https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partners

 
SIGN IN:   Password      »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: Rangview85, Roscoe 65; 7 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: How would you call this one?

Posted Discussion
Oct. 22
stick8

1992 posts
Runner on first, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to left center. Runner on first is tagging. The batter runner is hustling and passes the runner tagging up on first. Then the left center fielder misses the fly ball. Is the batter runner out for passing the runner on first?
Oct. 22
B.J.

1108 posts
Stick.. Yes I would have the B/R out
Oct. 22
B.J.

1108 posts
Stick, I know you like to sometimes word scenarios a certain way.. in passing him I would assume he took the turn at 1st base and passed him
Oct. 22
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4330 posts
I agree with B.J. (in both of his posts) ... Here's a pretty easily remembered statement of the rule: Any runner is out if he passes a preceding runner before that runner is out.
Oct. 22
k man
Men's 65
326 posts
Is that on appeal or an automatic umpire call?
Oct. 22
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4330 posts
k man ... That's NOT an appeal call ... It's an automatic immediate call by the umpire ... Last time I could find that it happened in MLB was in September last year ... In the top of the first in Arizona, Atlanta's Adam Duvall hit a drive to right that Jake McCarthy had in his glove and then the ball bounced off it and into the stands ... Austin Riley, the runner on first thought that the ball had been caught and retreated back toward first while Duvall passed him turning a 3-run homer into a 2-run single.

Oct. 22
Turning2
Men's 70
204 posts
to all - i agree with the call, batter/runner is out for passing previous runner as originally posted, but what would ruling be if the runner on first is tagging with foot on bag and the batter/runner ran straight down the right field line after tagging first base with no feint or perceived attempt to continue on to second base? does he come back (is this a requirement) to first to resume running the bases AFTER the runner that was occupying first base has exited? or does he resume running the bases BUT makes sure he doesn't come alongside or pass the other runner even though his path is well outside the path the 1st base runner is taking?
Oct. 22
B.J.

1108 posts
T2.. there is no need for B/R to re-rouch 1st base and there is no penalty for having 2 runners on the same bag as long as the defense doesn't tag them.. and any further advancement by the B/R is legal as long as he doesn't pass runner ahead of him
Oct. 23
stick8

1992 posts
BJ you are correct in your assumption. This happened in a mens league game I was umpiring last week. B/R was out.
April 5
g joe

19 posts
Game is over as soon as the winning run crosses the plate. As far as the throw, I would call it a stupid throw. If you think it's intentional call unsportsmanlike conduct on him and run him from the game.
April 6
B.J.

1108 posts
g joe ???
April 6
Webbie25
Men's 70
2414 posts
g joe is correct.
April 6
neck10

714 posts
dave do you miss me???
April 6
DaveDowell
Men's 70
4330 posts
...I didn't know I was supposed to be shooting at you, Ricky!
April 6
Webbie25
Men's 70
2414 posts
Come on, guys. g joe said the game is over as the winning run crosses the plate. That is 100% correct. So why do you miss neck10 and not me.....asking for a friend....
April 7
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1438 posts
Neck10, well, you hid from me when I was in Michigan, but in your defense, there were no gates. Miss you.

My best one on this was Sunday afternoon men's league. The runner stayed on 3B. The runner from 2B hits the inside of 3B (who does that?) and heads for home. I call him out. What? I motioned him over to me and had him look at 3B. You just passed and didn't notice a 220 pound man; so do you want to talk about my judgement or yours? I love this game.
April 7
neck10

714 posts
what were you doing in michigan??????????
April 7
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1438 posts
Rumor has it was directing a tournament. Butch was there too. You should have been there.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners