue 1-1 speeds up play ...as a pitcher i never ...
      »NYGNYY: Looking at the posts it looks like if you're a pitcher---your all for ...
      »Jawood: OZ40, The things you speak of that slow the game down are true but ...
      »Crusher23: More observations on pace of play: I'm pretty sure that in general ...
      »bond_171513: Couldn't agree more with Crusher. At the least, the CR should not be ...
      »Jon44: Totally agree with crusher23 on the courtesy runner abuse. With that ...
      »garyheifner: PLEASE pass the 1-1. I am an outfielder. But, looks like I might be ...
      »OZ40: I have umpired U-Trip at the time they changed from a full count ...
      »genwa1: Missing from this discussion is any data collection. Numerous causes ...
      »DCPete: Come on now, it's simple math & numbers can't lie. With the 0 - 0 ...
      »Jawood: I would definitely agree with the suggestion of one courtesy runner ...
      »genwa1: Ok DCPete: Please give me these simple math and numbers: How many ...
      »Omar Khayyam: genwa1 makes a good point. On my 16 man roster team, only 2 men will ...
      »DCPete: Genwa; there can be no study, actual or otherwise, that could prove ...
      »ChiPrimeMarty: Many good points were made in this thread, but I agree with BCPete. ...
      »L.Martin: I agree with the multiple courtesy per inning slowing down the game, ...
      »The real deal: Does the 1 and 1 count speed up games? Probably a little. But it ...
      »BruceinGa: So, what I your goal? As a player, what is your goal? Is it to make ...
      »DaveDowell: L.Martin ... "defiantly"? ... Pretty funny, but I would have maybe ...
      »BruceinGa: Dave, I was just wondering the "real" reason/s by those wanting the ...
      »RIK56: Bruce my reason is i get more foul outs with 1-1 then with a full ...
      »DaveDowell: BruceinGa ... There are a lot of "real" reasons, depending, in my ...
      »Jawood: Math was never my best subject in school but 58 for 58 seems like a ...
      »Rainmans: Every year this topic comes up – the never ending story (death and ...
      »NYGNYY: I agree with Rainmans. For all of you wanting 1 & 1, for all your ...
      »SSUSA Staff: This is from a post following the most recent "1-1 count" member ...
      »Jawood: NYGNYY, It looks like I may be the same age as you and played with ...
      »Jon44: Seen spirited arguments for it and against the 1-1 count in this ...
      »DaveDowell: Jon44 ... the "1-1/NO waste foul" was a year-long trial in ALL ...
      »Jon44: Fingers-crossed it passes... thanks for the clarification.
      »HAT MAN: I vote 1 an 1 count. Played all year and never played less then 7 ...
      »Jawood: Forget the 2nd place hat altogether! If you're not first, you're last ...
      »BruceinGa: Rainmans, my solution is one pitch! Games would last about 30 ...
      »HAT MAN: Thank you SSUSA for keeping the 1 and 1 count for 40s. I do think ...
      »DaveDowell: Vinny ... We're still evaluating the potential for expanding the ...
      »Jawood: Tabled again? Really? Excellent explanation from HAT MAN!
54 Dec. 2, 2017 3081

GLOVES/MITTS

» B.J.: Staff, I'm confused on the below new glove/mitt rule.. first it ...
      »DaveDowell: B.J. ... The redline text is NEW language and the strikeout text is ...
      »HAT MAN: I think for fun a team should show up to play one game and all 10 ...
      »DieselDan: I run faster for gap shots or pop ups without the glove. Then I get ...
      »DaveDowell: Vinny ... One of the earliest 40-Masters teams when the 40's program ...
      »B.J.: Dave, lol... I'm gonna have to get my reading glasses checked.. I ...
5 Dec. 2, 2017 928

foul ball out

» local: On a "must be fair" foul ball, how can a runner advance if the ball ...
      »B.J.: in SSUSA it is a live ball out just like a fair ball fly out.. many ...
1 Dec. 1, 2017 739

75+ roster question

» Larry S: SPA rule allows : Players on Men’s 75+ Major Plus, Major, and AAA ...
      »SSUSA Staff: SSUSA Rules do NOT allow for out-of-region players for the 75+ age ...
1 Nov. 20, 2017 517

Looking for a simple answer to adding or substituting players

» Boro: Let's say your team shows up short 1 player. Where does this ...
      »Duke: In my leagues, the majority of teams/players do not care who you have ...
      »Turbobob: In our 60 plus league, we normally play with 11 players. Show up ...
      »Omar Khayyam: In our Saturday league, the focus is to have a fun competition. ...
3 Nov. 18, 2017 630

Rules question

» stattad: 2nd & 3rd, 1 out. Long fly ball to center. Both runners tag up and ...
      »Jeffery: The 2nd out is recorded on the catch of the fly ball and the 3rd out ...
      »B.J.: if the runner on 3rd scored before the ball was back into the infield ...
      »Vance+50: This runner leaving 2nd then becomes a force out. No runs should ...
      »B.J.: Vance... no this is not a force out.. it is considered a timing ...
      »SSUSA Staff: B.J. has the correct ruling ... Out #2 on the catch and out #3 on the ...
      »stattad: Then the umpire screwed it up. He didn't allow either run to score. ...
      »Duke: Hey Tad, Bill from your team came over to me yesterday to ask about ...
      »stattad: It was a tournament game!
      »mad dog: B.J. don't bother........like you have said it is a timing play....no ...
      »stick8: Stattad, if the appeal at second was completed before the runner at ...
      »Duke: OK Tad, I did not know it came up in a tournament too. The same issue ...
11 Nov. 17, 2017 810

bats on playing field

» grayhitter59: Question for staff. On deck batter is waiting to come to the ...
      »DaveDowell: grayhitter59 ... The on-deck-batter was also to blame here and ...
      »grayhitter59: ok,but you did not answer question. why an out?
      »B.J.: Dave can correct me if im wrong... as soon as the ball came into ...
      »grayhitter59: I always thought it was dead ball no advancement. I just don't ...
      »rlspls1974: Take a look at the SSUSA Rulebook 8.4(10)D Exception 1. If the ball ...
      »grayhitter59: Thank You for the ruling info on 8.4. as I was trying to explain, the ...
      »stick8: Grayhitter, This is why in USSSA, our former UIC Rick Roberson ...
7 Nov. 13, 2017 925

Interference/Obstruction During a Run Down

» Steve in Tucson: I am the Head Umpire for our local association and was involved in a ...
      »B.J.: Steve... Im confused you say that the defensive player was in the ...
      »B.J.: Steve... also read 8.4(10) • WHEN RUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE... ...
      »stick8: Steve in Tucson, two obervations up front. 1)it's good the two umps ...
      »Steve in Tucson: Thank you all for your clarification. I did know that it should ...
      »Umpire35: Guys please remember obstruction does not mean the runner gets the ...
      »stick8: Situation: No one on, no one out. Player A (batter) gets a base hit. ...
      »B.J.: Stick.. 2 things.. no he is not out and 2nd the call would not be ...
      »stick8: BJ, you are correct, obstruction is the right call. And yes it is a ...
      »HAT MAN: I would also add the runner in both situations would initially be ...
      »stick8: Hat Man you are correct with regard to a runner must make an attempt ...
      »B.J.: HATMAN/Stick8.. in SSUSA a obstructed runner does not have to ...
      »jfsully: to add a wrinkle (happened today) .... runner in rundown between ...
      »B.J.: what is the But for? smart play by the runner B. A fielder who is ...
      »jfsully: In the umpire section it states: Base Running A runner must ...
      »B.J.: jfsully... you are taking the rule out of context.. the interference ...
      »B.J.: and to add to that, in your scenario the runner was obstructed when ...
      »stever: You might add that just because a runner runs into a fielder does not ...
      »B.J.: stever.. anytime that a runner runs into a fielder that is not in ...
      »stever: B.J. Agreed. I was trying to point out that this type of contact ...
19 Nov. 12, 2017 1664

Interference call on double play

» baseballbill: Runners on 1st and 3rd, none out, ground ball to short, goes to 2nd ...
      »Garocket: Not sure about Senior Softball but in all other associations if ...
      »Garocket: EFFECT Sec. 5. B. If the interference is not ruled intentional; the ...
      »stick8: In the scenario described the runner going to second is obviously out ...
      »B.J.: this has been discussed in the past and you wont find any EFFECT on ...
4 Nov. 6, 2017 637
» Previous 20 discussions here
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners