http://seniorsoftball.com/?page=12

 
SIGN IN:   Password     »Sign up

Message board   »Message Board home    »Sign-in or register to get started

Online now: 0 members ; 31 anonymous
Change topic:

Discussion: Base runner tagging up on a bobbled fly ball to the outfield.

Posted Discussion
Jan. 11, 2019
Turbobob
Men's 65
56 posts
Base runner tagging up on a bobbled fly ball to the outfield.
Scenario is less than 2 outs, base runner on 3rd base. Fly ball to left field. Ball hits left fielder's glove then bounces up in the air and eventually is caught for the out. Base runner on 3rd is on the bag during the "bobble" and takes off as soon as the ball hits the left fielder's glove, but before the fielder secures the ball for the out. In SSUSA softball, is the base runner out for leaving the base before the ball was caught?

In baseball, the base runner is not out and can leave the base as soon as the ball hits the fielder's glove. (as seen on a post from a "Stump the UMP" web site titled "Tagging up on a bobbled ball").

So, in softball, is the base runner out for leaving the base early on a bobbled fly ball that is eventually caught after bouncing off his glove before it is eventually caught for the out?
Jan. 11, 2019
Frischd44
11 posts
From my understanding, once it hit's the glove the runner has the right to tag up and go.
Jan. 11, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2318 posts
We concur with Frischd44 ...
__________

Rulebook 8.4(8) WHEN RUNNERS CAN ADVANCE AT THEIR RISK
.
D. When a legally caught ball is first touched.

Jan. 12, 2019
stick8
1678 posts
Turbo bob, legal tag. On a fly ball (with less than 2 outs) a runner who is tagging up may advance once the ball is touched by a fielder
Jan. 13, 2019
DieselDan
Men's 70
309 posts
I might have this wrong, but I believe this rule changed from control to first touch, in MLB, because of Jimmy Piersall of the Red Sox. He would intentionally bobble the ball as he moved towards the infield.
Jan. 18, 2019
Wayne 37
Men's 60
533 posts
On a ball over foul territory, the fielder has to complete the act of the catch for the runner to advance legally. First touch of a ball over foul ground is considered a foul ball and a runner cannot advance on a foul ball. it is the act of completing the catch being what keeps the ball alive.
Jan. 18, 2019
mad dog
Men's 65
4170 posts
wayne....but yet the runner can still take off on the first touch with ball in foul territory.....he can only score if the ball is actually caught...if dropped he has to return to his base.....
Jan. 18, 2019
Dbax
Men's 60
1772 posts
Oh no. It's Deja Vu all over again. Mad Dog you are correct.
Jan. 18, 2019
lb16
Men's 50
133 posts
It's amazing how someone will try and twist the words around in the ruling to get their own opinion of a simple rule such as this.
Jan. 18, 2019
Nancy Allen
Men's 55
1175 posts
mad dog, you are correct. Whether the ball is fair or foul is not relevant.
Jan. 18, 2019
Wayne 37
Men's 60
533 posts
What's even more amazing is I get my information from umpires who have worked the World Series, not to mention high ranking college and high school officials who will tell you the same thing I have......so if I run into any of them, I'll direct them you all's way.

Anyway, a runner can leave anytime they want to. The defense still has to make a proper appeal.

Diesel Dan, the MLB rule said "caught" for years. They recently amended it a few years ago. I think it was Joe Jackson not Jimmy Piersall.


Jan. 19, 2019
B.J.
531 posts
lol... I have an idea for you, read the SOFTBALL rule book and stop getting info. from your supposed world series and high ranking colleges and high school baseball umpires .. or better yet join a BASEBALL RULES FORUM
Jan. 19, 2019
stick8
1678 posts
Wayne37 Im not certain what you posted in your first message is 100% accurate. To try and clarify heres a situation:
Runner on third, no outs.
Batter hits a fly ball to left that hooks into foul territory
Left fielder runs over into foul territory and is still in play
He attempts to make a catch but the ball tips off his glove in the air
and then he reaches over and catches it.
Maybe Im reading your post wrong and please correct me but are you saying the runner at third cannot advance until the actual catch is made after the tip?
If yes then I would disagree.That could be true in baseball but in slow pitch softball that runner on third can legally advance on the first touch (tip).

Jan. 19, 2019
Wayne 37
Men's 60
533 posts
I'll break it down one more time for everyone. The rule always said for ages runner can advance when the ball was caught. I'm sure the clowns in the Peanut Gallery, as least I hope, enforced a fair ball at first touch over fair territory as when the runner could legally advance.

But, any ball first touched over foul ground is what? That's right a foul ball. Can a runner advance on a foul ball? No they cannot. That is what makes a fair and foul ball unique for one another. It's right there in the rule book.

Read Definition 1.28 of a foul ball. It is right there in black and white. It defines what is a foul ball. It states a caught fly ball (I assuming over foul territory) is not a foul ball. The key word is caught not, first touched and then caught!

Lets review shall we, ball over fair territory=first touched. Ball over foul territory=caught. [No mention of first touched]

Be it further noted there is no difference in fair or foul territory in SOFTBALL or BASEBALL.
That only exists in the feeble minds of the likes of BJ for whom has to resort in calling people liars because I've handed him his butt so many times it isn't even funny anymore. Merely the inane rambling of a sad and pathetic little man.
Jan. 19, 2019
DaveDowell
Men's 65
2318 posts
** THREAD CLOSED ** Due to [1] Question already asked and answered accurately in first three posts and [2] Cyclical redundancy non-responsive to original hypothetical ...
Sign-in to reply or add to a discussion or post your own message and start a new discussion. If you don't have a message board account, please register for a free nickname. It will only take a moment.
Senior Softball-USA
Email: info@SeniorSoftball.com
Phone: (916) 326-5303
Fax: (916) 326-5304
9823 Old Winery Place, Suite 12
Sacramento, CA 95827
Senior Softball-USA is dedicated to informing and uniting the Senior Softball Players of America and the World. Senior Softball-USA sanctions tournaments and championships, registers players, writes the rulebook, publishes Senior Softball-USA News, hosts international softball tours and promotes Senior Softball throughout the world. More than 1.5 million men and women over 40 play Senior Softball in the United States today. »SSUSA History  »Privacy policy

Follow us on Facebook

Partners