https://www.vspdirect.com/softball/welcome?utm_source=softball&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=partner

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 2 members: MrsB34, THE SITUATION; 56 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Is it a catch?

Posted Discussion
Oct. 31, 2016
Webbie25
Men's 65
2273 posts
Is it a catch?
The batter hits a long fly ball to the fence. The outfielder leaps up and catches the ball, but the back of his glove catches on the top of the fence and comes off, and is still sitting on the top of the fence. The ball rolls out of the glove, and the outfielder, laying on the ground catches it before it hits the ground. The ball never touched the fence. Is it a legal catch?
Oct. 31, 2016
B.J.
707 posts
since the fielder had the glove in the proper place at the start of the catch and did not throw it at the ball... and then caught the ball with his hands before before touching the wall or the ground...I would say that it was a legal catch
Oct. 31, 2016
Webbie25
Men's 65
2273 posts
I think it is a catch also, but I cannot find anything to cover it, and was curious what the experts thought.
Oct. 31, 2016
softball4b
Men's 65
1116 posts
Had to be someone other than yourself unless it was a 4 ft fence. Wait I was talking about me. Nevermind.
Oct. 31, 2016
DMac
Men's 60
207 posts
When I was umping in So Cal, the player had to voluntarily release the ball from his glove in order to be ruled a legal catch. In your scenario, I would call it a live ball/ no catch.
Oct. 31, 2016
swing for the fences
Men's 50
1221 posts
It's a catch! The outfielder did not throw his glove but had it knocked off by the fence inadvertently and still caught the ball without it hitting anything but his glove and his hands...
Oct. 31, 2016
taits
Men's 65
4548 posts
Could be had no control of ball, no catch. You have to see it to know facts.
Nov. 1, 2016
B.J.
707 posts
taits....the op said that while lying on the ground he caught the ball ..so he had control... DMAC vouluntry release is only part of the rule, since he didn't release the ball and had control its a catch

1.10 CATCH
A catch is a legally caught ball that occurs when the fielder catches a batted or thrown ball with his hand(s) or glove and the resulting release of the ball must
be voluntary. NOTE: It is not a catch if a fielder, after he contacts the ball, collides with another player, umpire or a fence, or falls to the ground and loses possession of the ball as a result of the collision or falling to the ground. A ball that strikes anything other than a defensive player while it is in flight, is ruled the same as if it struck the ground. An illegally caught ball occurs when a fielder
catches a batted or thrown ball with anything other than his hand(s) or glove in its proper place.
Nov. 1, 2016
stick8
1779 posts
Sounds like a legal catch but I'd have to see the play to make a definitive ruling.
Nov. 2, 2016
taits
Men's 65
4548 posts
BJ, I missed that you are correct. I stoped at the end of the 1st line...

At least I can admit my errors.
Nov. 2, 2016
Joncon
328 posts
"""When I was umping in So Cal, the player had to voluntarily release the ball from his glove in order to be ruled a legal catch. """

I have heard the "voluntarily release" thing before but not "from his glove".

You can always tip a ball with your glove and catch it bare handed. It is a common occurrence.

This scenario just had a twist of the glove being stuck on the fence.
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners